Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great deal on short notice

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Clean. Very clean. Pleasant staff at all interactions; great location, with the bonus of good value parking with in/out privileges.
Cons: Not great noise isolation in the rooms for the regular price. Same qualification for the mattress.
Location: Dead simple to get to and you find yourself right in the city centre.
My wife and I lucked into a day-of-travel sale while the hotel tried to offload some empty rooms. In/out privileges in the parkade (the hotel stay provides a discounted rate for the parking) at a great location in downtown Calgary. Great shower, very clean room, and friendly staff throughout. Surprising amount of noise bleed through the door from the hallway, and the mattress's sag suggested it was perhaps a little past its best-before date, but overall a fine experience. Cleanliness is my main criterion for judging a hotel, and I can't fault the Delta Bow Valley on that front. WiFi was quick and stable, and there was a wired connection available as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Good location to down town, and well appointed

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanand accesable
Cons: nothing
The only problem was with the clients staying down the hall form my room, there was a group that made all kinds of noise from early evening to 0400 in the morning I complained to the front desk the first night and was addressed by hotel staff smartly, the second night did not bother. All in all a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
I was very disappointed in my stay. The bathroom was not clean when I arrived. I found hair in the bath tub and fingernails on the floor. The room phone and clock had an inch of dust on them which made me wonder what else hadn't been cleaned. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, but even after I asked for my bathroom to be cleaned again, they did not clean the finger nails on the floor. I even noticed that the glasses in the bathroom had finger prints on the inside of the glass. Not impressed at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with excellent access

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, knowledgeable and professional staff
Hotel was conveniently located by bike rental and path, river, and restaurants as well as easy highway access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

3 days in Calgary

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The price was reasonable and it was in a good location. The room was quite spacious and the beds were comfortable.
Cons: Not well insulated against noise - can hear people in the corridor. Light blinking on smoke alarm kept me awake - change to different style.
Location: Across road from Chinatown and Bow River - nice walking/bike track. Near parks and theatre district. Walking distance to shops/cafes and Tower.
We spent 2 nights in this hotel. The facilities are adequate and it is in a good location on the river and walking distance into town. Hotel staff were OK and tried to be helpful, but not very knowledgeable. The concierge recommended a most awful pub for us to have lunch, and his directions were vague so wasted time getting there for nothing. However, the price was good and they also provided nice touches such as free bottles of water, and cold drinks in the lounge. They also had some entertainment on the Friday night in the lounge. The only problem is that it was not very well insulated against noise and we could hear people talking in the corridor and returning to their rooms, etc. which disturbed our sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

It was excellent

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Everybody was friendly and helpful!!! Enjoyed our breakfast in our room it was there right on time and fresh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Great stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Modern hotel, comfy rooms, very clean, friendly staff. Only downside is pay for parking but that's par for the course downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Good experience.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: I liked the staff. The rooms were very nice. The view was spectacular.
Cons: The food in the restaurant was bland and poorly prepared.
Location: Since we didn't leave the hotel I am uncertain of what lies nearby. We did see some restaurants within few blocks.
Despite a very busy long weekend we were treated with efficiency and courtesy by the staff from the moment we entered the parking lot to the moment we left. Parking was very limited, we were fortunate to find a space. Upon entering the hotel, there was a long line up at the front desk but it moved pretty quickly. We were given a choice of view, city skyline or the river. We chose the river and from our 24th floor window, it was beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable and well appointed. The only drawback was the restaurant in the hotel. We were tired so we decided not to leave the hotel. There weren't many people eating there: I guess that should have been a hint. The waitress was friendly and helpful but the food was mediocre at best. However, we got a great night's sleep in the comfortable bed and checkout went smoothly the next morning. Overall, I would highly rocommend the Delta Bow Valley, just find somewhere else to eat. We noted the next morning that there were quite a few restaurants within a block or two.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Delta Bow could be better

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The location is convenient - very close to the River Walk.
Cons: Hotel staff should be more efficient and knowledgeable.
Location: River Walk is just 3 blocks away and Chinatown is just two blocks. It's only 6 blocks to the Calgary Tower.
The check-in process at the hotel took at least 15 minutes - way too long considering everything was pre-booked on Expedia. Also, mixed reviews for the concierge staff. One was knowledgeable and helpful. Another gave us wrong information about a bus tour of the city, insisting it was not operational that day, even though we later learned it runs 7 days a week. On the positive side, the hotel is well situated downtown, very close to the River Walk and Chinatown and a short 6 block jaunt to the Calgary Tower. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby, which is convenient. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Overall, I would rate our hotel experience as just OK - certainly not terrible but far from great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review in conjunction with your recent visit to our hotel. While I was pleased to learn that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and our location ideal and convenient, I was concerned to read of the erroneous information you received regarding the city tour. Our team members are normally well versed in events and activities taking place in the city and I apologize that was not the case on this occasion. I will follow up with all concerned with respect to your review. Thank you for taking the time to post and I do hope we will have opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel as travels bring you to Calgary. Sincerely, James Tingley, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: nothing.
Location: Only stayed one night.
We arrived at the hotel late due to delayed flights because of weather. The staff were nice and friendly and met all needs.