Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Central. But noisy and no air conditioning

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We were here for one night for a wedding. The room was not too clean (hairs on bed sheets, mildew in bathroom calking, and outside of toilet was not cleaned). There were many nightclubs near location so it was noisy until 4am and we needed to have the window open because it was so hot in the room(no air conditioning). Lobby was nice and it is very central and was reasonably priced. But you'll not go so far as to say you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel in Peterborough town

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable staff.
Cons: They need a lift. Although there are only 3 floors there are 2 sets of stairs to climb for each floor.
Location: We visited Oundel which is a very picturesque 'Cotswolds type' village. We also visited Rockingham Castle which was very interesting, a nice day out
Very pleasant stay at this hotel. It was a welcome surprise considering it was so reasonable. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. We ate in the bar one evening and that was very good value for money. The only reason that I haven't given it top marks is because it didn't have a lift and we struggles up 4 flights of stairs to our room each night. I would definately recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, public areas of hotel very nice.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Polite and friendly staff
Cons: The rooms on the 2nd floor.
Although the hotel itself is in a perfect location for a city stay and the public areas deserve the 4 star rating, the bedroom was very poor and of a far lower standard. My husband and I stayed in room 215 for just one night, fortunately. We were extremely disappointed with the room. The cleanliness of the bathroom was not what I would expect of a hotel room with a 4 star rating. It was very grubby with grime around the bath taps and between the wall and floor tiles. There was a constant stale smell within the bathroom which we could also smell in the bedroom. Although the bedroom itself was of a higher standard, it was far too warm which made it extremely uncomfortable. The room did not have air conditioning and the window opened only very slightly so we couldn't get any cool air into the room. All in all, for a lovely looking hotel in the public areas, the condition of the bedroom lets it down and we were disappointed with our stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Bristol

Nice hotel - But attention to detail needed!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed whilst on business last week, a warm welcome, decent size room, good communal areas. Attention to detail needs improving as TV didn't work in room and bath tap was leaking badly. To add to this a colleague had someone else walk into her room so this definetly needs addressing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt

Good Hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Love the feel of the place when you arrive but the decoration of the rooms/bathrooms just fall short of a higher rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John F. from Cleveland, OH, USA

Grand hotel of the past is a beauty!

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you don't love this hotel then you don't love the grand hotels of yesteryear! The location is perfect for my business needs, the staff is awesome and the restaurant is superb. Can you tell I love this place??? My room was recently renovated with a fabulous bath, fresh paint and great furnishings not to mention that for a UK room, it was a nice size, private and quiet. And, no I do not work here! I am a road warrior that happens to appreciate a great place to stay when it is available. This is home away from home for me in Peterborough! Love it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by sam from lincs

good location

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was great for our visit to swim open meet and free parking,not 4star more like 3 took own bags to room ,ordered paper but didn't get one hotel looked a bit tired but bed was very comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by travers from plymouth

Did the job

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was visiting Peterborough on a business trip and booked the Bull when another option fell through. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable. I didn't try the food or the bar, but they looked fine. The location is directly in the centre of Peterborough, 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Happy customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Holley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com