Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renia from Pitt Meadows, BC, Canada

Cabins with Ambiance

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the rocking chairs, the pool and the honour bar.
Cons: The front desk person who usually operates the desk could be a little bit nicer, I think his name was Willy. Breakfast should include the omelette.
Location: There is nothing at this location as it is far out of town, but it is quiet and peaceful.
We loved the cabins that had rocking chairs on the porches. The rooms had large bathrooms with lots of shelf space and large showerheads. The beds were firm but not uncomfortable. The rooms came with desks, but no wifi. The wifi was located only in the lobby area. The breakfast was unsubstantial, as it was only fruit and toast. You had to pay extra for an omelette, which cost $5. There was a freezer filled with drinks, which you could take on the honour system and sign it on a sheet at the lobby. There was also a fridge in each room. We liked the pool as it was relaxing and clean. The location was far out of town, and we had to pay $20 each way both into and out of the town of Tamarindo in order to get something to eat. There was no food on the premises aside from the breakfast I have just mentioned. The jungle sounds were great around our cabin and really livened things up, especially when we had something thump onto our roof in the middle of the night. The birds were really loud and sounded like car alarms or something like it. There were horses down below our cabin also because a ranch was there. The dirt road leading to the hotel was really dusty and unpleasant. Apparently this is a government road which is slowly being paved, but may be years in the making. Overall, we enjoyed this hotel for the ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Trina L from New Zealand

Nice alternative to Tamarindo

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a really lovely stay. The hotel was really relaxing, nice pool and bar area and being small we got to meet other hotel guests. The rooms were a really good size. Although the locations is not close to much we found it a nice alternative to staying in Tamarindo, much quieter, much cheaper and still an easy drive to get the beach. The hotel will also cook dinner for you, you just tell them what you want and they will organise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TY from Florida

Loved it!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and relaxing. Conveniently located. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by Nathan

Meh. Good but not Great...

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The place was nice, green and good staff.
Cons: Humidity control.
Location: Nada.
It started out well but after hanging out there the first night we left the day after. It was very very humid in the room. The blankets were damp and my papers got wet by just laying on the bed. The lights also randomly went out at 2am when coincidentally I had to go to the bathroom. It was pitch black and the lights came back on all of a sudden. Other than that, breakfast was good and the place is actually kinda cool. Hear the monkeys during the day and night. A bit aways from anything and was a bit hard to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mitch from San Francisco

Really nice and friendly hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved it... beautiful place. A wee bit far out and VERY hard to find. The owners are very sweet and accommodating people. The view and and surrounding area are fabulous. The rooms are simple and comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great getaway

Posted Aug 13, 2013
My friend and I had stayed in the JW Marriott just a few days before for a work event and were very happy for the change to the Sabanero. With our own cabin, we loved having the view of the rolling green hills and the local cows right outside our door on the porch as well as feeling a bit secluded from the other guests. The common area was large with 2 pools and plenty of lawn chairs to relax on. While about 10 minutes out of Tamarindo, it was very easy to go to town or to other locations around the area and was a perfect spot to come 'home' to and enjoy some peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JCJ from Montreal

Unique and picturesque

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: The chalets, and the pool, plus Donald's traditional cooking
Cons: We were there in low season and the hotel was very quiet
Location: You definitely need a car to get the most out of staying here as the lodge is several miles from the nearest beach/town.
Very nice place indeed, with a great pool. If you like a full-service hotel this may not be the place for you, but if you want a unique, laid-back and picturesque place to stay then this is it. A must for an authentic Costa Rican experience. One note: a car is a must as the lodge is several miles inland from the main beaches and town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best place we've stayed this trip!

Posted Mar 25, 2013
We just spent 3 nights at el sabanero and fully enjoyed our stay! The lodge was located just far enough from tamarindo to feel out of the tourist bustle but close enough To go in for excursions or catch the sunset or for dinner. We were in tamarindo 20 years ago and couldn't believe how touristy it had become. we couldnt wait to get back to el sabanero. I would recommend the food there over the restaurants in tamarindo. The biggest treat at this location if u are willing to take an early morning walk is that you are likely to run into a family or two of howler monkeys. During our 3 day stay we found them at least 4-5 times and could hear them all through the night. The pool is awesome and we basically felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time even though there were other families there. I give this lodge my highest recommendation! Totally worth going out of the way for, especially if you tire quickly of the whole tourist trap scene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Salt Lake City, UT

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Clean, beautiful location, private and great price.
Location: Beautiful location that's very green! Great pool and hot tub.
It seems to be out of the way, but In our opinion this hotel was in a great location. It's about 20 minutes to Playa Avellanas and 25 minutes to Tamarindo. We spent our mornings & days surfing in Avellanas and our nights in Tamarindo. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping did an excellent job everyday. The grounds are beautiful with a nice pool. Your cabina feels very private. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but they weren't bad either. For the price we couldn't ask for more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok stay if the weather was better.

Posted Mar 17, 2013
too windy to sleep during the days i was there. breakfast included but not very good. nice pool. nice staff. road to the hotel is dirt road.