Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Schneller Check-In, Zimmer sind sehr klein und hellhörig, allgemein wirkte das Zimmer sehr abgewohnt, war aber zumindest sauber, allerdings trifft dies nicht auf das Bad zu, es gab entgegen der Zimmerbeschreibung bei Buchung keinen Fön auf dem Zimmer. Das Hotel befindet sich nicht in Cambridge, sondern in einem kleinen Vorort names Bar Hill. Dort gibt es einen "Pub", der allerdings mehr an ein Fastfood-Restaurant erinnert. Highlight des Ortes ist ansonsten auch das Einkaufszentrum mit einem Tesko Extra und vielen kleineren Geschäften.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom East sussex.

Good location for Cambridge.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location. Pet friendly.
Cons: Booking conditions especially if booking through a booking website. Lesson; always book direct with the hotel if you have specific requirements.
Location: Very near Cambridge. Good bus route. Golf course on site. Large supermarket Near by.
2 plus small dog stayed from 8-10/3/15 whilst I attended a course at Kings college. Very easy ride into Cambridge in the morning with surprising little traffic. Hotel room was a little tired but otherwise good and clean. Too hot for our comfort. Poor sound insulation between rooms, but traffic noise not a problem even with windows open. Very disappointed to be informed at check in and not at the time of booking room (through Expedia, with no cancellations or changes allowed) or confirmation, about unacceptably high additional cost per night for our dog.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Nice, clean, helpful staff
Cons: Please fix the internet, have a Hotel Directory in the room, something to clean shoes with and (I know, that's expensive, but important): in-room safe
Location: About a 10 minute drive to Cambridge so if you are driving, it's ideal.
The hotel - grounds, staff, cleanliness, overall experience is fine. But the hotel fell short of international 4 star standards due to a number of things missing or not working: 1. The WiFi internet simply does not work at this hotel, so BE WARNED - if this is important for you, don't stay here. The staff was helpful moving me to 4 different rooms until I could get a WiFi connection in the 4th room they gave me - which only worked for a few minutes at a time, then it got disconnected and I had to disconnect and reconnect to the WiFi to make it work for another few minutes. Then repeat. The staff said that the provider has been trying to fix this for MONTHS but they simply can't. So assume that you will have NO INTERNET and only stay here if that's OK with you. 2. There was no Guest Directory (or anything about the hotel services) in the room at all so we didn't even know how to call Reception (we guessed 0 and it worked...) 3. No safe in the room. 4. No shoe cleaning towel/brush or anything - I don't recall any other 4 or 5 star hotel I've been to (and I've been to a lot) that didn't have something to clean shoes with. Overall, the hotel IS nice, the staff is helpful so if the above things are not a problem for you, I wouldn't hesitate recommending the hotel. On the positive side, the staff was very helpful, including offering us a meeting room with a reliable (different) internet connection, and they offer fresh milk for the in-room coffee which is a nice extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Wifi, was dreadful. Hotel was advertising free wifi, but it was almost none existent in the rooms. Bar food wasn't great.
Very good welcome upon arrival. Room was very clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Average

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Very average! Definitely not a 4star hotel! The room service was just terrible.. They didn't have most of the food on the menu! The lady that answered the phone had no idea about what they had on the menu. Breakfast was very average! The TV signal was terrible! No decent image to watch. No Wifi in the rooms even though they say there is wifi available in the room. "Apparently they are working on it"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel if staying near Cambridge

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Good value hotel if staying near Ca,bridge. Cambridge hotels themselves are always expensive but this is just a few miles out of town so if you have a car it' great - just be aware of traffic on the A14! Hotel has good facilities and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Suefrom Sutton coldfield

Almost perfect!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service, comfortable spacious room, huge bed, top notch breakfast, but.......... gym and pool area dated and grubby....almost like using back street council facilities! Sorry Menzies, only my opinion, but I think it lets down an otherwise perfect hotel and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leefrom wakefield

Squash tournement overnight stay

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
great price , very nice hotel , very clean , fanatastic rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newport

Lovely staff, scruffy parts to the hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I was a little disappointed with our stay at this hotel. The staff were wonderful, helpful and very attentive. The hotel was not well maintained. There were coffee cup rings on the bedside table which just needed a wipe over, the table lampshade was smashed and torn but not replaced, the pool was gritty and dirty. However, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the retaurant, although very busy served some nice food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great holel

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
was a very relaxing stay with a lovely evening meal. Great value for money and made use of the pool.