Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Zara from London

Good location

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was okay. Beds comfy, TV and facilities good however there was hair in my coffee tray and I had to clean the cups provided. No body wash or soap provided. Good breakfast! Lots to choose from and eat and the bus stop was literally a minute away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in good central location of Cambridge

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: good location
Cons: put shower gel in showers
Location: many shops and restaurants
Not bad I don't mind sharing bathroom but Showers should have soap.
2 out of 5
by Frequent travel

Not a great experience

Posted Oct 1, 2013
There were no staff present at any stage except for breakfast. There was no interaction with the hotel. The ensuite bathroom was very small and noisy. For the high cost of the room, the stay was poor value for money. The breakfast room was in poor condition. The location suited us, but I would not stay there again. It felt that the accommodation was at a calculated minimum.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

A worse than terrible experience

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This "hotel" was vastly more expensive than its condition warranted, in the first place. There was no one at reception, and no one staffing it at all other than a cleaning girl. Shower doors and blinds were broken and a light at the top of the stairs was out, making it difficult to fit a key into the lock even in the day, and no one to report these things to. There is no lift, and no one to help carry luggage up three flights of stairs. Our experience went from bad to much worse, however, when a toilet broke at 5:30am, causing a pipe to leak and flood one of our two rooms, and then a fire alarm to go off waking and frightening the entire building. After a frantic telephone call off site, a man showed up to shut off the alarm and water. But he provided no help to the couple flooded out of their room, and quickly left, leaving my friends to struggle through dark Cambridge streets with their luggage, searching for another hotel to take them in for the night they'd already paid for. The hotel owners offered to refund only the difference between the time they were forced out and the normal checkout time. I would recommend others to avoid this hotel altogether.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Phil from Pennsylvania

Completely satisfactory

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Easy walk from the train station, quiet, convenient to the main street, and spotlessly clean: only stayed one night on my way to another destination, but found the place completely satisfactory and a very good value, and would certainly stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel with no frills

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Clean, good location
Cons: Double glazing to keep out the noise. Better breakfast, more owner involvement to give it a homely feel.
Location: Good location, easy walking distance to central Cambridge.
The room I had was a small single and ok for just myself for a few nights. It had a shared incredibly small bathroom which at least was clean. The actual owner does not spend much time at the B and B and so you can forget any personal touches. The breakfast maker and room maid is a young Eastern European girl who doesn't have much time for chit chat I suspect as she is rushed off her feet most of the time. She is more often the only person there and even then only during the day. The breakfast is continental, no chance of anything cooked and only served from 8-9am. It is cleared away sharp at 9am, I witnessed a couple being turned away at 9:05am for not getting down in time even though some items were still on the side table. It's a shame the owner is not more involved as while clean, the B and B has little warm feel to it which is generally the advantage that they have over hotels. My room was also quite noisy being at the front overlooking the green but as I sleep with ear plugs in anyway this wasn't too much of a concern for me. Note there is only parking for 2 cars on a first come first served basis. I never got to park there during my stay and if you have been there you will know what a nightmare parking is in Cambridge otherwise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Greg from Canada

Good basic accommodation

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower
Location: Very close to the university centre of Cambridge
Excellent location in Cambridge. A guest house, so make sure you check the entry code and have it with you. We arrived and didn't know we needed a code. But fortunately a fellow travel let us in with him. The room was ready, bed comfy, shower door was partially broken but still worked. The breakfast was decent continental. Overall satisfied. The location for the money was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gela from Roma

Great location

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
I liked the room I stayed in though I would have preferred having a bathroom in the room and not a shared one. My room was clean and had a wonderful view of the park. when i checked the reviews for the hotel some people had complained about noise. It was noisy at night but I was not bothered by this. Breakfast was good and girl in charge was friendly and helpful. I did not see anybody around while I stayed here apart from breakfast time. If you are ok with not having staff around and sharing bathroom, this place was great and would recommend to stay here. Also the location is fantastic!