Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Hotel was once very hi end but is need of a renova

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Staff was accommodating, Spa was not very good. Not even close to spa atmosphere for how they advertise it. You basically wear your spa ripe in the middle of a public area. Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average at above average rates

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell in hallways. Staff attentiveness. Elevator maintenance.
Our stay at this property was disappointing. When we arrived, I had boxes that had been pre-shipped to the hotel. The front desk clerk mentioned that the room was locked and I would have to ask in the morning. The next morning it took close to 45 minutes to locate them. The carpets on the 2nd floor where we stayed were musty and there was a very unpleasant sulfuric odor to the entire floor. Our breakfast was sub-par. When we checked out, none of the elevators were working and the alarm kept ringing. After a 20 minute wait we had to lug our bags down the stairs. At checkout, the bill did not reflect the breakfast charges. I was told an electronic receipt would follow. I had to call today as it never came through. Put mildly, a disappointing experience for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

needs a renovation and poor service

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location is good
Cons: renovations and lighting, staff service
Location: d-town CGY location is great
The room I was in had stained carpets, was dark (lacked a bright light) and the toilet was not properly cleaned. More importantly as 3PM on July 5th I called the hotel directly and booked an additional room and was given a confirmation number and when we arrived at the hotel they did not have the confirmation number and were so slow to resolve it he called another hotel and left. Desk service staff were poorly trained for a Fairmont hotel and though they had rooms it took so long for them to fumble around he called the Hyatt and walked over there before they could even confirm a rate. Pathetic! I have raised a complaint directly to the hotel as well. The breakfast buffet was cold and, potatos soggy from steamer and omelette make did not know what he was doing at all.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Great as usual.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Fabulous. We enjoyed our stay. We had newly renovated rooms. We had two rooms a friends visiting together. Asked for rooms on the same floor and the hotel honoured this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer

Lovely hotel, other guests not so lovely

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel, great location and excellent service.
Cons: Nothing that can be controlled by the hotel obviously.
The first time I stayed, the young lady next celebrated her birthday loudly in her room and in the hallway. The next time I stayed, I asked for a quiet room. I got a room close the front of the hotel, heard all the car alarms, and drunks throughout the night. The walls between two rooms were so thin I could hear my neighbours shower curtain being moved. And that doesn't include the young family whose children ran up and down the hall at 7am making noise. I had the worst night's sleep ever. I probably wont ever stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Couldn't have asked for a better stay! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice old hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Centre of town.
Location: Centrally located in middle of town.
Hotel is in the centre of town. Has all the amenities that you require. Plenty of restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - reminds movie Hotel Budapest

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: incredible pleasant and professional staff. Feel of history in every detail.
Cons: signs to self-parking - quite confusing getting from the parking to the hotel and back to the car....
Location: Just in heart of downtown Calgary.
Charming place to stay. Really enjoined amazing atmosphere of this place. Would come back at first opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arif from Edmonton, AB

Another Fairmont Gem

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Central location. Rooms recently renovated and spacious. High ceilings. Great pool and spa.
Cons: Parking is too expensive @ $38/night.
Had an excellent stay at the Palliser. Smooth easy check-in. Upgraded to a spacious room on the 11th floor overlooking the Calgary Tower. Bathroom was a bit small but very modern and newly renovated. Room was spacious but double beds were a bit small. Room has beautiful artwork and chic decor. Pool was very enjoyable, especially hot tub and steam room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from P

Very nice hotel. Excellent first impression.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
This hotel is a striking example of classic architecture and interior, accompanied by modern service and amenities. For those who want to making an amazing first impression this property is an absolute touch of class. Valet service is fantastic, room service is fantastic, I simply cannot think of a negative aspect of my stay.