Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely village and county side, great hosts.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Cleanliness perfect, friendly and helpful hosts. Cosy and comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Dorset, England

Friendly pub accommodation with good food.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Pub setting where the landlord is the chef. No set breakfast times. Good food and beers, friendly locals.
Cons: Bed was a bit firm. Beige room carpet - easily marks.
Location: The Stilton Cheese Inn is approx. half an hours drive from Rutland and Grafham waters. 1 hour to Melton Mowbray & Sandringham & 45 mins to Cambridge.
Stayed for 7 nights whilst fly fishing and sightseeing in the local area. Carlos knowing we were fishing from a boat lent us his boat seat (very comfortable) and give lots of tips on fishing in the area. Also helped our plan our day trip to Cambridge. His full English breakfasts were excellent. As was the pub menu. Carlos and Sue were witty and cheerful, but all staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was really tidy - Room 5 has lots of space with a desk and chair and sofa to watch t.v. There was also an outside table and chairs. Bed was a bit firm. It was a pleasure to stay in place where nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by nrudd from Northampton

A little Gem of a Cheese Inn

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Stilton Cheese Inn deserves the best of marks. The welcome was genuine from all the staff encountered; the bedroom (in the outside courtyard) was comfy, clean, cosy. The bathroom was lush with thick towels and classic golden looking plumbery. The breakfast was hearty and served with a big smile, composed of FRESH fruit (not tinned!) including a massive bowl of strawberries, toast, jam, juice, hot drinks and all we wanted from bacon and eggs to a lovingly prepared full English. We can't wait to go back and try their evening meal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great breakfast!

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Very friendly service. Very convenient off A1.
Cons: Would have liked it to be darker in room.
Nice room and really good pub. We enjoyed our breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Lincoln, UK

Comfortable, quiet, privet and tasty breakfast :)

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Hard to choose. Breakfast and good night sleep.
Location: Lovely setting, quiet
We had a wonderful night at this hotel. Loved the individual rooms outside. Comfortable, quiet and a good night sleep. Very clean and shower was great. The breakfast was amazing we all enjoyed it including our 4 year old little boy :) We would definitely recommend to a friend and would love to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RR from Burton

Another night

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room quite small, Carpet filthy, but the bed was clean, shower dated and needed upgrade, friendly enough, pricey for one night stay. Wifi worked well. area ok, Indian Restaurant good meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jonboy from Kent, UK

Great Inn and pub with great food

Posted Jul 29, 2013
We arrived at around 2.30 pm and the inn was actually shut, there was a guy working away in the rear garden on the decking who turned out to be Carlos the owner! He showed us to our garden room (all rooms are in the garden) which was very nice comfortable, and clean the shower was great! The room came with its own outside table and chairs which was ideal in the lovely weather. As the inn was shut I asked if any other pubs/inns would be open, when Carlos realised that we just wanted a drink he duly obliged so no problem, to which we enjoyed on the large decking outside. Carlos asked if we wanted to book a table as they were going to be very busy that evening, just as well we did as they were heaving, this pub is obviously has an avid following for its excellent food. I had melon and parma ham to start and my wife had an unusual combination of mushroom choritzo and garlic baked with a cheese topping which she loved. For mains I had loungistines piri piri delicious (Carlos is originally from Portugal) and my wife had perfectly cooked liver and bacon. All in all an excellent meal fairly priced for the quality of the food! you only get what you pay for after all. The service was brilliant, smiley efficient and courteous. We would definitley stay here again if the occasion arises in the future and then hopefully sample some of the much heralded sea food offerings. Carlo's wife is a very nice lady very affable and between them they run a well oiled business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ninjaparr from Leeds

good breakfast!

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Strange being on the ground floor with a car park outside, was a bit like being in a motel in America, but overall was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a weekend near peterborough

Posted May 21, 2013
We arrived 4.00pm the landlord put on a very nice salad as it was out of hours meal times which i thought was very good of him.The room was very large and had a large bathroom, the area was ideal for peterborough out of the busy town but very close.The breakfast was good and well presented.