Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.4 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good Location Terrible Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing - we were hoping being closer to our daughter's house it may be one we would regularly use but I think we will go back to the Travelodge.
Cons: The staff could be more obliging when we pointed out things to them and not say they would e-mail the manageress, who then did nothing!
Location: Good location near to shops, river and daughter's dance college.
Hotel is in a good location and when we arrived the room was clean. That is the best comment we can make! On Saturday and Sunday nights there is a night club below the rooms which goes on until 3am when you may get some sleep and you will be woken up by the recycling which arrives at 6.30am. The staff were non English and weren't interested when I pointed out that in the room it says that full english or continental breakfast was included in the price of the room, however they wanted to charge an extra £4 per person for English breakfast. After discussion they waived the fee. The TV in both rooms will never work without a freeview box and a good ariel connection. The room furniture came from the local junk shop (serviceable). New shower heads were fitted but they will never fit the existing holder which has been broken by people trying in both of the shared bathrooms. The door handle was held on by one screw which was never going to hold and came off. The bannister rail at the top is not attached to the wall posing a real risk to the infirm. This is the worst bed and breakfast place we have ever stayed. If you are looking for very cheap one night accommodation and even youth hostels are not available you may strike lucky! If you want a pint go elsewhere as the beer is very expensive and a very limited choice.
1 out of 5
by John from Suffolk

Dreadful hotel, please avoid!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: 150 characters are nowhere near enough!
Location: Cambridge Corn Exchange, but stay somewhere else!
Awful room, TV didn't work, but the manager "is aware and will fix it one day"! Shared bathroom which was cold and draughty. Bedroom overlooked the main street and because of the poor insulation and lack of double glazing I didn't sleep until the noise outside had subsided, at about 3AM. Then at 4AM I was awoken by an HGV making a delivery next door! To add insult to injury I was charge £78 for this experience. I feel like I've been mugged!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast is okay but no shower

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and Wi-fi.
We could not get a shower two consecutive days. The hotel person is not friendly at all. The elevator is not equipped that is very tough fortravellors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diabolical

Posted Mar 5, 2014
The booking confirmation said I needed to inform the hotel if I was going to check in after 11pm. As it happens, I did need to check in after 11pm so I rang them. No answer. Rang again. No answer. I rang about 20 times throughout the day without an answer. I looked for a website. There isn't one. I looked for an e-mail address. No email address. I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to check in at all if I didn't get there before 11pm so I was forced to leave a dinner in London earlier than I had planned. When I got there, I rang the number again. Nothing rang. I asked the barman/receptionist if I had the right number. Yes, he said, but the phone doesn't work. In the room is a TV and freeview box which only has radio stations on it. The windows are ancient and single-glazed, allowing both the cold and the drunken shouting of students to fill the room effortlessly. A few superficial touches, such as cushions on the bed, could not disguise the fact that it was poorly maintained, with broken plug sockets and broken door handles. After a truly terrible night's sleep I got up to shower. Despite the price, there is no en suite toilet or shower. Nor was there any hot water on that cold March morning. I don't mean it was tepid. It was ice cold. And it came out of a broken shower head. This B & B thinks that putting a few tasteful paintings on the walls turns a doss house into a boutique hotel. Avoid.
1 out of 5
by jo from HK

No hot water for shower in the cold winter

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The TV inside room was out of order. The staff said it would resume one week later. The shower room has no light, flooding in shower room. The most terrible was no hot water for shower in the cold winter. I stayed two nights with no shower for my family. I made complaint to the staff but they could not help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The Castle is a pub with some B&B rooms

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Venue type: bar/pub with bedrooms Accessibility: externally round the corner from the bus station, internally LOTS of stairs 2 to 4 storey's worth. Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are on the top. Mountaineering up there shields you from any noise from the bar itself but not from any drunks on the main street which rooms 1 and 2 overlook/overhear Cleanliness: room and bed are clean. Cleaning yourself is more difficult. There are 2 shared bathrooms, each clean but on a different floor and none on the top floor. It's a pain if you need the bathroom in the night because you have to go up and down at least 2 flights of stairs, open doors and switch on many lights. This guarantees you are awake by the time you return to the room Furniture: Room 2: double bed, single bed, a walk-in 'wardrobe' with hangers, very very low table, armchair Technology: 1 ceiling light by the window with a puny bulb, 1 table lamp on the tiny table, ancient tiny portable TV, kettle that you have to take to a bathroom, WiFi with weak signal Food: PG Tips tea in room with UHT milk, breakfast in the bar. Food is ok, nothing special but decent presentation. The description doesn't mention toast but you do get one slice cut diagonally of lukewarm basic brown bread. I like my toast looking like it's just back from a summer holiday. I couldn't make the waitress understand what I wanted and gave up after 3 attempts. Also the menu says 'with tea or coffee and orange' but I was only allowed tea OR coffee OR orange
1 out of 5
by Song from s

The hotel is not far from one of the college .

Posted Oct 12, 2013
I booked the hotel called "the Castle"and the address is 37 st Andrew street, Cambridge , Englang , CB2 3AR, which is for 05/10/13check in and check out on 06/10/13. But at 5pm I was informed by the Castle staff to go to 140 Tenision road check in . I thought I got the address of the Castle wrong . I went 140 Tenision road . The build has got no name and it is not "the Castle" . Me and my family went to room as instructed on the phone by The Castle staff . The room was dirty , the beding was used by somebody else . We can still found lots of hair on the bed . We were worried and scared ... Did not no what happened ? Why we were placed in a strang place , which is not the hotel we booked . So I rang "the expedia " to find out what is going on . But the gentleman called Amid trying to contact with the Castle and told me there is no answer and advise us to stay where we are . We had a terrible stay in the hotel . There suppose cooked breakfast , but Monday there to cook breakfast for us . We went to the kitchen in the morning and noted the juice in the fridge is moulded , no opening date on the Carton . There is nobody there we could ask . So left the key in the room and went out of the terrible hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by R&M from Wokingham

Not one for the weekend.

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here previously during the week and it was fine, if a bit noisy outside; this time it was the weekend and what a difference! The dance music went on until after 2am - ear plugs make no difference when the floor is vibrating to the beat!!! Our telly didn't work - no biggy for a couple of days except that we wanted to see the weather forecast - but the chap on reception had no idea how to help, nor any inclination to try. Breakfast service was good but a little late - starts at 08:30 - and the quality was meadiocre. Positives: location, cleanliness of bed linen, towels, etc. Negatives: Noise, noise, noise & poor service. Bottom line: only even consider this hotel at the weekend if you are intending to party all night in any case.