Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Moxies and lounge on level 3
Cons: Hot water and elevators
Location: Excellent. City Centre
Hot water took forever. Phone in room did not work. Slowest elevators in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olds AB

Good stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Good price for hotel if you just need an overnight place to stay. Had restaurant and lounge on site so that was good
Cons: Better beds. Kind of outdated
Location: Location was fine close to lrt station so easy to get to places
The hotel is a bit out dated especially the beds but overall very clean and staff were great. For what we needed it was fine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was ok

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: the hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant during our stay.
Cons: the rooms can be better if the renovations were done right.
Location: the c train was there and tim hortons was there for our conveniece.
i found the room very comfortable but it looked poorly renovated.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

A disappointment

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The check in and check out was smooth. The parking was good, even if expensive. But I know that parking is expensive everywhere in Calgary.
Cons: It would take major renovations to make this acceptable.
Location: The hotel is in the central business district. There are 2 Tim Horton's nearby, as well as Subway and McDonald's. Moxie's Restaurant is in the hotel.
We chose the hotel for its proximity to my business appointment the following day. The walls are paper thin. I could hear the guy in the next room blowing his nose. We were in an outside room, not the core and we still heard the elevator going up and down in its shaft. The noise from construction and the subway trains started sometime after 5 AM, ruining the last couple of hours of sleeping time. The room was poorly laid out and inadequately furnished. Only one night stand for a king size bed. The desk was shoved up against the TV stand, but half the room was empty.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Heat was not working

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: It was in Calgary
Cons: Maintenance; escalators need to be fixed and turned on physically dated and in direpair.
Location: The trolley and a park with scary drunk people hanging out in it.
First night the heat was not working. The next morning I requested to be moved and packed all my stuff. The front desk insisted that maintenance would fix it and I would not have to move but if they could not that they would move my luggage to another room. I left for the morning when I returned at noon the heat was still not working and I was not moved. I called the front desk and they said maintenance would fix it. They did not. At 10:30 at night (still no heat) after I unpacked again the phone rang and they said they were moving me and to come down and get a key. I had to re-pack and then move. The front desk said they could not get in touch with me even though they had my cell number and my email. The room they moved me to was not a king, crappy queen beds and reeked of cigarette smoke; but the heat worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saskatoon sk

Nice and clean. 30 min walk to saddledome.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Overall stay was excellent. Pool facility and gym very clean and well maintained. Only complaint would be the restaurant and parkade were kept at +27c. Not sure why would be so uncomfortably hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Slave Lake

Disappointing stay

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Check in personal were friendly. But room was worn and stained (914). Movies didn't work, still charged us after an hour trying to fix. Then charged us twice for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel but very clean,parking was easy.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Location to transit and parking.
Staff were friendly and helpful.good knowledge of the city and were not afraid to offer suggestions based on personal experiences. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom yorkton, sk

First time at Sandman, last time at Sandman

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: needs renovation.
Location: did not stay around that area.
Not much to say except the hotel is in an undesirable area of the city of Calgary, and the hotel is no more than average. We were advised by residents not to go walking around there at night. The hotel itself was clean but run down. Won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small tight washroom

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Door hit you knees when on toilet. Room for one at sink. Older not modernized