Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from metro Washington DC USA

Hotel w/ lots of historical character,well located

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location and historical character.
Cons: Better toiletry supplies, more complete range of tourist brochures and maps as found at other hotels, concierge service. incl hotel history brochure.
Location: Close to Cambridge Colleges and city centre shopping, museums, etc. and walking distance to Parkside bus station.
We spent five nights here. Hotel configuration is odd, rooms have no air conditioning (hotel supplied us a fan), toiletries not extensive nor regularly updated. Nice waiting area for sitting down, chatting. Since we spent very little time in the room, the relatively inexpensive room rate and excellent central location plus historical feel made up for the lack of modern amenities. No concierge service and receptionist sometimes needed to be hollered to the front desk. Heavy luggage loading and unloading is inconvenient b/c there is no ramp, just steps. No safe deposit box in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff, nice continental breakfast (didn't try the english, but looked very good too)
Cons: rooms and furniture is old and shows signs of use. These could be replaced.
Location: Hotel is located about 10min from King's College/ city centre. Just far enough to not constantly have to deal with the masses of tourists.
The hotel is close to the city centre. The prices are ok for Cambridge standards. The hotel staff is very polite and obliging. Breakfast had a good selection for the continental and full english breakfast. We didn't stay there for dinner, so I can't rate this. The rooms are a bit old and you can see that the things are quite used. A refurbishment would be nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Dissappointed to Say the Least

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel was very run-down, hot and stuffy, and provided no services or amenities, including soap. No one assisted with luggage, even with a person in our party in need of assistance due to an injury. The only area with air conditioning was the lobby area. Staff was not knowledgeable about basis tourist questions, like transportation connections. Not happy with visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Le Tour from the front door of the Royal Cambridge

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: the atmosphere and locality
Cons: bathroom a little tired but acceptable
Location: 5 minutes walk to the city centre - perfect
It was by chance I found the hotel as soon as the route was announced. The staff had made the day a real occasion with Le Tour jersey bunting and breakfast outside on the morning. It was perfect for my 11 year old son and I. The staff were happy for me to leave my car in the car park after checking out. It was an all round memorable couple of days. It is walking distance from the beautiful heart of Cambridge so perfect year round.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic accommodation

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I don't think this accommodation merits the word 'hotel'. It's more like a dilapidated B&B with many, many rooms. My room has no air conditioning, and as it is summer, I was provided with an electric fan to circulate the hot air. I tried opening the windows but as the room faces the main road, it was a choice between kept awake by the traffic noise or the heat. I chose the latter. Also, there's no hairdryer, no fridge, no iron (but there is a trouser press?!). The room was reasonably clean, but quite dilapidated. The toilet seat faces the enormous sash windows about 3 feet away so the curtains were kept drawn to afford some privacy. Its only advantage is its location. I had read the reviews but reckoned two nights there wouldn't kill me. It didn't, but I'd recommend looking for a B&B - our friends stayed in one about 100 yards towards the city centre and they were very impressed (and it was cheaper too).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This must be the worst hotel in Cambridge.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Ancient furniture and all around nothing works and is very old. Not at all recommended
2 out of 5
by Wendy from Kent

Weekend break

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast should be included in the price. Rooms need a revamp.
Location: All sites are within walking distance - colleges, shops, punting etc
We booked this hotel for its location as we had only two days in Cambridge. Basically we paid £90 per person for a bed. This price didn't even include breakfast. The rooms were adequate, although somewhat dated; the public areas were pleasant as were the staff - especially the waitress in the bar - but we didn't eat there and didn't pay extra for breakfast - can highly recommend the Copper Kettle for breakfast - half the price! The hotel obviously survives on its location.
3 out of 5
by Ben from Virginia

Royal Cambridge

Posted Jun 10, 2014
The hotel is in a great location although there were some matters of repair needed in the room we stayed in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mazza from Newcastle

convenient hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The car park is secure and reasonably priced for hotel guests. The breakfast is reasonably priced and fresh. The staff are pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The bedrooms badly need refurbishment. The stair access to upper floors is noisy at night for those on the lower floor.
Location: Very near the Fitzwilliam museum. Easy walk into centre of town and main colleges and river and backs for punts, etc. There are restaurants nearby.
The hotel is convenient, competitively priced, and the reception and bar staff are very friendly and efficient. The main areas of the hotel are reasonably pleasant and cared for but the bedrooms (we have stayed there twice) are in definite need of refurbishment. They are very tired and need updating. The bathrooms are clean and so is the bedding but the furniture is scuffed and chipped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Peter from Sussex

Tired rooms - very expensive

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cambridge is very expensive, especially in the tourist season. We knew that when we booked this hotel, but the location was ideal. So we got what we expected.