Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MAC from Alberta

very nice

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Very impressed with everything overall as the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Good breakfast and waterslides
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was great

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Was a good hotel. Friendly staff and the continental breakfast was one of the best I've ever had! Highly recommend the Wingate
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great, clean hotel. Helpful staff. Close to shopping and transportation. Definitely recommend for business or pleasure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a very nice hotel and the staff was incredible. We arrived well before check-in, but we were very tired from our 12 hour drive to Calgary. The hotel staff readily accommodated our early check-in and within minutes we were in our room and asleep. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. My wife and I didn't get to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, but our children did and told us it had a variety of food to choose from including eggs and waffles and that it was very good. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping centers, the surrounding area is nice and quiet. We heard no sirens or horns during our stay. Overall, a very nice hotel. We'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Great place to stay in Calgary.

Posted May 25, 2013
After a terrible experience with the agents and manager at Thrifty Car Rental my daughter and I arrived at the Wingate exhausted and extremely frazzled. The warm welcome from the ladies at the front desk immediately made us feel better. Our request for a room on the top floor was honored and it was very clean and quiet. The hotel had a great pool and water slide and the buffet breakfast was as expected (make your own waffles, fruit and breads). We walked to the C-train and took it downtown with no problem. There are also lots of places to eat nearby. The only minor issue is the lack of signage to find the entrance to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

great, clean, big room

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our family enjoyed the clean, nice hotel. We had a roll-away bed and still had so much space for our family.The breakfast was good and made things easy and our kids loved the pool and waterslide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Beata from Edmonton

good but expected more from the name

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and neat although very basic. I guess I expected more from the name. Bathroom was very big, but vanity counter was short and no place to put my toiletries. The tap was installed to far back, could barely get my hands under the water stream and tub was small and rounded making it hard for my husband (who has a foot problem) to stand in it. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was extremely disappointing to find out that the room we stayed in was very poorly built in terms of sound/noise. We had 2 small kids and we received multiple complaints from floor below and next to our room about kids walking around and making typical noises (people with kids will understand). The hotel was nice but poorly built.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Brooks, Ab

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at the Wingate. We were late getting there the first night & the kids didn't think they were going to enjoy the pool & warerslide. They bent the rules & kept the pool open until 10:30! People were friendly & hospitable. We would definitely stay there again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dony from St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

You get more than you pay for (quality, that is)

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Location: The location is easy to access from almost every major road in South Calgary and there is more than enough convenient parking for guests.
Overall, the hotel is in great condition, with no visible signs of age or neglect. Rooms and public access areas were very clean and staff were unobtrusive but thorough in cleaning areas such as elevators, doorway carpets and even the swimming pool. The pool water was tested regularly to ensure acceptable quality. The exercise room had all the needed equipment and was kept very clean. Check in was quick and friendly. Front desk staff responded immediately to an internet problem in my room and repaired it within minutes. Check out was a breeze and took less than one minute. Again, front desk staff were very friendly. In the room, the linens were newer and fresh and there were enough for all our uses. Rooms were cleaned each day and supplies replenished. The king size bed was very comfortable and we had the ability to control the temperature in the room to our liking. The only shortfall was that the coffee cups and drinking glasses were plastic. As well, the room was rather sparsely furnished and could have used an additional night table. This is a middle-of-the-road hotel but the quality of the amenities and services bring it to the top of its class as compared with the many similar hotels in Calgary in which I have stayed.