Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

New Year Break

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The whole atmosphere and attention to detail was excellent.
Cons: More choice of fruit at breakfast would be great.
Location: Cambridge was just a short journey away and gave us lots to do, punting on the Cam, visits to the universities and plenty of shopping and restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay over the new year at the hotel. We were upgraded to a penthouse suite which was superb. We felt so relaxed during our break and the staff made us feel at home. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay:) everything was just perfect

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Very close to everything we need to see, lovely staff and lovely outdoors.... Surroundings great... Couldn't ask for anything better very clean lovely place to stay ...,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Luton

convenient for college

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: good value
Nice surprise to be upgraded to junior suite from standard double on arrival, friendly welcome just wish we had had more time to enjoy facilities. Hope to use Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andersfrom Sollentuna

Fint hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bra hotel för familje resan men om man ska in till Canbridge är det en bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Stevefrom Colchester area

Weekend away

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great weekend away, great service, friendly, excellent food, nice hotel with good facilities, slightly disappointed with the room, it had some spectacular spiders weds, carpet tired between bathroom and bedroom, sink was cracked and silicone tired round the edges of shower and sink, I can't vouch for other rooms. Still thoroughly recommend a stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KHCfrom Cardiff

Comfortable new build, no culture but no issues

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outside of Cambridge this is a new build hotel so you don't get any Cambrdige culture but it was very clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. The fish I had was tasteless but my colleague had a burger which was very good. Easy to get to. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA/UK.

Nice hotel offering good value for money.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Have used this hotel for the past few years for business and pleasure stays and it has always made our guests feel welcomed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alpertfrom London

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not at all as advertised on website. We stayed at the Belfry last weekend and found the hotel to be very disappointing. There were two weddings going on at the hotel. We had not been advised of this prior to our stay. It was VERY noisy and the hotel lounge areas very dirty. The hotel felt very impersonal. Breakfast was disappointing. Not only was it cold and unappetising but felt like a disco as the spice girls were playing full Blast during Breakfast so that we could barely converse! Oh dear..What a shame.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Smart hotel - but very noisy due to weddings!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: There must be bedrooms that are not impacted by noise from function rooms. Surely these rooms could be allocated to independent guests?
Location: There's very little in the immediate surrounding area. You'd need transport to visit Cambridge city centre.
We chose to stay at this hotel while visiting friends in the area - the location was very convenient for us. Overall the hotel looks smart - the rooms are comfortable and clean, the public areas in good condition. It's a very large hotel, so a little impersonal and corporate, but we expected that. Our stay would have been good, had it not been for the functions that were going on at the same time. We stayed a Saturday night and there were two weddings in progress. We returned to the hotel just after 11.30 pm, and could hear very loud music, even with all the windows closed. I called Reception to ask when the music would end, but the receptionist confirmed it would stay until 1.00 am. She did however say that she would ask the DJ to turn down both the overall volume and the bass level. If the DJ did make any adjustment, sadly it was unnoticeable from our room. However I was keen to just get to bed in the hope I'd fall asleep with the din in the background. Eventually after 1.00 am I did fall asleep, only to be woken again at 1.45 am by the clean-up operation following the wedding. Furniture was being dragged around and partition walls being moved. The noise was so bad it caused vibrations for the whole room to move. The noise continued until just after 2.00 am. With my partner asleep and at that time of night I had no interest in pursuing the matter further with the hotel at the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are a good size. The bathroom is a nice size with separate bath and shower encloser. The pool is quite small but there is a sauna/steam room for use and a jacuzzi pool. The gym is an added benefit. Breakfast was very good with a nice choice of hot or cold items on offer. Staff very friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner we went over the road to a Marstons pub, but I would not recommend this option as it as a bit of a dive and the quality of food was not good.