Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Margaret from San Francisco

Fair

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a 3 rating as advertised on the website. Parking right outside the hotel was a plus. The main problem was that there was no hot water in the shower in both rooms and the staff didn't seem to care.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor staff, horrible breakfast

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff service, breakfast, they should put a coffee express into dining room and serve tea and at least water.
Staff at the reception changed 3 times during my stay and nobody knew wi-fi password. They served poorest breakfast I ever eat in hotel (for such a price) and absolutely undrinkable and totally cold coffee (can you imagine? In Italy!). No tea was available at all. No water, no juices. Nothing except this horrible cold coffee. Free parking place were included in the hotel price, however it was not available.
1 out of 5
by Garry from Sydney, Australia

Not 3*.

Posted Apr 11, 2013
Pros: Parking out front.
Cons: No power during night & morning.
Location: Not close to old city.
Tiny room, no power during the night and next morning. A long way from old part of city. Brekky ordinary, Germans ate all the food. Not a 3* hotel, maybe 2.5 at best.
3 out of 5
by Cecilia from London, United Kingdom

Hotel running on a shoestring budget

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Pros: Cheap-ish place for one night stop to explore Piazza Armerina and Roman Villa nearby
Cons: You have to ask for everything, from hot water to air conditioning (despite 30C outside!)
The hotel is centrally located and isn't terribly expensive, but it seems to be running on a shoestring budget. The great thing is its location within walking distance to the old town of Piazza Amerina. It has a handful of parking spots on the street right outside, if you are lucky enough to nab a spot. Otherwise you are on your own for street parking. The hotel looks like it used to be upscale/business oriented some 5 years ago, with Sky box set up in each room and digital key card for room entry and electronic control. However, none of these were actually in working order. Although there is air conditioning in each room, you have to ask for this to be turned on from reception. The same with hot water, which wasn't working when we got there and reception went to a cupboard to flick a couple of switches. The guy at reception also gave me the password to wifi (after I asked) but I couldn't actually find the network from our room. I did see a wireless router hanging precariously from the ceiling in the hallway by our room but it wasn't connected to any power. As we were only staying one night at this hotel I decided not to bother chasing this up. I've already had to ask for other basics... The room itself was clean enough but a bit run down and dark, but at least our bathroom looks recently updated and brightly lit. It's a good enough box for sleepover one night to explore surrounding area, but I wouldn't want to stay for longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AG from USA

Close to Sites

Posted Jun 2, 2012
We used this hotel as base to see Morgantina (just to the east) and Villa Imperiale (just to the west). The location is great for this. Small rooms but comfortable, good breakfast. The guys at the desk were very nice although they don't have the same kind of customer service concept than in the States. The hotel is very close to Piazza's old center. Piazza Armerina has a lot of great historic buildings. Unfortunately, they are falling apart. It was still a very interesting visit and a good stay. The best part is the next door "restaurant" (???) La Dolce Vita. Don't let the appearance fool you: food is superb and CHEAP!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Gangi

Posted Oct 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Gangi is not in the old town, but it is only 2 blocks from the bus terminal. The hotel is quite confortable and the staff is helpful, and speaks some english, but the coffee for breakfast comes from a machine that uses instant powders and never works. They need to do something about that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dalbeattie, Scotland

Hotel Gangi Piazza Armerina

Posted Oct 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very close to the centre of the town. Good location and well maintained. If you are looking for a budget hotel the hotel is good but you get what you pay for. The window opened out onto a ventilation shaft. and the room was very Spartan. The hotel looked as though it was closing for the season.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

There must be better options in the area

Posted Jul 22, 2010
This place was very tough to find -- we circled the area for an hour, asking folks within 100 meters for help, and no one could help us until a friendly local got in his car and led us to the hotel. Parking is on the street -- there are only 2 spots reserved for the hotel, and as parking is at a premium, cars were often double parked (blocking us in). Hotel staff very nice but the hotel itself was mediocre -- I think you would be able to do better elsewhere -- I can't recommend Hotel Gangi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Piazza Armerina

Posted Dec 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel is an unacceptable tourist hotel. The rooms are dingy and uncomfortable with a small window opening to an alley. The staff spoke reasonable English but was remarkably unhelpful and their directions were often incorrect. The continental breakfast was average for Sicily. There must be better places to stay in Piazza Armerina, although I recommend visiting the mosaics and not staying overnight..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bracknell

Adequate but uninspiring

Posted Oct 13, 2009 on Hotels.com
The title says it all ... adequate ... but room was small, window looked out on a wall and it was like being in a cave ... but the bathroom was fine and it was clean ... and inexpensive. Could park rght outside which was a plus, and short walk to the centre of town.