Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Nice hotel! Great staff!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Had fun in Cancun and this Hotel offers everything you just needed to have a ood vacation!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff was very rude at the front desk.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The food was ok not great and the beach was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curaçao

Hotel agradable cerca de la playa con buen ambient

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Acogedor ambiente en el lobby. Cercanía a la playa. Habitaciones amplias i cómodas. Personal amable, sumamente atento y servicial.
Cons: La comida podría tener mas variabilidad.
Location: En los alrededores no hay mucho. Pero a relativamente poca distancia hay una infinidad de opciones de restaurantes i discotecas
Por no tener cupo en el Moon Palace Cancún por la noche del 25 de junio, nos vimos obligados a localizar un hotel en la zona hotelera de Cancún que nos ofreciera dos cosas : tener la modalidad de todo incluído i ademas cercanía a la playa. Podemos concluir que el Barceló Costa Cancún ampliamente cumnple con ambos requerimientos. Fuimos gratamente sorprendidos y si cualquier dia yo regresara a Cancún estoy seguro que incluiría el Barceló Costa Cancún entre las opciones a considerar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good small resort

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Pool open till 10 pm, you can watch shows, swimming in the pool. Guard on duty by the pool, and on the beach. City transport across the street.
Cons: Horrible pillows: lumpy, very rigid. ALL calls from room have charges, including local. Hard to get the a-la-carte reservation(we never were able to)
Location: We went on diving trips.Did not have much time for other activities.
We usually go to Riviera Maya, bigger hotels(like Grand Bahia)- it's very different. Some people may not like the feel of the small resort. . Some complained about tiny beach area. Yes, it's not big, but water is clear most of the time( mid/ end of June), you can swim and see some fish. The best beach area I experienced- lots of chairs under palms. Bar on the beach is opened till people are there. In most resorts we were before bar on the beach would be closed at 5-6pm. The current is getting quite strong by the end of the day. Guard is almost always is present, and asks people to get out of the ocean when it's getting dark. We emailed to hotel asking for upper floor room, and were placed in 633( buildings have 6-7 stories). We had a very basic room with the tiny balcony. No complains- room with 2 double( more like full size) beds: comfortable enough. Bathrobes provided. I did see review where people complained about horrible view: there could be some rooms facing building next to the hotel. Our room was facing interior yard of the hotel with some ocean view (we were able to watch Captain Hook battles). Bus stop is just outside of the hotel. Pharmacy (24 hr) with the free doctor service is just across the street, about 5 min walk. I find this hotel very comfortable for families with kids.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Bad experience

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I had a terrible experience at this hotel :( I will never go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Nice hotel right by the beach!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: How close it was to everything! The beach, the pools, the night life was like 10 mins away, the ferry for the Island was right next to us!
Cons: The wifi and drinks!
Location: Loved the location! Definitely visit Isla Mujeres, where you purchase your tickets is literally right next to the resort :)
The resort was beautiful, it was right by the beach and everything was pretty close from the room. The staff was amazing! They were always making sure that we were good as well as making sure we were having a good time. The only cons is the wifi, my friend had purchased it and it barely worked!! It only worked at the pool and the lobby which is not ideal! It should work everywhere! and another con was the drinks, it was all inclusive but the alcoholic drinks could be better, they basically all had the same taste! but other than that great resort! :) loved cancun!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madrid, Spain

Calidad/precio Buena.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: La comodidad y la gran variedad de comida bien preparada que habia.
Cons: Por su localizacion, es dificil mejorar el tema de la playa
Location: Buen ambiente nocturne el dia que salimos a CocoBongo
Aunque la calidad/Precio haya sido muy buena y la comida tambien, la zona de playa del hotel era demasiado pequena. Parecia una piscina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Beautiful hotel, private beach!!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: THE FOOD... i think becuase its not a big hotel or huge hotel they always have a very tasty food.
Cons: The internet for guest.
Location: The location is perfect, 5 mins away from downtown and ferry next door.
All the staff is wonderful, the food is amazing and even more the specialty restaurants, spoke to a chef to congrats him because of the food, and surprise surprise...we got the chef specialty dessert. I totally recommend this All Inclusive hotel to stay for more than 5 nights and be disconnected from job life, the only only bad thing about is the internet, you must pay for your wi-fi even in these days that its almost for free all over the world, so that is the reason i'm not giving 5 stars. Beside that I will definitely come back, hopefully soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Barceló Costa Cancún Management Assistant , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting a review. We really appreciate your time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others on Expedia. Thank you for your compliments regarding the food. Kind regards, Claudia Garrido Management Assistant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
The staff members were not friendly and they are very disorganized. The food wasn't that good and the Mexican restaurant was disappointing! In order to make reservations for certain restaurants you had to make the reservations by 7am. I would try another hotel next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Barceló Costa Cancún Management Assistant , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Barceló Costa Cancún thanks you for leaving your stay feedback; it helps us improve our services. I wanted to offer my apologies for your experience with us. I have discussed your concerns with the appropriate employees, and I can assure you that these issues won't occur again. Kind regards, Claudia Garrido Management Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Nice and small resort.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Food and entertainment was enjoyable
Location: Right next to a boat that will bring you to Isla Mujeres
No need to walk far, because all the restaurants were close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Barceló Costa Cancún Management Assistant , Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Claudia Garrido Management Assistant