Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel handy to our needs

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We love a special Dinner in the Restaurant when we are there. You have all the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryborough Qld

A Hotel with Character

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: We loved the hotel's character and location
Cons: The room had a small fridge, but it was so jam-packed with purchasable mini-bar items that we couldn't fit our own few supplies in.
Location: See the Australian War Memorial and Parliament House, view the city from Mt Ainslie.
We stayed for 2 nights in Canberra, primarily to visit the Australian War Memorial, and chose the Mercure Canberra as it was located within easy walking distance of this site. We were not disappointed - in fact, we were very pleasantly surprised, particularly given the generous room rate we paid. Unlike most hotels, the Mercure is not a tall brick and glass monolith, but a building with character and a history dating back to the birth of Canberra itself. You can even read about it in the coffee table book they provide in the room. In the foyer you will find armchairs around a fireplace, and an old world charm that brings to mind times of greater elegance. The rooms themselves are modern, though the occasional creaking wooden floorboards beneath the carpets remind you that this building relied more on carpentry than cement laying in its construction. We were further pleased to discover that the Mercure Canberra is only a short walk to the central shopping centre of the city, and a very short drive to both the Mt Ainslie Lookout, definitely worth the trip, and Parliament House as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Verena from London

Large hotel in central location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: WIFI should be available in the hotel for free or for a lower fee. Overall, the hotel could benefit from some TLC.
Very friendly staff, plenty of parking. Best to book breakfast the night before for 18AUSD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from Edinburgh, UK

Nice hotel, but far from the city

Posted Jun 22, 2014
We selected this hotel because it was close to the war memorial, but I hadn't quite appreciated how far this was from anywhere else. The hotel was very pleasant though, and staff were mainly helpful. The safe in our room was broken and not fixed during our two night stay which was a bit frustrating, especially as we asked twice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Lovely place. Great staff mad good facilities very happy with all the items and the beds were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Between the Australian War Memorial and Town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Being on a budget visit to Canberra to do some self-funded research at the Australian War memorial, I chose this hotel principally for its location within walking distance of the AWM and the central city shopping. Arriving at midnight on a freezing night, I found the welcome warm and the check-in process efficient. In the room there was an interesting contrast between creaking floors of a heritage building and clean modern tiles of the bathroom. Throughout my stay staff were excellent. Mid winter weather discouraged evening excursions but the meals at the hotel were pleasant. My only gripe would be the absence of a shelf of any sort in the bathroom. I certainly would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: Before a guest books accommodation make them aware of the loud music at night then they can choose to book elsewhere. Organise the breakfast seating
1. When we booked for a place to sleep for 2 nights unfortunately it wasn't possible. There was loud music from the bar area which made it impossible to get a good night's sleep. 2. The breakfast room was very busy on Sunday morning and we were asked to wait outside until a table was ready. Other couples/groups turned up after us and were taken to tables before us. Not all staff members knew we were outside so it proved to be a very disorganised system. It would probably work better if there was a 'wait to be seated' sign or names taken and then guests could be seated in order of arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was close to all amenities.

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the city.
Location: Canberra Centre is only a short walk away for shopping, as well as having good restaurants and night life.
This hotel had friendly, well trained staff. The rooms are kept to a high standard of cleanliness, as is the rest of the hotel. The restaurant provided lovely breakfast and dinner, with a varied menu and wine list. This hotel was very close to all amenities, which is especially good for people like myself who comes from out of town.
2 out of 5
by Tara from Sydney, NSW

Convenient location, but that's about it

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Convenient location, but anywhere in Canberra is really. The stairwells and parking areas were dirty and had garbage laying around. Walls were thin with screaming children running down the hallways, while people had mobile conversations in the hallway. The room, while clean, accommodated two people, even though it is touted as a family room. Not enough bedding for the sofa bed, nor kitchen equiped for more than two people. Staff were grumpy. No free wifi, which is a joke, considering campgrounds offer free wifi nowadays and charging $30 a day for it is outrageous given what they are already charging for the hotel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Suzanne from Sydney

Old World charmer in the centre of City

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The room was large room and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: The view from the small balcony was water tank - not pretty........
Location: Shopping, restaurants, War Memorial .
The convenience of the bar, bistro etc and plenty of free parking helped make this a very enjoyable and convenient stay. Location is within a comfortable walking distance (weather permitting) to restaurants and shopping precinct.