Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50's style motel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Easy to find location. Close to restaurants and beach view. Not located on the beach. Small room and even smaller bathroom! Coffee and muffins for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Very nice

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Very nice hotel at a ggod price and friendly staff withvbconvenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tremont

Bay view

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: We were in an end unit, so the wifi connection was a little weak.
A great little motel, with friendly staff, nice amenities, and a view of Penobscot Bay. We walked across the road and had dinner in a little roadside pub. Very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McCordsville, In

Nice Beds, small bathroom

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Bathroom size although I am not sure how they would do it.
Location: The location was perfect for going between Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park and Boothbay Harbor as well as Pemequid. There is enough to do in the
Beds were very comfortable. Not too soft and not too hard. Pillows were very flat however and the bathroom was so small you could use all the amenities at one time. The personnel running the motel were wonderful. Very personable and easy to talk with. They went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed. Rooms were very clean and the maid came in every day to tidy up and make the beds as well as put out clean towels and sheets. I would return there for another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul& Merrillie from Western NY State

Clean, beautifully maintained '50s era motel

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness.
Cons: For what it is (and all it claims to be) you could hardly improve it any more.
Location: Belfast is an atmospheric working seacoast town which shows for much recent improvement and sports a thriving arts community. Shops and galleries.
If you like the idea of a throwback era motel, but with all the up-to-date conveniences such as free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, this is the best of its type we've ever stayed in. This motel is clearly the love child of its owner, desk clerk, handyman, etc. named Peter. He maintains it as if it opened for the first time yesterday. If it's frills you want, you may be disappointed. But we (ages 70 & 71) found the Gull inspiring. (The two nights previous we stayed in a brand new Hampton Inn at twice the price that featuring indifferent cleanliness and a desk clerk who gave us incorrect times for the breakfast they bragged about. So we missed it.) At the Gull, there is free coffee. Have your breakfast in charming Belfast. There are several good choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Comfortable

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: It was very clean and quiet. Convenient location
The room was airy, well it and spacious. The convenience of the refrigerator and microwave made it more so. It was also very quiet. Nicely located near good restaurants, the harbor and Belfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very mediocre

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The coffee
Cons: Quite a bit. Improve everything by about 20%.. Take it beyond "just enough"
This hotel provided the bare minimum and -nothing beyond. The room was nothing beyond what was required, the breakfast was prepackaged pastries, but, I will say this: the coffee was quite good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: chipotle is across the road a couple of minutes walk
Didn't expect too much given the price but had to get a room change due to the strong 'chemical' smell in the room - booked non-smoking - wife thought it was cigarette smoke, and when given a different room confirmed most likely was the cleaners or some other similar source. linen/towels clean, bathroom clean (and that's what really matters but you wouldn't want to look too closely at the carpet (which I couldn't help but notice while looking for a power point). Beds were comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Middlebury, CT

Quaint Motel offers Personalized Service!

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Everyone was sincerely friendly. The room was immaculate! The parking was ideal-right in front of our door. Perfect location to anywhere
Cons: Brightly colored Adirondack chairs in place of the white chairs outside each room would look very cool~ as suggested by the owner himself!
Location: Belfast is a charming town- lots of little shops, places to eat, acadia ntl park is 1hr away, lighthouses and plenty of festivals & activities.
I booked a short weekend stay in Maine to visit my daughter who spent the summer working at a kids camp nearby. She had suggested that I book at a nearby chain hotel- which I would have done if I weren't a procrastinator! Alas, there were few choices available when I went online to book the room. I chose this motel because it had decent reviews and seemed to be in a good location. We ended up enjoying our stay here more than I would have at that "chain hotel"! When I called to tell them we would be arriving very late- they explained that the light would be on and how I could access my key to the room. They were very accommodating. Coffee/tea and good company every morning. Comfortable beds. Relaxing atmosphere. I felt like I was staying with friends or family instead of a hotel. I wish I had stayed longer and can't wait to go back to see and do all the stuff we didn't have time to do... and YES- I WILL DEFINITELY be staying at the GULL!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott D. from New Hampshire

Great price for this location!

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Clean bathroom, and great price!!
Cons: Some folks complained about a musty smell, but that's to be expected, turn the AC on.... and you are good to go!!
Location: Perfect location, easy access!
For the price, this was a great motel. Recently renovated clean bathroom, two queen size beds, plenty of room, a frig, microwave, perfect. When you are staying in Belfast Maine, you want to explore the coast line, eat delicious fresh seafood, go shopping, visit art galleries, beautiful estates and quaint villages. Don't burn your vacation money on just the hotel room. Even the motel owner was charming.