Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds

Posted Sep 18, 2014
We stayed one night en route to Annecy. Easy to get to from Calais. Quiet hotel, but there weren't many other guests, so that could be the reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve Nelsonfrom Blackpool

Suited our purpose

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room in the 'Orangerie' was comfortable and clean if a little tired regarding décor. Staff were found to be very helpful if communication was a little difficult with my lack of French. The restaurant was a tad expensive and neither of us enjoyed our meal. We would have found it easier to order had they had an English language menu. This was the only real let down of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: great building and room
Cons: The property in many cases needs more attention. Property is beautiful and in many cases needs some more attetion to cleaning, some painting
Reception was nice, dinner very good.....room large and very nice. A good visit and experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rossi and Pedrosafrom London

Welcome serenity

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the setting , level of service and comfort of the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Wingfield, Bedfordshire

Excellent food and service

Posted Jul 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
Although the Chateau is not situated in the most convenient of places, once you arrive the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant lives up to the Gourmet title. Service was also excellent. We will not hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Bucks.

Lovely hotel but very hard to find!

Posted Jul 14, 2009
Lovely hotel but almost impossible to find without a Sat Nav. Signs to it just petered out. Suggest you tell clients to look for Clinique la Roque in Avenue La Roque and its just along from there. We spent a frustrating hour up side streets!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Not in the main hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
This hotel is situated close to the university area of Cambrai, therefore you have to pass through some run-down student streets before you get to it. We were not allocated a room in the main hotel, as advertised in the picture, but instead in a separate annexe that looked like it is used for conferences. Nevertheless, the room was clean and comfortable and nicely furnished, although the insect screen was fixed and had to be removed from the window before it could be closed. Not easy if you happen to be frail! The hotel itself is rather dark and the restaurant is down in the old wine cellar. Not a menu for famililes!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK - North

STAY AWAY

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
I really don't like being lied to; when we booked there was no suggestion that we would NOT be staying in the Chateau. On arrival (the chateau is in a very rough and rundown part of the outskirts of Cambrai) we were directed to one of a group of grubby, tiny chalets at the bottom of the garden. The chalet was cold, dark (only one window), miserable and smelt damp. The bathroom was mouldy and the furnishings appeared to have been made by an incompetant DIY idiot. Normally, we would have refused to stay but by this stage it was too late, so we decided to make the best of it (1 night only). Then our neighbours arrived -at about 1130 - announcing their presence by the distorted booming of the cars' stereos. They were obviously drunk and continued to drink heavily, running about shouting & screaming, banging on doors and walls till about 3 a.m. My wife was terrified that they might try to break in through the defective door lock, which we had to guard all night so we got practically no sleep at all. I am just grateful that we had no children with us . AVOID AT ALL COSTS!