Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Val from Chicago

Great Experience!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel on the sea! Only thing better would to have a room with a balcony. Large rooms and super huge bathrooms Good breakfast...nice selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christopher from London

A Treat

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much and appreciated the efforts made by the hotel to provide boards with relevant observations and comments by Proust which were fresh in our minds from a re-reading as we prepared for our visit. Both the hotel and the town are famous for their literary associations. This is a lovely hotel with helpful and friendly staff and in a beautiful location. We would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Angelo from New York

Memorable & beautiful

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Luxury while keeping traditional beauty. Our garden view room had the best city view you could get in Cabourg opening on the architectural great urban design of the city. The ocean view from the restaurant could not be better as it is practically on the promenade. The dinner was a gastronomical one at a reasonable price considering the location and atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeff and Jane from Connecticut

Grand Hotel but Cabourg could use a little work

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and there was obvious thought given to how to make the room as comfortable as possible. Our garden-side room was quite large, and the bathroom was a comfortable size with nice amenities. We liked having an electric kettle available for coffee and tea since we didn't want to take the time for breakfast in the morning. Our visit in October was off season for this beach community and so we used the hotel as our base and made trips to Caen and Bayeux. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful making dinner reservations and giving directions. The main street in the town was under construction so it was barely walkable and not passable by car. The casino is right next door to the hotel and in the middle of the night there was a brawl on the lawn in front of the hotel involving at least a couple dozen people that the police only responded to after an hour of drunken fisticuffs and shouting. It seemed like an unusual event for what is an upscale area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Randy from Sandy, Utah

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Janice from Salt Lake City

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, beautiful room

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is a gem!!! We had a large family room and it was delightful. The room was large, airy, clean, beautiful and pleasant. The staff was magnificent. The views were five star. The location is perfect. This is the place to stay in Cabourg!!! Thank you everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Karen & Clive from Harlow

Traveling France

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a fantastic 5 star hotel although did lack some of the 5 star features that you may find in a UK 5 star hotel. That asside the service was great the room was a very large high ceiling period decorated room and with a great view of the gardens at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was excelent and included in the deal for us and had so much choice and quality items. We did not eat an evening meal here as looked a little expensive and we wanted to try a local fish resturant that had been recomended. Good loaction for beach and prominard and hotel parking was handy as streets looked busy and dificult to park, also handy for a number of local resturants etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from New Canaan, Ct

Cabourg

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Very grand hotel that you don't see anymore
Cons: air con
Location: Cabourg little town nearby, many nice little towns nearby
Very nice hotel. We stayed two nights with family in two rooms. Rooms were very large and very nice. Hotel was right on the beach and just as advertised. Very nice old grand hotel. Little town nearby was also very nice, reminded me of little seaside towns in Maine here in the States. Only complaint I had was that in one room the air conditioning didn't work properly, there was thankfully a nice breeze from ocean. They did on the second night move the one room to a huge suite Oceanside which was nice as well but the air conditioning in that room didn't work as well! Thankfully that room had a side window in the bathroom that let the breeze circulate so the sleeping weather ended up being perfect. Close to D- Day memorials was a plus about 20 minutes away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Excellent hotel and service Only negative is the restaurant closing at 22:00
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: View
A bit faded and old. It is clean and the staff is pleasant. The restaurant is over priced and the food is only ok. It is probably the best hotel there.