Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great relaxing place to stay with nature on your side!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colmar,pa

Beautiful place with beautiful landscaping!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We enjoyed the stay. One thing was that our room was next to the stairwell and you can hear the door opening and closing all the time. The shower area is small but we only used it once. Over all it was a great experience .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phila

Beautiful & relaxing

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Its a step back in time where you can actually spend time with the person(s) you love & leave the ipads, phones & electronics at home.
Cons: Our king size bed was actually 2 twin beds pushed together which made a split down the middle & made it difficult for me to cuddle with the love of ;)
Amazing experience in this historic hotel & lodge that's full of old world charm. Don't expect it to be modern, but do expect a very low keyed atmosphere in a gorgeous beautiful setting where the staff refers to you by your name & not your room number. The formal dinner dining room is exactly that where men must wear jackets & cell phones & computers are not allowed. The food was great & there is plenty to do like take a row boat out on the lake with the girl of your dreams;)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster PA

Would not go back

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: the outside pictures were very impressive
Cons: Updating the rooms
Location: Location was out in the middle of nowhere and you had to drive a distance to any of the attractions.
Went for our anniversary and thought we were getting a romantic get away. The room was very small and there was no tub in the room, just a shower. The room smelled musty and the furniture was old and very worn. The indoor pool was closed for repairs and the "free" parking was down a dirt lane under the pine trees or in a field. Would not go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, staff needs improvement

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: There's SO much to do on the grounds if you like being outside.
Cons: Check-in experience. Give everyone a map and list of activities with better descriptions.
Location: There's a great diner for breakfast and ended up driving 40 min away to a wineryand stopped at the outlets on the way back when it rained
The lodge itself is beautiful and historic sitting on 5500 acres. It especially looks majestic lit up at night. Looking back, I was extremely disappointed when the front desk person did not give us a map of the grounds, nor was there any information in our room on the amenities or the restaurants. They have daily activities scheduled, which the front desk also failed to give us any information about when we checked in. We ended up looking on the website to figure out what they had to offer and had to inquire at the desk for more information. The room we had in the lodge was OK, but nothing was updated. The bed was 2 twins pushed together, which made it uncomfortable, the tv was small and old - it had a vhs deck, and the bathroom was really small. we struggled to find a place to put our stuff. If we go again, I'd look into staying at the inn or a cottage. Housekeeping started knocking down our hall at 8am on Saturday! The first full day it rained so we had to find things to do "off campus", though just by wondering around, we found a game room, tap room, small lunch/icecream shop, and boutique store in the basement. The indoor pool was closed - looked like they were painting or repairing it. Finally the sky cleared up the next day and we were able to enjoy a morning hike with a guide. He stopped and explained various plants and landmarks during the hike and lead us to a really pretty waterfall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE food. Lots of hidden fees.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Terrible food. Cheap meat. All fat. Service charges for EVERYTHING!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick and Peggy from Princeton NJ

Very good hotel for a getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: The quality of the food could be improved. We did mention this to management, and they said that they would look into the problem.
Every thing lived up to our expectations, except for the food. The presentation of the food was first class, but the preparation of the food below what we expected. For younger people than we are, there was every game and activity that can be imagined. It certainly is a great place for a family retreat. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Over all, we had a wonderful stay, and look forward to a repeat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice property but not for little kids

Posted Jun 1, 2014
This is a really nice property but not very kid friendly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tim from Los Angeles

Skytop a disappointment

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The grounds and surrounding area are fantastic. The quality of the actual hotel, rooms, amenities and service were severely lacking. We will never go back.