Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom east

Close to hospital

Posted May 27, 2015
Stayed in family ensuite . Too far for kitchen . No tea or coffee in the room .. Would have preferred something in room as we had a child with us . Ok if you just need to sleep . Very dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
Good for an overnighter in Cambridge. Clean, basic, reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
zeer simpel, personeel heel aardig. gezien de prijs/kwaliteit wel aan te raden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly basic

Posted Apr 25, 2015
It is a very basic B&B which is fine if you don't want to spend much time there. It ticks all the boxes with a TV in the room etc, but there's not much else there! Breakfast is cereal and toast with some interesting condiments like cheese slices, humous and olives, but there's plenty food, and tea and coffee available all the time. My bed was very creaky, and door shutting was loud, but it was all clean and warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Pros - comfy bed, friendly check-in, good wifi, good price
Cons: Cons - weird/creepy buildings, weird/creepy clientele, outdated decor, weird/creepy breakfast
I was greeted with a friendly welcome at Shelford Lodge, but something about the place immediately felt distinctly odd. The weird layout and the dubious clientele gave it a vibe that was somewhere on the scale of 'community-centre-meets-refugee-camp'. But if you can get past the superficial impressions of the place it isn't really too bad as a cheap place to rest your head. Later on, I worked out what was weird about the place and Google confirmed it for me: Shelford Lodge was previously an old people's residential home that was closed down a few years ago after failing inspections. As far as I can tell it has not been renovated and is basically in the same state it was then - assistance railings along the corridors and a chair in my bedroom was like a hospital chair. The decor was like my gran's house, by my gran has better taste. On the plus side, there was good wifi and and new double bed in the ensuite room I stayed in (room 9). The breakfast was served in a creepy breakfast room and (alongside toast and cereal) included such gems as two kinds of olives, a bowl of hummous and some dairylea triangles. It would probably be better described as 'mediterranean' than 'continental'. In summary - if you dont care about looks and just need a cheap place to sleep and some toast in the morning then this is the place for you. If you you want a 'nice' environment, a good shower or a cooked breakfast then go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The staff. The room. The price and the location.
Cons: Could do with decor updating but only a minor thing
Location: Location is good. A great pub nearby.
This was the second time we have stayed at Shelford Lodge. We will definately use them again. A basic hotel but dont let that put you off. The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. I have stayed in worse places costing much more. We had an en-suite room and the level of cleanliness was brilliant with a great shower. The breakfast is help yourself buffet style but there was plenty and the member of staff monitoring replaced items which had run out promptly. All in all a very enjoyable stay. If you are after a relatively cheap place to stay then do consider them.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Don't do it!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: nothing!
Cons: Customer service, room cleanliness, making sure everything works
Location: Easy distance to everything of interest in Cambridge by car.
I've never, ever stayed in a worst place and I've stayed in some poor places before! Never met a member of staff upon arrival or departure so took a key from the hook hoping it was mine after waiting fifteen minutes and rang hundreds of times. Curtains wouldn't shut. Wifi didn't work. At breakfast a very grumpy man grunted at the tables when asked where breakfast would be served. Truly horrible. I was on my own as a middle aged man who's travelled the world and who's happy to go down-market for price and a quick place to get sleep before resuming my journey. This should have been an easy win for the Shelford Lodge but they managed to disappoint a traveler who doesn't have high expectations. Honestly: if You're looking for somewhere to stay, go up the road to somewhere else. It looks cheap but it's worse than the price. Don't do it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good for a short stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and well done.
Cons: Needs some sprucing up.
Location: It's a 30 minute ride into City Center, to see the universities, churches and old town center. Take in the nightime Evensong at Kings College Chape
We spent 2 nights here. The staff was helpful. The room was very small, and the bathroom very small. The room was adequate for a night or two, but would have felt very cramped if we had to stay for a longer period of time. We learned many companies use this lodge for their employees staying in the area, rather than tourists staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Somewhere to stay whilst working in the area

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Reasonabley priced and comfortable and handy for where l was working. Also near to train station and buses.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com