Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Uk

Nice for parking facility, and easy walk into Camb

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Hotel needs updating/redecorating. Our room became too hot due two antiquated rads with jammed thermostats. Staff trying hard, but stuffy and dated ambience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Avoid this tired hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Good, central position in Cambridge.
Cons: Complete refurbishment
I am not sure how this hotel manages to keep its 3 star rating. Our room had torn and dirty curtains, peeling wallpaper and the most uncomfortable mattress I have slept on in many years. The 'white' toewls were off-white and may have been clean but looked grubby - I asked for replacements and was brought slightly better ones but not the bright and fluffy type I expected. This hotel is long overdue for refurbishment and at £169 for one night, exceptionally poor value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good position.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Lift needs attention. Room was too hot.
Location: A short walk from good restaurants such as Brown's and Hotel du Vin.
The hotel is currently a bit of a faded glory. It needs to be refurbished in some areas. The single lift needs attention. No clear sign for entry into car park.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

bad experience

Posted Nov 5, 2014
I was given a room with a terrible smell of mildew and was told no others were available. Then, the promised wifi did not work at all, and no attempt was made to repair it. For the high price, very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The hotel looks nice from outside but inside it's just too outdated. Needs refirbishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Generally good experience. Breakfast is too expensive, but the location is great - within walking distance of the city center market and shopping district as well as the colleges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and overpriced

Posted Oct 8, 2014
It is an old building that is in need of basic maintenance. A window was held up by a stick and there were cobwebs in the window. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff mixed in terms of standards.The food was quite good. If it were less expensive it would have been value.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom west sussex

Good location but old, shabby and not worth it!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rip it all out. And start again. Or cut the prices by 3/4's. Don't say you have parking when's there's not. And provide a decent place to stay
I booked this hotel because it had on site parking and as we drive a van this is a big problem, however when we arrived at the hotel the parking lot had been sold and only a few spaces were available which day visitors to a meeting in the hotel had taken. So none for the guests staying.nstaff told me to drive around the grid locked city that I have never been to to find a parking lot. Two hours later we got a spot 25 mins walk in the rain the From the hotel. The room was old shady with two separate beds. It was our anniversary ! The carpet was crispy. The beds were springy. The shower leaked all over the floor and was very high to get into. There was no mini bar, tooth paste, shower cap or air/ in room heating? The light shade was smashed. The head boards were dirty and from the sixties. When people opened and closed there doors in other rooms the headboard in mine moved and you could hear everything. Oh and no breakfast unless we paid £13.00 plus extra. At the crack of dawn we left
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scarborough Qld

Nice hotel close to station and sites

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Similar hotels in this price range & rating include breakfast.
Location: Can walk to centre, tour of Kings College is impressive
Easy access to all areas, Enjoyed sightseeing. Single room was clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

well located but old

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Well located
Cons: Reform especially on the rooms
The hotel was very well located, in the center of Cambridge. But the room was dirt and old. The hotel needs urgent reform. Was very expensive for what they offer to the guests. The window didn't stay opened so was very hot during the night.