Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, restaurant available, great service-everyone spoke english which helped me...
Location: There was public transportation nearby;
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andoni from London

Dirty and old fashioned hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Despite of the renovated lobby, the hotel is dirty, old fashioned, has bad smells, non comfortable beds... A really bad experience... Not even close to a three stars hotel, so really surprised about the four stars rating
Comment from
Jan 24, 2014
Hello, We thank you for comments and apologize for your stay in our hotel. Know that we have taken into account and we accused our teams to make every effort to improve the quality of our service. For obsolescence, a renovation plan is underway in all Novotel France, we should soon be. Cordially. Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic town. Close to D-Day beaches

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: Carpet in hall and rooms
Location: Location was easy to find right near the main highway. Easy to get to WWII D-Day museum in Caen.
We had an arranged private tour of the WWII D-Day beaches. This location was great. Found a wonderful restaurant near the town castle. The hotel staff was very personable and helpful when we needed directions to downtown on the tram. The rooms were large and clean, but carpet was worn. Free WiFi was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family of 4 from Bristol

Convenient stopover from/to ferry port

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The breakfast was a hit, esp as free for children. Beds were comfy, room was fine without being outstanding. Shower / washroom was good spec. Check-out was a litte slow. Would have used pool / table tennis with more time but nice to have the facilities. Hotel did what we needed, not spectacular but functional. Not the cheapest but secure car park was a plus. Would use Novotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight only

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: Food in restaurant
Location: Trams are fun
We stayed for just one night as we had an early ferry crossing back to the UK the following day. Hotel lovely and clean, really helpful staff, not overly impressed with the food in the hotel restaurant and felt it wasn't very good for the price, would recommend if you stay there that you eat out in the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Warwick, UK

Convenient location with restaurant and pool

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Stayed overnight as I'm sure many do before travelling home on the ferry from Caen. The hotel is a little jaded, although clean throughout and the lobby and restaurant area have had a more recent makeover. Restaurant was surprisingly good - the chocolate mousse for desert would not have been out of place in a much more upscale establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lu from England

Good stopover after ferry crossing

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The helpful staff and a good breakfast option.
Location: Close to ferry port
We stayed here, with 2 children, as a stopover after a ferry crossing from Portsmouth to Caen. Hotel was easy to find , only 20 mins drive from the port. Staff were extremely helpful and room was comfortable and clean. It is located outside the centre of the city but the restaurant catered for both dinner and breakfast. There is a small bar area, swimming pool and gardens for children to run around in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Motorway

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was for very small and was meant for 4 people not 2. Bed too close to wall - only 12 iniches away from it. Informed the cleckout staff about this on departure and we were told that we should have been given a room on the "middle" floor. Apart from that, all was well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alex from Cheshire

Ideal for overnight stop in Caen

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: My son liked the x box set up in the lobby
We had a good size room for family of four, nicely furnished and comfortable beds. Well equipped bathroom. Air conditioning and you could actually open a window for some fresh air. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was pretty good, not the cheapest but then you expect that. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, lending me an i-phone charger for the night. If we'd had longer to stay we'd have made use of the outdoor pool which looked appealing.