Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Better places to stay

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpfull staff. Location good. Quiet. Nice little Normandy town.
Location: Bayeux tapestry. Normandy museums and beaches. American cemetery. Nearby German cemetery as a contrast.
Location was good. Hotel was in poor condition. Room was basic and clean but halls and stairs needed cleaning and vacumming. Several cigarette burns around the sink, etc., needed renovations. Repairs and/or renovations were being done on the 2nd floor but unfortunately they put us in a room right next to the work even though the hotel was not full. Did not eat in the restaurant because the prices were too high but found a great restaurant down the street on the corner. Stayed in Bayeux so we could see the tapestry. It was definitely worth it. Took an additional two days to visit the museums and sites of the 1944 D-day invasion which every American should visit. No lift. Charge for parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Ideal location in central Bayeux with on-site pkg.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Charming hotel in the heart of Bayeux. Although located on a lively street, the hotel is situated off the road in its own lovely courtyard. Helpful staff....clean rooms and just what you would expect of French hospitality. Stairs to all rooms....50+ to the top floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Fantastic. It is centrally located with a great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Wonderful experience in a historic hotel with excellent access to Brittany and Normandy sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kenneth Moorefrom U.S.

Short 10 min walk from train station;

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Front desk coordinated superb tour of Normandy beaches, located in the heart of Bayeux, classic hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bayeux hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and staff pleasant but climbing three flights of stairs left something to be desired. They had a large buffet in am but too much when traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Friendly staff, lovely stay at Le Lion D'or

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We only spent one night at this hotel, but the room was quite comfortable. The shower was roomier than most European showers. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Very conveniently located to the main "drag" with shops and restaurants. Also close to Cathedral and the museums. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MD travelerfrom MD, USA

Charming lobby and conveniently located

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is old and charming-- on the first floor. Many famous people have stayed there and their photos are prominently displayed on the walls. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location. However, the rooms could use some updating. My chief complaint is: three couples checked in at the same time. Both of our friends got spacious rooms overlooking the courtyard in front. We were assigned a small room in the back, overlooking the roof. Our bathroom was the size of a closet and our shower stall the size of a phone booth. We couldn't pass each other in the room without walking across the bed. There was no air conditioning but we felt uncomfortable keeping our window open at night as the roof came right up to our window and someone could easily climb in. Also, there was no screen. The disparity in room quality wouldn't have bothered me so much if we weren't all paying the same rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com