Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SL from UK London

Overall Satisfaction

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of the hotel staff. Peaceful enviroment.
Cons: Internal facial / structural improvement
Location: Town centre is 10 mins away.
Hotel itself is dating. Set in a very prominent position, peaceful with pleanty of parking space for the driving travellers. Staff in the front desk are well trained, exceptionally polite and helpful. Pride to the Manager. Food is good, reasonable priced. Enough to do for a short stay, facilities wise speaking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Melbourne Ausralia

Over pricedadd ons kill the experience

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Easy parking
Cons: Price of breakfast and wifi
This is an older Holiday Inn and it shows. The staff were fine and the rooms were clean. Plenty of parking. What did ruin the experience was the £12.95 each breakfast and the pricey wifi! It was fine if you are happy on the outskirts of Cambridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shazzer from Plymouth

Great hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Facilities - swimming pool, spa and gym
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central location to the main road into Cambridge. We were there due to a visit to the university and there was an excellent regular bus service.
Great hotel. Short bus ride from the town centre. Lovely facilities and very clean. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and the food, although a bit expensive was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good swimming pool and sauna

Posted May 4, 2014
The hotel had everything we needed for a great hen weekend. We made use of the bar and the restaurant was nice too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from Bristol

Convenient hotel that is easy to find

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Low rise. Easy road access. Central Cambridge has difficult car access.
Cons: Sightly dusty and some painting updating could be done.
Location: It's a drive into Cambridge, but there are some supermarkets with easy parking on the way.
We knew the hotel was on the edge of Cambridge but we wanted a last minute cancellation option as our daughter was about to give birth and we may not have been able to stay at our hotel. We liked the ease of finding the hotel and that it had a pool and gym and plenty of parking. The room was lovely and warm and had a comfy bed, and had a south facing aspect so was sunny too. We didn't use the pool and gym but they looked nice enough. We asked for more tea and milk and they were given willingly. There'd be a distant road noise if the window was open. It's not possible to walk into town, but it is only 8 mins drive in, and we drove on the ring road and found plenty of car parks. It's not overly swish or ultra smart, but is a good choice for a relaxed stay in this wonderful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel although a bit far from town.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Found the £10 taxi fare each way to town expensive. But loved hotel
2 out of 5
by Spridge from Southampton

Poor

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
A really poor hotel. Biggest concern was the fact that there are NO lifts, but deluxe rooms are on the 1st floor and we were in the room so far from reception I started to wonder if I was still in England - let alone Cambridge!!! No offer to assist with the luggage Wi-Fi is terrible quality and dropped out all the time. It was outrageously priced (£25 for the weekend, is it still 1999 or are we now in 2014?) but eventually given free after a complaint due to the quality. A meal at the bar was disappointing; the food is average and service is slow. Breakfast was a little better, but the price was excessive for what you get. Probably didn't help that there was a coachload of students having breakfast at the same time as us. All in all, it was a roof over our heads but little more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Westfield from Cheshire

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed a single Saturday night recently whilst delivering our daughter back to Uni - didn't eat at the hotel but the room was clean and comfortable, location excellent and service friendly. At £60 for a room for 3, good price too ! Will use again for future trips.
2 out of 5
by Barbara from Pennsylvania

Disappointing stay at a brand formula hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Free parking, easy access to main roads
Location: The hotel was convenient to Cambridge (if you have a car) and had clear access to the main roads.
Perhaps it was the rate obtained through Expedia (reasonable), but we were put at the far end of the hotel, next to the laundry during what appeared to be a pretty low occupancy time. While we had a confirmed "deluxe room" with a sofa bed, this hardly met our expectations; we overlooked a brick wall, listened to the cleaning and laundry staff from about 6 am on, and had no sofa bed. Breakfasts and Wi-Fi were 13 to15 pounds each -- and the café was closed for dinner the night we arrived, requiring room service or going out. With our son, his wife, and 18 month old daughter, who were across the hall in a similar situation, it was not ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob H from Essex

EXCELLENT HOTEL

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
GREAT QUALITY & SEVICE