Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Differeny

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Quirky
I think this hotel is much better than the overall rating implies. Nice old building, staff very good, and has a 'different' quirky feel from the chains that I normally would stay in. The room was massive, and the restaurant food was excellent. I'd stay here again. Great location opposite station but not noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the railway station.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Incredibly small room overlooking rail station

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It's a great asset for Peterborough - close to centre, easy to park, and jump on train to London.
Cons: Staff need to up their game. Process driven.
Love this place - have stayed there often, but it's changed. Staff going through the process but not really interested. I remember really large rooms. Mine was very small, no desk to do work. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants

overnight business trip

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lighting in the rooms
Location: opposite train station
directly opposite the train station makes this hotel very convenient, location is everything. The room was ok, reasonably spacious and clean. Very poor lighting in the room was disapointing, and it was very hot, no fan provided. I didnt eat this time but menu looked ok. Will probably stay again due to location, but found it not reallly good vslue for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Retford Nottinghamshire.

Exceptional Staff, Fantastic atmosphere here.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Refreshing an welcoming atmosphere from all staff providing that essential feeling of being a welcomed guest
Cons: The only suggestion I have is to request the TV should not be fitted so high on the wall.
Location: Excellent location to the train station and main trunk road into Peterborough and unique proximity to the City centre and shopping hall.
Refreshing an welcoming atmosphere from all staff providing that essential feeling of being a welcomed guest, keeping up with tradition which is very warming for the weary traveller to feel at home. The whole establishment is spotless and well maintained with high ceilings and comfortable surroundings in this elegant hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Grimsby

Very satisfied, with great staff

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room, food, service, reception all excellent. Really enjoyed our stay, will be going back. Nice touch from reception, discovered it was our 40th wedding anniversary, after day out lovely bowl of fruit in room. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Gloucestershire

More Than Pleased

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: Shower cap and hair straightens
Location: great for the railway but working is time although the Cathedral is wonderful I am told
The hotel building has been there for many years, so no lift if you have heavy bags but as the hotel staff in all areas were wonderful this was no problem. Room lovely and spacious. Beautiful Bath and separate shower with over head sunflower shower ( no shower cap in room please supply next time!) Room not too noisy. Meal excellent and reasonably priced but I was the only one there. Breakfast was also great massive choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary S from CT

I could live here forever

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely old world charm hotel. Rooms classic and regal in layout, design and décor. I felt like I was in a proper Victorian setting. Bed had a wood paneled canopy, tall windows that work for air, The bath room was unbelievably large with a claw foot tub, separate marble lined shower, et al. 16 foot ceilings, gold plated switches on the wall. If I could attach pictures I would. Food, I bought the B&B plan, The breakfast team of Lizzy and Tracy were awesome, there was more food then you could imagine, 2 kinds of Benedict, smokes fish, and the obligatory European buffet. They have a pub in house. The food was delightful and cooked to my request. I had a pan seared salmon special I asked for rare and it was perfect! Plenty of parking protected by gates so I never wanted for a place to park. As an American we like to have A/C and this hotel does not have A/C. But the open windows sufficed. Fine for me with open window. No lift (Elevator) but they will portage your luggage so this is not a big deal unless you are physically challenged. Surrounding area. This hotel is across the street from a train station and across the street from a mall. I never hear the train in the 4 nights I was there. (Good thing) While the mall is across the street I appreciated that I could walk over to the mall to shop or visit the town sights. There is a wonderfully active brew pub across the bridge and all around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helen E from Saltash

Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent value for money, very comfortable room and beds, great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. The location is brilliant..next to the station and opposite Queensgate shopping mall and bus station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Satisfied of... from Bury St Edmunds

Good value and high quality

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the ambience of this grand old railway hotel. Very comfortable bed and very attentive service both at reception and in the breakfast restaurant. Breakfast was extremely good.