Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Amazing experience

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Had such a good holiday, staff are so friendly always wanting to help. The bar staff at the beach bar are significantly spectacular, best holiday I've been on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

Very enjoyable, smaller resort, right on the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The service was excellent. The food and restaurants were great. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Waiters were awesome.
Cons: Air conditioning was not working 100% in the room and led to some stuffy nights. Take out food on the beach would have been a plus at lunch time.
Location: I loved the location part way along hotel zone and right beside the ferry to Isla Mujeres, which we took over. I loved the boating activity.
Barcelo Costa Cancun was a delightful all-inclusive place to stay in an excellent location in the hotel zone of Cancun. I enjoy smaller hotels that are easy to get around in. It was a nice size and I loved being on the 2nd floor with an ocean view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Decent medium size hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The staff were very friendly and the food was good, especially at the Mexico Lindo restaurant. The beach is small and hard to swim in because it's close to the canal that links the ocean with the lagoon. There are lots of chairs in the shade and the sun, you definitely didn't need to get downstairs at the crack of dawn to reserve one. The evening entertainment was not generally family friendly and it was quite loud, but we didn't mind too much. We did have to send the kids' drinks back quite often because the bartenders had a hard time with the virgin/no alcohol concept! Get a room with a hammock on the balcony - it's worth it! We were asked once about a time share presentation and not again after that, definitely no hassle or pressure. Overall not the greatest hotel we've been to and the beach is nicer in the hotel zone, but we liked the more intimate atmosphere compared to some of the mega-resorts we've stayed at in the past.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rockville, MD

Overall a good experience

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, and the beach.
Cons: The wi-fi stinks. For something that slow, they should not charge $12 a day.
Location: El Embarcadero is right next door. You can catch the ferry to Isla Mujeres from there. We also did a helicopter tour from there. Very cool!
The Barcelo Costa Cancun is a nice resort. It's small, but I chose if for that reason because my husband was on crutches during our trip and I thought a small resort would be easier on him. Our room was nice, comfortable, and clean. It had a nice view, but it was over the kitchen of one of the restaurants so we heard clanking dishes a lot. They offered other rooms, but none was better than what we already had, so we dealt with the clanking. For the most part the staff was very friendly and helpful; the bartenders and wait staff were excellent. The beach and pool areas were nice and kept clean. There is some wait staff in the pool and beach areas, but for the most part you need to go get your own drinks, which I didn't mind. There are four restaurants and we tried them all. My husband and I thought the best restaurant was Don Quixote/La Claravoya, which is basically two restaurants combined. Most of the restaurants offer buffets for breakfast and lunch and one offers a buffet for dinner as well, but for the others you must have a reservation for dinner. You have to go to the concierge and make a reservation every morning if you want to eat a non-buffet dinner that night, and they fill up pretty quickly. Kind of annoying that you have to do that, but it certainly didn't ruin our trip. Although Barcelo is all inclusive, they charge for "extras" like lobster, bottles of wine, and wi-fi. The wi-fi is slow and not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

All ladies holiday at all inclusive

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Everything! Love that it is a boutique hotel which we found a bit more personable.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: It's at the 4.5 km marker so it's a little further away from the central hotel zone, however, it is nice and quiet which we like.
We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, staff, food and the whole resort in general. The resort is very handy for the bus and if you wish to take a ferry ride to Isla Mujueres. We were totally spoiled with the wonderful array of food which was readily available and the servers couldn't do enough for you. The beach was absolutely wonderful, with lots of palm trees for shade, not to mention a great beach bar. The entertainment at night was lovely as well and we even had a couple of nights where vendors came and set up which was pretty cool. All in all we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this place. We would definitely come back to be spoiled and pampered (they have a great spa as well). They stocked the mini fridge bar daily as well which was wonderful. We couldn't really have asked for much more. Thank you Barceló, we love you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Excellent Staff!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The staff was excellent. They followed up with us daily about the condition of our room and seeing if we needed anything else. The bartenders are exceptional especially Raul and Daniel! However, the bars closed very early (all by midnight). I would have liked for these to stay open later. The nightly entertainment also had some room for improvement. Very nice pool and beach area but I was not a fan of the music by the pool. Good value for the price. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey

Buena estadia en Cancun

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Nos hospedamos para el festivo del 02 de febrero con mi esposa. En general es un buen hotel, bien ubicado, buenas instalaciones, la variedad de la comida y de los licores nos gustaron. Es un hotel no muy grande pero ofrece todo lo que necesitas para un fin de semana de descanso. El personal muy atento desde el ingreso hasta el ultimo minuto que estuvimos hospedados. Definitivamente volveremos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Aurora, NY

Happiest workers

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: The people, the extra service they provide, close to everything without having to walk all over the place.
Cons: The managers could be more friendly(like Omar). Iced tea should be available. I think they should have the mexican liquors available to the guests.
Location: Public transportation can take you anywhere you want to go. The ferry is right there to take you to Isla Mujeres. Other beaches are available to go to
Best people in Cancun, I have stayed at other several hotels in Cancun and always come back to this Barcelo in Cancun, I have stayed here 12 times and they always remember me, This is my home away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island, USA

Great hotel right at the beach!!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: I liked the most the view to the ocean, we were in an ocean front room (and close to the bar also!!). The shows for entertainment were pretty good.
Cons: Yes, could be improved the food in one of the three restaurants, specifically the "claraboya" restaurant.
Location: The hotel is very well located, I mean close to the downtown Cancun an nearby shopping and market areas. You just need to take a 5-10 min bus.
The transportation to and from the airport was very smooth and right on time. The check in an out also was smooth.The room very confy and clean, the view is AWSOME, we were in an ocean front room. The shows for night entertainment were pretty good and days activities excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Hotel was clean good shows the food was excellent I felt a rating of 3.9 didn't do this hotel justice