Ratings based on 1,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

I rate this hotel 3 1/2 stars

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
Location: no commwnt
Room facilities were minimal no tissues only 1 bedside light and bedside table beside double bed, no heating in bathroom ( - 2.5 degrees overnight!). The worst dining room of any hotel I have stayed at, couldn't rate the service there was none, we waited 40 minutes .before they brought our drinks and then we had to ask for them, the service was very slow. Food was OK. The problem was untrained staff. Also it is very unfriendly of you to send me emails in the middle of the night, you woke me up. I have been looking up accommodation near Cairns for a months stay, I have some unusual requirements as I am on dialysis and there is no provision on your website to make inquiries regarding this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

the best ever

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: the room and the staff could not have been better
Cons: no
Location: The motel was just were we wanted to be.
We have stayed in many hotels this one is right up there. We got a upgrade and made our weekend in Canberra perfect.Thank again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff are very rude

Posted May 9, 2015
Staff are very rude specially in the reception area..i was asking for an invoice but they did not give me one,instead of explaining why they just ignore me and treat me like an ignorant
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Patina, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to read your feedback regarding our staff. We usually get great feedback on our customer service, so I will certainly follow up with the team to find out what went wrong. Again my sincerest apologies. Patina Farnham General Manager Mercure Canberra
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Comfortable Heritage Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Well-kept charming heritage building with modern amenities.
Location: 10 minute stroll to the Canberra Centre.
Clean, comfortable and convenient. Charming heritage hotel close to the Civic Centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: surfed the net.
Cons: Room needs a make over.
Location: Location good. but Canberra is easy to get around.
bed was comfortable. Breakfast was below par. room was small. shower was very small. have stayed here before but not sure would stay again. evertwhere I have stayed overseas wifi is free. Big disadvantage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom qld

6 days in Canberra for convention

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: Exterior requires a bit of a facelift.
Location: War memorial, city centre, casino, convention centre. Easy drive around the environs. Black mountain and Mt Ainslie a must.
Able to walk to convention centre--15 mins. Free parking. Room was spacious. Restaurant and bar in hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel location, catering.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Car broken into. No cctv. Neighbourhood poor and bar / bistro attracted a dodgy clientele. Therefore nowhere satisfacory to eat as restaurant was CLOSED (it was Sun / Mon when we stayed.). However the staff were very friendly & helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michaelfrom Nicosia

Not too shabby

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Okay hotel, close to the war memorial but not too close to anything else. Of course Canberra is relatively small, I literally walked most of it in a day. Building in an old classical one with all that comes with it. Relatively clean with plenty of parking, internet daily limit of 30 minutes though reminds me of a previous decade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pirjo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by Leon Weatherstonefrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Huge rooms
Location: Outstanding, Australia
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Fantastic; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless; Very close to Canberra Centre