Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

nice and central

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: the price and service
Cons: nothing
Location: right in the middle of Canberra, close to main attractions
the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Novotel Canberra

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Generally helpful staff, although nobody could give directions on how to get around and where to go sightseeing etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as good as the rating suggests

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The hotel staff were polite enough but wasn't impressed by the fact I had to wait to be served. Serving other people in front of me not once but twice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Eugene, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to review with the team regarding not being served in a timely fashion. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the centre of Canberra.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The hotel was clean, comfortable and close to restaurants and shops. The war memorial was an easy 30 minute walk, with old and new parliament houses 20 minutes from that. The late check-out was much appreciated whilst on holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Eugene, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found time to enjoy the War Memorial. It is certainly worth a visit. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, very clean

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The food and customer service.
Cons: If there are popular items on the menu to hvae more of it so it doesn't run out.
Location: The location was great very central to everything.
The restaurant menu was great but ran out of all the options that I wanted to order. The rooms were very clean and nice to stay in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, central location.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Loacation.
Cons: Free wifi and parking.
Location: Central city location close to major shopping centre and many restaurants.
Nice clean hotel room, wifi and parking extra and expensive, parking is limited and difficult but staff in car park are fantastic, unfortunately same cannot be said for 2 reception staff at check in and subsequent 2 days who were unfriendly and seemed bothered when we had to continually have our key reset to work in the lifts and did not explain parking system very well at check in and not one smile from either in 3 days. Opinion slightly changed when new reception staff took over and again parking staff were amazing in a difficult role. Great location and close to places to eat and attractions. Glad we only paid a discounted rate though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Eugene, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Novotel Canberra. I will share your review with our reception team and use this as a coachable moment to ensure we are providing the level of service we expect. Thank you for brining to my attention. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Good central location but minuses

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the airconditioning sound
Location: Location good to catch bus to the Art Gallery and to walk down to the major shops
We stayed one night at the Novotel. Very good location central to Civic and the bus stations. But the bathroom was not cleaned properly - it had another person's hair ball on the floor. Also there is a weird tinny noise coming from the air conditioning all night - I am a light sleeper and found it hard to sleep. Would stay again because of convenient location but may not that particular room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Eugene, Hotel Management
Dear D, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will share your review with our Housekeeping team to ensure there is no hair in the bathroom. I apologise for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Canberra. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Cental location, clean room facilities and pleasant staff
Cons: Appreciate that Summernats probably stretched the motel staff at this time. Breakfast was a non event for us and the valet parking was stretched
Location: Central location to Canberra CBD and Shopping Mall. Easy road access to leave the CBD
We arrived on 1/1/2015 unbenown it was at Summernats time. This was not detrimental to our stay however it did have an impact on hotel staff capability eg restaurant bookings, breakfast capacity and carpark departure. Overall the condition of the motel was modern, room conditions clean, tidy and roomy. In room services were adequate, in addition. A pleasant stay overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The hotel is less then a block away from the bus interchange and next door to the intercity bus station. So, if you don't know Canberra at all, it is the place to start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great hotel for families

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Location: Fantastic city location - close to everything.
The pool area was set up for swimmers and non-swimmers to enjoy alike with plenty of deck chairs to relax in and natural light. The continental breakfast was delicious! Children were obviously welcome throughout the hotel!