Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Close to all amenities

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The only real negative was the bed was too hard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable for a reason.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Complimentary breakfast was very good.
Cons: Overall cleanliness needs a lot of work.
Needs a lot of extensive cleaning. Hallway carpets were filthy. Bedspread Needed replacing, walls and doors stained. If this is the standard for this hotel chain, I wouldn't choose it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to the convention where I was a panelist

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the convention, but less expensive.
Location: Didn't really notice.
The checkin staff was thorough. They called security immediately when I complained about people sitting outside making rude comments on the guests as we entered the hotel. When I had trouble connecting to the wifi, the staff helped quickly. My package was late and the staff checked their other hotel just in case it had shown up there. Other than not getting new cardboard cups for coffee the second morning, I had no complaints about housekeeping. I would not recommend the breakfast, it was mainly starches, sweet breakfasts, sweet peanut butter, and a toaster that did not toast my bagel all the way even after two tries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Don't pass the buck to expedia. Take responsibility and make your customers happy.
Reasons to not stay here: 1. Room & bathroom falling apart and not clean. 2. Could not cancel reservation at hotel. Was told only Expedia could take care of that. 3. Breakfast was not existent. There was nothing left when we arrived at small, very hot room, where it was filled with guest's when we arrived. Area & food was a mess.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oliver,BC.Canada

Dump

Posted Aug 8, 2014
A dirty old dump,you call a lodge? Where are the health inspectors? The free continental breakfast is a joke.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canmore

Overnight on business

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The Front Desk agent was super friendly and more like on a 4 star level hotel than a Travel Lodge.
Cons: Building needs a good reno, can see walls chipping , needs paint .
Location: Nothing just a quick overnight, but shopping is fairly close and amenities.
Needed a quick overnight without paying a lot , this was a good last minute rate and only 15 min from Downtown Calgary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Grrrr... Breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Staff did seem quite nice.
Cons: Second breakfast room on busy days.
Location: Close to coop food and liquor
Biggest problem was breakfast. Way crowded, nowhere to sit down, staff can't keep up with undersized breakfast room, few facilities and waves of guests. If you are in a rush to get to work for example, good luck. To top it off, AC seemed busted in undersized breakfast room so it was sweltering. Left with just a bagel after waiting for a while, family ate in room. Big stains on carpet in lobby, bathroom - well you better not want a bath.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a night... Not a week!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
I wasn't expecting the world but this hotel was run down! The hallways had stains and looked old! When my door was shut I could see out in the hallway because it did not line up with the door frame. Stains everywhere. The washroom grossed me out as well. For a one night stop over... Sure but that's it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatoon sask.

Terrible. Need to get rid of the trash people.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
First. There was a hooker outside when we drove up.the lock on the door was falling off when we went our room. At 2.30 in the morning the police made a noisy visit to the room across the hallway.when we went for breakfast the place was packed with a busload of foreigners who would not leave until their bus was ready to go .the rugs in the whole hotel are a disgrace.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Dirty

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Cons: The whole hotel needs to be cleaned and pay attention to the detail.
Location: The location was great.
As I entered the elevator to go to my room the floor was very dirty. The corners of the elevator floor hadn't been cleaned for weeks. As I pulled back the bed sheets I could see pubic hair. The air conditioner noise was too loud to sleep so it had to be turned off even though the room was hot. The bed was ok but no pillow top. Bathroom tub wasn't clean. Overall I can live with a room that isn't modern but it needs to be clean. Probably won't choose Travelodge in the future even though the price was good.