Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth wa

Right in the heart of Canberra

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful Clean and comfortable The raspberry desert was do die for
Was able to walk to most attractions except the war memorial Canberra is so quiet and clean Beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet, well-located, character hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Quiet and comfortable rooms, friendly front of house staff, great location.
Cons: Restaurant and bar service, especially the attitudes of some staff.
The hotel is very well-located, near Parliament House, the National Gallery, portrait Gallery and National Library. It is an easy walk away from the waterfront restaurants of Kingston and the wonderful Bus Depot Markets. We were very pleased with our room, which was newly-refurbished, comfortable and very quiet. The smallish bathroom was well-appointed and finished, and had an excellent shower. The reception and front of house staff were very pleasant and cooperative. Unfortunately, the restaurant and bar staff let the side down. We had indifferent and disinterested service in the restaurant, except for one young woman who was engaging and attentive. Twice we encountered opinionated and smug bar and restaurant staff, one of whom went as far as to deride my choice of drinks. I would most definitely stay there again, but, in the absence of evidence that the restaurant and bar service had changed for the better, would choose to eat and drink elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Posted May 5, 2015
Great new facilities but mini bar under stocked and cleaners needed a little attention to detail. Good stay but could have been great...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Clean and modern daycore
Cons: parking
Location: a car is needed to get around
Enjoyed our stay but found parking requirs more space we parked on the road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to government offices

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Nice, spacious rooms.
Cons: My room was not always cleaned thoroughly, I often found my used towels as I left them.
Location: Several government offices nearby, restaurants are about 1-2Km away.
I stayed there for a week. The stay was quite pleasant. The room was large and comfortable. The staff was helpful. They do charge for Internet beyond the fist 100MB, if that's important to you (it was very important to me). I wold definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely refurbished hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Good coffee, nice decor
Cons: I do believe that the restaurant staff could improve their system of service.
Location: Canberra is a very spread out city so prepare to do a lot of walking if you dont have a car
I stayed at hotel Kurrajong for ANZAC day April 2015 in the Heritage room for 2 nights. The hotel is an old building that has been refurbished but still maintained its classic features. As i walked in the main foyer felt very cosy with a wood fire burning. The room was of a high standard of cleanliness with good quality amenities. The garden area out the back of the hotel is lovely in autmn with a mix of lavendar bushes, deciduous trees and a beautiful seating area around tables with inbuilt gas heaters. We tried to book for dinner on the night that we arrived but sadly it was fully booked. We did get to go to breakfast in the morning and although the food was pleasant it did take them 1.5 hours from order until our breakfast was brought out from then kitchen and this was after i had to enquire of its whereabouts. Lucky for us we werent in any rush. The staff serving in the restaurant have to sort out a better system of service as three times they came to our table with coffees that we never ordered and they would go from table to table asking whos coffees they were. My one other gripe is that despite having hung the Do not disturb sign on my door, housekeeping staff walked into the room on two occasions while i was sleeping. I was quite annoyed as i was trying to sleep before departure and work committments. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Very comfortable and convenient location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The room was very comfortable, the refurbishment is excellent and it is in a convenient location. We only had breakfast which we enjoyed.
Cons: Perhaps a choice of a buffet or continental breakfast; although we weren't required to pay it, the $15 per night car parking fee should be dropped.
Location: Excellent and close to Manuka and Kingston shops with a good choice of restaurants; although you need a car, most sights are within 5 minutes or so.
We enjoyed our stay and because of its excellent refurbishment, attentive staff and location, we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Great location close to attractions!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Really classy interior with a historic sense. Great cleanliness and comfort! Limited parking though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom qld

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Enjoyed thoroughly. Location very convenient as we could walk everywhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

A beautifully restored piece of history

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: It is stylish without being pretentious.
Cons: The shower was a bit grubby in one corner (looked like hair but I didn't look too closely) Apart from that, everything was very clean and fresh.
Location: The hotel is within walking or easy driving distance of most of the main attractions in Canberra.
We chose this hotel because it is near the restaurant where we were to celebrate a family birthday. Next time we stay in Canberra we'll choose it for itself. In a building steeped in history, it has been tastefully restored probably beyond its former glory. Many historical features have been preserved. Our room had all the modern conveniences, yet without the rather sterile quality that often accompanies a modern hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly, with none of the pretensions that unfortunately seem to be requisite in four star hotels. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on that aspect of the hotel.