Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Clean room at a reasonable rate. Conveniently located near our destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Disappointed there was a coffee maker in room but no coffee other all was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

A good place for a night

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location -- very clean and quiet.
This is an older, well maintained motel. The rooms are very clean and there is a good restaurant almost directly across the road. We will stay there again when traveling in this part of Wisconsin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jillfrom stuart, florida

black bear

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't judge this motel by the exterior. Very understated but immaculate. Sort of reminds me of the hotels of the 1950s only no sigh of wear and tear. Simple rooms, with only one chair and no desk, but the other furniture was clean and new. I truly enjoyed this little "find." We left our computer cord there and the owner called us the next day to see if we wanted it mailed. We do and we will send her a check. Cute Mom and Pop place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Billfrom Wausau, WI

Close to The Enchanted Barn for Wedding

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great remodled older Strip type one floor motel. Local owners very friendly. Good local cafe one block away. If we get bac to the Rice Lake area we would enjoy staying a couple of nights at the Black Bear Motel "80+"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessfrom Ohio

Super clean!

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super clean. Very friendly staff. Building is a little older but very well maintained. My kids loved all wood furniture with the bear cutouts. Would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
For a locally owned, small town operation it was great. Basic amenities. Service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and easy to find

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: It was reasonable and close to the wedding, I was attending. Staff was pleasant and personable.
Location: Restaurant is across the road and another restaurant approximate block from hotel
Even thou hwy 8 goes by the hotel. I didn't have any difficulty in falling asleep. Bed was comfortable. Loved the Northwoods theme of the room in the furnishings.