Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking is expensive and not close to the hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The pool and gym
Cons: parking
Location: Night time is almost dead.Day time is more fun.
Our room was very small,the fridge was full of staff from the hotel and was not room to put my own staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park

Everything comes at a cost, often without knowing.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The pool was the one redeeming quality.
Cons: Not charging for everything which should be included...
Location: So much. Downtown Calgary is really nice.
When we booked our anniversary trip, we didn't want to do anything too crazy as we have a less than extravagent budget. We booked a trip to Calgary in order to stay relitively close to home, but we still wanted to have a luxurious experience. We booked at the Faimont because it was a beautiful building, nestled in a prime location downtown. We were willing to pay a little extra, as we knew you have to pay for the luxury of being in such a good location with a facility such as the Fairmont. We arrived at the hotel, and were informed that the cost of parking is not included in the cost of the hotel (which is ridiculous given the cost of the room.) We parked in the parkade, in a section which was marked as "Fairmont Guest Parking Only" yet we payed the same amount as anyone else would... Then we went to check-in, only to be informed that the room we had booked was not "gaurenteed" with our online reservation, and we had been downgraded to a queen bed. Now, I am a very reasonable person, and I give people a lot of credit; but not having your bed size confirmed when you pay an extra $30 a night is slightly ridiculous. After I gave the staff a bit of a hard time about it they were willing to upgrade us "at no additional cost." Thank god they didn't charge us again... Also, don't eat the continental breakfast provided in the hotel lobby: it costs $24 per person and is nowhere near worth it. They offered me a free upgrade next time: there won't be a next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

staff overwhelmed, facility not that good

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: it was clean
Cons: hire more staff, and train them.
Location: downtown, central location.
Although the staff said they were there to help, the really did not like to be asked questions about transportation or entertainment. They said they would get back to me, but didn't. At the end, they even forgot to make my wake-up call. The room was clean, but the thermostat did not work. The room was over heated. The over head shower did not work, and the hand held shower dripped all the time. I travel a lot, and have never have this uniformly bad experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cochrane, Calgary

Great Hotel - so so SPA

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness - Food - Location
Cons: Cocktail Prices - Luggage carts made available when approaching from Parkade Find another SPA provider
Location: Downtown Calgary-lots to do day and night (360 tower restaurant next door)
I would have given it a five if it wouldn't be for the poor performance and incompetent behaviour of the SPA staff-or at least some of them. The R'nR Spa is not operated by the Hotel but it reflects bad on it. We had an inexperienced therapist that didn't follow protocol-because of the unsatisfactory treatment we booked another hour the next day only to be brushed of by the reception desk staff of the SPA. The hotel actually waived a movie cost because they felt bad about the treatment as well. The hotel Staff is great, very clean and modern rooms, excellent food at the lounge and breakfast. Well worth it. Massive portions-too much to finish. Nice pool. If you park yourself, be prepared for quite a hike without luggage carts to the reception. Liquor is way overpriced but that's in pretty much every hotel. Definitely worth the stay-if you avoid the relaxation SPA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

August 2014 Long Weekend

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Everything. The structure itself is old and well maintained. It is solid and very comfortable.
Checked in after a very long day of driving from Kelowna and as always was made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was beautiful as always and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Jacqueline Tyler, Hotel Management
Hello there, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the August long-weekend! We look forward to have you be our guests again soon. Best, Jacqueline Tyler Communications Manager The Fairmont Palliser
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free apples

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Free apples but breakfast and wifi expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Jacqueline Tyler, Hotel Management
Hello there, We hope that next time, you're able to pre-register in our free loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, to receive such benefits as Wi-Fi! Thank you for your review. Best, Jacqueline Tyler Communications Manager The Fairmont Palliser
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice hotel in downtown Calgary

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: comfortable, big bright, newly remodeled room.
Cons: They still charge for internet, which is unusual.
Location: Downtown Calgary. We drove to Drumheller to visit the Royal Tyrrell Museum. It is an hour and a half drive but is worth it once you arrive.
We stayed in the Fairmont for two nights recently. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a King suite, corner room which had just been remodeled and updated. The room was very spacious and bright. There was a lot of natural light and the artificial lighting in the room was also bright. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also updated, the only downside being that it was very small. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to either business travelers or those on vacation. The only reason I gave it an overall rating of 4 rather than 5 is that they still charge for internet, unless you are a Presidential member.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old facility

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: The rooms need more upgrade & the restaurant staff should be retrained.
Location: Business district
Unfortunately, it was not to the standards that I am used to from Fairmont. I was expecting much more from a Fairmont hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great downtown hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Close to everything and the look and feel of a great fairmont hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Looks
Cons: Make WiFi free. Cheaper parking or a discount if we stay at the Fairmont?
Location: In town for the Stampede
Nice hotel with nice staff. Wifi cost money - which I wasn't impressed by. Other than that - no complaints.