Ratings based on 987 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel location, catering.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Car broken into. No cctv. Neighbourhood poor and bar / bistro attracted a dodgy clientele. Therefore nowhere satisfacory to eat as restaurant was CLOSED (it was Sun / Mon when we stayed.). However the staff were very friendly & helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Good location

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Included breakfast which was good choice and quality.
Cons: Bit jaded could do with a refresh.
Location: Easy walk to big shopping mall and shops. Museum also walk able. Easy access to all Canberra has to offer.
Small room, no view except air con systems. Noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Great location, nice room, loft room great for a family. Nice breakfast, awesome room service food, only complaint would be that the air cons were very loud, and it was hot in the room without them on. But would definitely recommend and we will return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not my favourite visit to the Mecure

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Staff and love the heritage building
Cons: Cleaning, odors in entrance and in rooms
The staff were excellent and helpful. The rooms were disappointing, cobwebs, dirt, urine smells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice accommodation, close to everything.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and quiet and close to everything. Breakfast was Top-notch.
Cons: The room staff should check that the alarm clocks are not set by previous guests to go off in the middle of the night(as happened to us). Biscuits?
Location: Central and close to everything of importance in Canberra to visit.
Pleasant Trip away from the kids. Visited Tourist attractions such as War Memorial came back to hotel and relaxed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great amenities.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location and décor.
Cons: More soap.
Location: Close to shopping centre and War Memorial
Enjoyed our stay, great location close to shops and War Memorial. All in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

very quaint hotel, close to all sightseeing events

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: It was lovely walking around the grounds of the Mercure. Easy parking close to the room. Lovely outlook from the restaurant.
Cons: No complaints about this hotel.
Location: Excellent location, close to War Memorial, Parliament house, Lake Burley Griffin, Telstra Tower.........all of the events we came to see.
We received a room upgrade on arrival, nice surprise. Efficient staff. Loved spending time in the beer garden/bistro. Comfortable room, bed, bathroom, all top class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, within minutes to CBD

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Nice hotel, within minutes to CBD , just a short walk to the War Memorial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singleton NSW

A very pleasant surprise.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Price, grounds, large rooms, professional service, hotel prices, peace and quiet, ample on-site parking, its history as part of the early Canberra.
Cons: Our room initially needed a good airing. There may be a problem with dampness. The TV data feed froze several times. Staff quickly restored it.
Location: Close to central Canberra, so there is plenty to see and do. The hotel and bistro offer cheap on-site alternatives to heading outside for meals.
We have been regular visitors to Canberra 2 to 3 times per year for well over a decade. There are many other good places to stay there, but this is the best we have found and by a long way. The core building goes way back to 1927, when the government needed staff accommodation for the "bush capital". It has since changed hands several times and grown to its current form, which is a hotel, bottle shop (both unobtrusive and quiet), restaurant and large hotel. Particularly pleasant grounds include a huge interior courtyard, perimeter gardens and even a fountain and a couple of giant fish tanks with huge Koy carp. Parking is easy, reception is professional and made simple by great staff. It certainly earns its 4 stars. To find such a well-appointed facility close to town but psychologically in a world of its own was a great delight for us and our party. If I was to complain about anything, it would be the slightly musty smell of the room when we arrived - the buildings are quite old, so perhaps there is a slight dampness problem, however by alternating natural ventilation and air conditioning to dehumidify the air, this issue was resolved within 24 hours. Breakfasts were of a common style to establishments at this price point, with the added pleasure of better than average coffee and a choice of tables both inside and on the patio, most with calming outlook and a degree of privacy. We have been happy with other Canberran establishments., This was cheaper and better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Great hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort
Location: Shopping
We have 2 kids and it's only 750 metres to a huge shopping mall.