Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable for an overnight stop

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Hotel team welcoming. Bar area relaxing.
Cons: Cannot make the rooms any bigger so limited scope to improve. Food portions could be better.
Room small but clean. Functional. Food good but portion size small. Hotel team very friendly and welcoming. Always feel slightly overpriced for a small basic room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mrs. H

Very happy memories.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
We spent our wedding night there and went back the next year for our first anniversary. Very special place to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H

Comfortable beds

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Food was good and good ale
Cons: Flexiblity to have continental breakfast before 7am
In attic room- next to road but was not noisy Comfortable rooms with good internet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant gardens and public areas

Posted May 6, 2014
The hotel is really a pub that has had bedrooms added. The bar area and restaurant are very pleasant, as is the "Orangery", which is basically a mid-sized conservatory. The food was very good, as was the service at dinner. Breakfast service was very slow but the full English was cooked to order and worth waiting for. The bedrooms are basic but comfortable although we found the beds to be very soft. Overall, a very pleasant hotel in a nice part of the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Australia

Lovely 1 night stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
After reading other reviews, we would say we were extremely happy with our room and service. The room (room 6) was large and modern (including heated towel rack). Evening meal was extremely good and the staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Comfortable accommodation and great food

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in an executive double room, on the first floor of an adjacent building accessed from the outside, which was like a junior suite, but which had the facility to become a family room with a sofa bed. The room was very comfortable. There was a little early morning road noise from the nearby main road, but due to the location that was to be expected and did not result in broken sleep. The real wow factor though was the food served up in the pub restaurant - outstanding, and excellent VFM in our view. Service was also good. A real find was this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H

Good hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2013
Stayed in room 2. Very comfortable. Bathroom needs some work. Sink taps don't come in properly and gaps around Bath. Heating controls could be easier to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Threepennhouse from Gloucertershire

Good food, service and comfort but noisy location

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room 6 was very clean and comfortable but the road noise from 40' lorries all through the night meant that sleep was badly disrupted. Hope that the other rooms would be in a quieter area of the venue. Food was good, atmosphere brilliant and staff were excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms need to be upgraded.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The people, but they need to focus more on cleaning.
Cons: Cleaning, decor and general overhaul of the rooms.
The pub and people are welcoming and warm, but the rooms and stairway to them leaves nothing to be desired. Worn in dirt, shoddy fittings and tired decor is not appropriate for the price, even when the rest of Stamford is full.