Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Oregon

A Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, lodge
Location: Beach, surfing, restaurants
We stayed here for four nights at the end of a three week trip with our four and seven year old boys. The cabinas are rustic, tasteful and spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The infinity pool offers sweeping views of the valley and has a generous shallow end, which our boys enjoyed. Harold, the proprietor, was welcoming and helpful. We heard Howler Monkeys at night. This place is a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This place is a PARADISE!

Posted May 26, 2015
El Sabanero is a gorgeous place surrounded by nature. Harold is fantastic and very accommodating and the staffs too. The place is so peaceful and relaxing and that's what we needed. I would recommend 100% to stay on this place. There are no enough words can describe El Sabanero and to Harold. We will be definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by THOMAS from NEW YORK

Will Visit Again!

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
RESORT: Excellent! Based on previous Trip Advisor reviews we were not disappointed. The manager, Harold, went above and beyond to meet our expectations. His staff was equally as courteous and friendly. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are well maintained. We felt safe and secure. This location is laid back, perfect for romantic couples and mature adults. If you are looking for a relaxing tranquil environment this location offers that type of ambiance. Families with young children may also find this location suitable because it’s subdued. The pool is just enough to wear them out and give parents plenty of quiet time at the end of the night. The rooms do not have micro waves. If you find yourself craving to heat up a left over snack or meal, the resort will allow you to utilize the micro wave in the main kitchen. However, you will have to do so before the resort kitchen closes which is usually around 8pm. FOOD: The food was excellent and prepared fresh each day. Typically, we ate breakfast at the resort with no complaints. Definitely plan on simplifying a few meal decisions and enjoy a few meals at the resort. It’s economical and tastes better than some of the places we ate at outside of the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Constanza from Concepción, Chile

Excelente!!

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
Fue una excelente experiencia en todos sus aspectos. El administrador del Hotel, un 7! Como el hotel queda a algunos kms de la ciudad (aprox 15 km creo) él se preocupó de llevarnos en su auto para que no tuviéramos que pedir un taxi. Cada vez que iba a salir, antes nos iba a avisar, como también a los otros huéspedes del hotel. Se preocupó de recomendarnos los mejores lugar para comer y salir. El hotel, un ambiente muy familiar y tranquilo, alejado de cualquier tipo de ruido que no sea animal. El desayuno muy bueno y la gente que trabaja ahí todos muy simpáticos. Lo recomiendo 100% si lo que buscan son unos días de tranquilidad y relajo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matias from Santiago

Una buena piscina cerca de playas maravillosas

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lo mejor de este hotel es su piscina, es grande y tiene una vista maravillosa al paisaje tipo sabana africana que caracteriza a esta zona del país. Lo peor son sus habitaciones, son pequeñas, mal iluminadas, con baños pequeños, con instalaciones algo precarias, y con mala ventilación. Con respecto a la ubicación se encuentra cerca de las playas más lindas de Costa Rica, pero es necesario andar en vehículo para llegar a ellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keeley from New Jersey

Santa Cruz

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great time! The lodge is located very close to Santa Cruz and Playa Tamarindo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Agréable séjour

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Accueil très agréable. Cadre magnifique, belle architecture de l'ensemble. Notre chambre était un peu bruyante mais nous avions été avertis avant la location, donc rien à dire. Patron très prévenant, disponible. Chambre agréable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

el paraiso

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
El lugar nos pardio increíble tranquil en medio de la naturaleza ...el servicio y cocina muy bueno y la playya cercana de avellanas un paraiso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Secluded hotel with beach close drive/bus journey

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: How secluded it was, there were howler monkeys nearby and an iguana that was on the roof of the hotel. It was so quiet at night too.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: There are several beaches a drive away, perfect for surfing, kayaking or just relaxing. We also did zip lining through the forest.
We stayed here at the end of August for 4 nights and had a great time. Harold looked after us. He booked us excursions and suggested day trips when we were unsure of what to do. We were so delighted with our stay! We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and we were both so happy with our meals. The continental breakfast that is included with your room was also amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful hotel, peaceful

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Unique experience in the mountains. Private cabin. Bus stop right down the hill, close to tamarindo. About 40 minutes from liberia airport. Supermarket 10 minutes away