Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tathra NSW

Grand old dame of Canberra

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Family gathering for a special birthday. 12 of us sat for high tea. It was brilliant. Staff so obliging, all requests met with efficiency and smiles. First room had noisy plumbing so we were moved to a quiet balcony room. An excellent two day stay. A gracious hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

A very nice experience

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The black marble bathroom was lovely, the rooms were a good size and the hotel has character that you don't get in a modern hotel.
Cons: Give the rooms more character and reduce the salt content of the food- or ask people if they have a salt preference when ordering.
We spent one night at the Hyatt for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful time, and the special rate we got through Expedia made it even better. The black marble bathroom was lovely, the rooms were a good size and the hotel has character that you don't get in a modern hotel. Only a couple of things would have made it better: the room was decorated in white and mushrooms and browns, a splash of colour would have zipped it up and made it feel less bland. The food was obviously very beautifully prepared and would have been perfect if the Chef had used less salt. I understand this is a personal preference and I should have thought to ask them to 'hold the salt' but we both woke with raging thirsts during the night- it was really salty. The staff were almost too nice- it's hard to believe someone can be that happy in their work! Anyway, despite those minor things we had a wonderful time and would recommend the hotel for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

excellent location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: More choices and extensive menus in the in-house restaurant.
Location: Very close to the city and lots of sightseeing opportunities nearby.
Everything was most professionally and personally handled. Staff made our stay welcoming and seamless. They were only too happy to do what they could to assist us in any way. Only criticism that we would have would be with the evening dinner staff (in the restaurant) who were either inexperienced or insufficient to the tasks that they were assigned. Otherwise an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent hotel close to major attractions

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The bathrooms are a standout. Bed very comfortable.
Cons: Slight glitch with a late checkout - the electronic key had been cancelled before the time was up so I could not access the room to retrieve my bags.
Location: National Gallery, High Court, both Parliament Houses and National Portrait Gallery are in walking range as is the Canberra CBD if the weather is fine.
Very comfortable haven close to the major galleries and Parliament making it possible to walk there and also enjoy walking by the lake. Having a wonderful bathroom and the pool / gym complex you can relax in comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by K Samuels

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Eden

Such a treat!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, d├ęcor, cleanliness.
Cons: We were happy with everything.
Location: As above - close to the city, lake and the many sights to see around Canberra.
Stayed just one night to attend a nearby wedding. The staff were very friendly and efficient and everyone smiled and greeted us. The hotel looked lovely and our room was spacious and clean. I wish we could have stayed longer! The grounds looked beautiful, especially with the autumn leaves in such amazing colours. It is such a good location - close to the lake, to the city and walking distance to the wedding reception at the Lobby. As we left in the morning, the man at the door wished me a happy mother's day - nice way to end a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from London

Very Nice Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Location: It's very near the Parliament Building, and within 10-15 minutes drive of all the major attractions.
I found this hotel pleasant. It's centrally located, the rooms were very nice, and the staff were generally very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Title of Review

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Please add a bit more to your review. Write about your experience. (required) 1490 characters
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Sydney

convenient to galleries

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: A very good standard,lovely facade.
Cons: New mattress.
Location: Very convenient for the galleries.Good walking distance.
The only complaint about the hotel is the mattress could be replaced with something better quality.We had room service and the dinner was very nice. The room service was very prompt.The staff are all very helpful and obviously well trained.All in all we had a very nice short stay and were very pleased with our choice of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sophie from Perth, WA

The hotel was excellent for a business stay.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was also very enjoyable.
Cons: The friendliness and level of attentiveness of the staff.
Location: The hotel gym was excellent, however it was necessary to get a taxi to all other options there are few options within walking distance.
The hotel was well situated and presented for a business customer. The recreational facilities in the gym are excellent and the food and rooms are first class. The staff were helpful, although in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in, the customer service skills of the reception staff were lacking. A friendly smile and courteous attitude on check in goes a very long way.