Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

very nice and comfortable

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, faculties, tidy
Location: went for business purpose, nice dinning experience in the area
very friendly and helpful staff, nice central heating in extreme chill of Canberra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Convenient hotel for city

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Its 4 star so there should be luxuries in the room
The Pavilion is a reasonable hotel and convenient for most things in Canberra. Im not sure where the 4 stars comes from as, although the room was comfortably and clean, there were no dressing gowns, slippers or mini bar unless you called reception for it. The parking was good and, even though the main restaurant area was under reconstruction, the temporary restaurant/bar was very good, reasonably priced and the service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Hotel In Canberra

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Nice Hotel, quick service, nice rooms, good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

close to city centre

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: bathrooms and cleanliness of cutlery and crockery in dining room
Location: Was down for a rugby union match
Have stayed at the Pavilion many times over the years and it is starting to get quite dated. The bath rooms especially need a lot of updating. On both days at breakfast I was disappointed that the cutlery was not very clean, which is very off putting. I made my disappointment known to the checkout staff when booking out. While I will stay in the near future, unless it is updated OR the tariff is lowered, I will start to look at other venues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hey, its a place to sleep!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Room rates; quiet ambience.
Cons: Room decor is a little dated; room maintenance (e.g.: the dripping toilet) should have spotted that.
Good Points: Great staff, easy to deal with. Got a great rate on the room. Had a great night's sleep. Bad things: The hotel is undergoing major renovations at the moment which might explain the great rates. We also had a couple of little issues in the room: the tv remote was almost dead (batteries) so it was very difficult to change stations. Also the toilet in the room kept leaking water into the bowl (at a furious rate), so to get any sleep we had to turn the toilet tap off during the night. Those were very minor things though. For us, the great rates and the excellent sleep were what we were there for. We got that - it delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Hotel. Just not right now

Posted Jul 25, 2014
The hotel was super nice with a clean modern room and very friendly staff. Everything was prompt and attentive. The only problem is they are undergoing renovations right now and the work starts at 7.30am good luck having a sleep in with that. Otherwise I would highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

excellent hotel near canberra centre

Posted Jul 22, 2014
excellent hotel near canberra centre and dickson shopping centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Hotel under renovation. Limited dining and breakfast facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Locality and facilities

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Locality we could have walked to the centre of city if needed
Cons: Staff were not at all open when we booked in information from them was very limited no info offered we saw newspapers on desk and they weren't offered
Very disappointed the restaurant was not operational, would have appreciated knowing this after we had booked. We did go into the temporary restaurant but was met by staff who told us room was not open and only breakfast option was continental cornflakes etc for $ 15.00 which we thought was expensive. - not even a decent coffee facility which must have been in the former restaurant. I had planned to have breakfast with family we had two rooms before meeting up with other resident family so we had to alter our plans.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much to improve

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Canberra. plenty to do.
Staff efficient but cold, not warmly receiving. No help with luggage, just a DIY trolley. Felt like a nuisance when we arrived, not a guest. Possibly due to shortage of staff. We were given no notice that the hotel was under renovation of the atrium. Dust everywhere. Offered accommodation in other part of hotel at premium $40 p n . Rejected on principle. No heating of central ground floor area evident in Canberra's cold winter due to huge atrium space. Came back to cold room because housekeeping turned a/c heating off when they made beds. However continental breakfast was generous and satisfying. Attentive staff and manager. Espresso coffee is good addition, but maker needs tuition in how to produce a good coffee, esp remove all previous grounds.