Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Under renovation

Posted Feb 15, 2015
We stayed in an unrenovated room on the 1st floor. The corridor leading to our room was very dated with archways & glass bricks and a hospital smell, so we were apprehensive when we got to the door. Inside however the room was very pleasant and modernly furnished. Unfortunately the bathroom decor is decades old, the shower at shoulder height and it took both hands and my full body weight to press the toilet to flush! However we got a great discounted rate for the room so it was truly value for money. Plus, the bed was supremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Luckily we were already up when the jackhammers started up on the floor above. The hotel room rate includes a buffet breakfast (with a good choice of items such as scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals etc) and parking. Parking is an issue to be aware of; try to get there early. We arrived at 4pm and took one of the last spaces. Later we went out and returned at 8.30pm and there was a line up of cars circling the building looking for parking. We eventually parked on the street to the rear which has parking restrictions and by the time we looked out our window there were cars from hotel guests parked on the grass, in bus stops, anywhere & everywhere. Despite the negatives the overall experience was a good one and I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city but not worth staying

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The first problem is the car park. I was supposed to have free car park but then I could not find any car park place the staff told me that it is by priority which was not stated clearly at the time of reservation. The hotel is dated and very old TV from 80s and terrible shower facility. The room was smelling and the hotel was under renovation. These all should be stated at the time of reservation but nothing was clear. We had a good sleep but not a pleasant stay. I wouldn't stay anymore.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel to CBC

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Buffet Breakfast and Resturant great location , Hotel staff were very polite,friendly and helpful
Cons: Beds are due for renewal old as not comfortable at all !!
Location: Great location close to CBC
Hotel Staff were excellent, buffet breakfast great value for money,rooms very old but they are in the process of renovating definitely need to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newcastle area

lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: good value for money and very good service,the area is very nice and handy to most things.
Cons: nothing,great as is.
Location: good location,in walking distance to restruants,floriade and shopping
we were made most welcome when we arrived very friendly staff,our room was very nice king size bed,very clean and comfortable,a nice quiet area.breakfast was included and it was great everything you could want was on offer and you helped yourself to what you wanted.we have stayed there before and would stay there again,very good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kangaroo Island

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: We thought their bar and dining services were excellent our meals there were excellent.
Cons: I think they have that in hand
Location: The location was excellent but Canberra is not tourist friendly and it was hard to find the places we wanted to visit.
We found that the Hotel was under renovation and they put us in a room to be renovated which was sub standard and in a section that was under renovation so noise was an issue. We chose this hotel because it was close to the friend we were visiting who is very sick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wollongong NSW

Clean and comfortable beds

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and staff
Cons: Restaurant
Friendly staff on check in, clean and very comfortable bedding. The bathroom was very clean, recently upgraded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom barellan nsw

The bed was a little hard

Posted Jan 31, 2015
The bed was a little hard which caused the guy sleeping in it to snore which kept the guy in the next bed to stay await
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Z

Top notch hotel, highly recommend

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Central to the city, however far enough away to be nice and peaceful. We got a free upgrade to a fantastic brand new one bedroom apartment. Would recommend Rex Hotel to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to most or all attractions.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The hotel itself was nice, will be much better once all the upgrades are completed and the staff were always nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Staff. The foyer was pleasantly appointed. Short drive to Canberra attractions.
Cons: Currently under renovation so hoping room and hotel conditions will improve. Soy milk and gluten free options at breakfast please.
Location: Short drive to okay restaurants and things to do: NGA, Parliament, Arboretum, Telstra Tower, War Memorial.
Staff were lovely and very helpful. Hotel was close to everything and it was good to be able to park on site. Room was very small but ok, tv didn't work, and there was a musty smell. Could hear everything in the next room so privacy an issue. The decor overall is tired but currently undergoing renos so expect this will improve. Was not expensive and not 4 stars as rated on their site. Must reiterate staff were great.