Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing exciting

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: For me the location was good as it was close to where I used to live and the things I knew.
Cons: Consistency in customer service, fixing up the bathroom as it was definitely showing age and consider making it more friendly to elderly.
Location: Road Nine has the metro, lots of shops and places to eat (old and new), Grand Mall is not far and it is directly on the Nile, close to cafes and such.
The hotel staff were so inconsistent, some wonderful, some needing major work, from 1-5 ratings, balancing at 3. One concierge was so helpful and patient in getting me a taxi, going above and beyond in trying to figure out where Festival City was (just opened at the end of 2013 and apparently no one else had ever asked about it). When asking another for a taxi, I was told to go get my own. This inconsistency was also present in regards to housekeeping. The rooms were kept clean enough in general, that was not an issue but having a small issue with the kettle proved interesting. I called, got an annoyed sounding person on the phone but someone was sent (problem was a vinegar infused kettle). I showed him (had him smell) the problem upon arrival and his way of fixing this was to use glass cleaner. This was a slight concern as it got rid of the vinegar one but I don't normally opt for glass cleaner in my tea either (at least vinegar is natural, sour but natural). The man did not understand my concern, called someone, the man on the phone, was helpful and said they would replace the kettle. Instead the man left and returned with yet another man (one that spoke better English) but did not understand my concern. I didn't understand why this was even still an issue as the previous guy on the phone and admittedly was less patient. I finally got the kettle replaced but no longer desired tea in my room for some reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by IanS from Essex, UK

Comfortable room, food not so special

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bedroom was fine. Bathroom needed maintenance - one light bulb blown, light fitting was very loose & shower temperature varied wildly. Didn't take breakfast but meal in Italian style restaurant was very bland. Wine is very expensive - GBP50 for a bottle of an average Italian red.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RF

Not a 5 star hotel by any standard

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have traveled to over 85 different countries and applying an international standard, this hotel is definitely not a 5 star. I stayed there for 10 days and discovered that it’s more like a 3.5 star hotel at best. I can’t understand how Sofitel can put their brand on such a property. Overall, the hotel is grungy and old. The rooms and hallways smell very musty. The room that I had was small and the carpets were old and seemed very dirty. The bathroom tiles had dirt ground into them and the caulking was patch work and disgusting. The shower did not drain…disgusting. I called the front desk several times but nobody came to fix it. The bedding seems to be circa World War II. The balcony was filthy and unusable. The pool area is the only thing nice about this hotel. The “gym” is pretty pathetic. I tried the breakfast once and that was once too many. The staff was friendly. I would stay at the Cairo Conrad next time which is a solid 4 star or the Fairmont Nile Towers which is much closer to a true 5 star. Can’t stand when hotels are ranked much much higher than they really are. Very annoying….
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel for Business Travelers.

Posted Jan 16, 2012
This is the best hotel if you want or need to stay in Maadi. However, the building is somewhat run down and in need of redesign. The staff are polite. The housekeeping always want to enter your room before 0830 in the morning which I found strange. Also the cleaning of the rooms is not of a high standard. Often they do not replenish basic items like shampoo or coffee and sugar packets. They mostly just make your bed and then change your towels. But for the price and considering the location relative to my clients in Maadi I think it is a good value. Internet usage in your rooms is very expensive. Free wifi in the lobby so that is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Sofitel Maadi

Posted Dec 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
Recently refurbished the rooms were comfortable and clean. the front has a view of the Nile but a main road with the usually noisy traffic the back is a bit dirty round the hotel but not smelly, just untidy. The local area has nice restaurants at the side of the river. Not far to the pyramids by car but a bit isolated apart from that. Staff efficient and frinedly, I was working in Maadi and would definitely use it again for work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Uk

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Dec 7, 2011
Its a Sofitel in Maadi. If you need to be in Maadi then it is a good choice. Recently refurbed to a good standard. My room was 14th floor overlooking the Nile. Ask for the same and you won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Sofitel Hotel New Maadi

Posted Dec 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Sofitel Hotel in New Maadi has improved a great deal since my previous stay in December 2010. I was amazed with the changes when I arrived in the hotel on 20th November 2011! For regular visitors, you should create a lounge to be used only by Gold and Elite members! Other sofitel Hotels do have such facilities.