Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Hotel of Last Resort in Cambridge

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location. The staff were very friendly. Amazing view from the ballroom restaurant.
Cons: Pretty much everything. But in order of priority: 1. Fix the A/C. 2. Install proper soundproofing. 3. Total renovation of carpets and fittings.
Location: Right in the centre of Cambridge, so lots of great bars and restaurants. Easy walk from the station.
The University Arms could be such a great hotel, but it's actually terrible. Very convenient in the centre of Cambridge, but that also means it's on a busy road. I had a room at the front of the hotel and there was no soundproofing. Just minimal double glazing that did very little to stop the noise from the buses outside. Even worse is that the A/C was not working (there was even a note to say so). As the room became unbearably stuffy I had to open the windows. So the traffic noise was really bad, and when the traffic dies down I had the delightful noise of drunken students walking back from the clubs in the small hours. Several of my colleagues have stayed here too, and they also had non-working A/C, so I don't think this is an isolated problem. The interior looks like it hasn't been updated in twenty years or more, but there's a lovely atrium, and the ballroom restaurant has huge windows that open up onto a park. What a wasted opportunity this place is. But since there's a chronic shortage of good value hotels in Cambridge I suppose they don't need to do anything to improve it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good central location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
For the location and the price this hotel was everything we needed. The building is lovely and clearly used to be very grand. It is starting to look a little tired and worn out but they have made some improvements. Our room was very pleasant and clean. It was a little too small for a king size bed but it was fine. On our arrival the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We arrived 4 hours early but were still able to check in. When we reached our room I noticed one of the light fixtures from the bathroom was not on the light but on a chair in the bedroom. I phoned reception and they sent someone to rectify it immediately. Very good service. My only complaint would be the fact that breakfast is not included. An extra £10-£14 per person seems rather steep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but comfortable

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: Décor and room maintenance
The hotel was well situated for my stay in Cambridge The windows in my room were cracked and the hairdryer was missing. The decor was a little faded and the room could have been cleaner . The bed was comfortable and overall was suitable for my trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice old hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Stayed here with my girlfriend when in Cambridge for the weekend. Large rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, classy decor in the lobby (a bit dated in the rooms, but the furnishings were great) - overall, a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Not sexy but basically, excellent

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Decor, but then we would have to pay twice the price.
Location: Everything is walkable - yeahhh!
We booked last minute. We wanted central convenience and assumed the price was quality / aesthetics. What we got exceeded expectation. Yes, our room was small and dated, but it was quiet, there was parking, lots of storage and we slept like parents in need of it. The view from the breakfast table over Parker's Peace was a slice of perfection, as was our drink in the bar the night before. Yes, it could do with an update, but for us, the price, the location and the view, were all compromises we were happy to make.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel very central and convenient location,

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: very good, I would stay there again
Cons: Nothing to be improved
Location: Plenty of interests to visit nearby whether academic or just sightseeing museums gallerries etc
No complaints all very satisfactory .Staff welcoming . hotel room very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

2nd visit looking forward to staying again

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Lovely building Being refurbished this year. Breakfast lovely Central position Would definitley stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts

Nice hotel, very well located.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
I think it was a really good hotel, but a bit expensive for what u get, I do not really think it is value for money. But lovely staff and nice rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only good thing about hotel central to town.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing...... Would not reccomend this hotel at all.
Cons: Air conditioning, not give someone a room that is clearly the size of a single as a double.
Location: Location was good about the only thing that was.
The room size was discusting, it was far too hot with NO AIR CONDITIONING that worked they actually gave you a silly little fan. The breakfast was not good at all and we were served at different times due to the fact the waiter didn't seem to understand English to well. After paying £159 for one night they then had the cheek to charge £16 to park there. The bathroom was about the size of an average broom cupboard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warks

Great location, not so great room.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
If you can get a room in the old post of the hotel over looking the park, they are lovely. The rooms in the 1970s section are cramped, noisy and the bathrooms are tiny. I wouldn't stay here again.