Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by BiBifrom Surrey

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really liked this hotel except for the fact that it was so hot that it was really uncomfortable & difficult to sleep. All the feedback is the same. The hotel needs urgently to invest in some air conditioning. The weather outside was not exceptionally warm. Staff, location & breakfast were all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

You have to stay here

Posted Jul 28, 2014
we have stayed here now loads of times,it is the best hotel in stamford,best rooms,best staff,best food,what more can i say,give it a go :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suefrom leicestershire

Character, clean hotel with great food

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Food, comfortable and clean room, patio area/garden
Location: Great location next to Burlegh, entrance nearby for a walk through grounds. On edge of town but that makes it away from busy centre,easy walk to town
Great hotel, clean comfortable. Dinner in restaurant was excellent as was breakfast. Unfortunately there were other guests staying who were noisy with no consideration for other guests. The manager dealt with the situation very professionally, we will definitively return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by 1379happycamperfrom sussex

Great location and service

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a lovely stay at the William Cecil. Very large, comfy room. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Hotel slightly let down by restaurant. Menu rather limited and food, although tasty, wasn't quite of the standard of the rest of the hotel. I did really enjoy my stay and would happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aspinfrom Ripponden

Excellent standards

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
No complaints at all. Excellent rooms and friendly professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolynfrom Leicester

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stay in Stamford a lot and this, along with The George, is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn

A great place to stay.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: See above.
Location: Stamford is an interesting town architecturally-completely unspoiled. Very near Burghley House and grounds.
We were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.We particularly liked the relaxed and informal atmosphere of the hotel. The breakfast was deliciious and we had a vast choice of excellent food. Our first visit to this hotel was a very positive experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kylefrom Norwich

Excellent hotel,nice town

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: everything,the room,the bar,and it has to be the location the hotel is set in,the grounds.
Cons: nothing,everything was spot on
Stayed here now a few times,best hotel in stamford,so relaxing,so clean,nice food and good drink,all the staff are so friendly and would do anything to make your stay better,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom Yorkshire

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable bed, I slept like baby. Fabulous building, great breakfasts and superb area on the edge of Burghley House estate. All the staff were really friendly and this extended to outside contractors. One problem which prevented top marks in all sections was on the last day when the hospitality tray was not replenished. This was soon put right when I complained. A shame that it happened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maxxedfrom Nottibgham

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really did like this hotel. Staff were friendly, food was great (though don't expect to come out full) and rooms were excellent.