Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Wonderful spring break

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Beautiful views, attentive and friendly staff, variety of activities and events
Location: Mexican marketplace, restaurants, shopping, nightlife
We had a wonderful vacation to Barcelo Costa. The resort was clean, the staff were friendly and the entertainment staff did a wonderful job. The pool and beach were well maintained and there were always plenty of chairs available. WiFi is available for purchase and the staff gives you a coupon book upon checkin that has discounts available on wifi. You can also pick up free wifi on the beach from other nearby resorts. The restaurants all had good food with a wide selection, and the Mexican restaurant was by far the best. Make reservations early in the morning as they fill up fast! The rooms were a perfect size although the bathrooms are small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
It was really bad and staff was rude. I wouldn't go back here they charged money for every little thing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new Lenox, IL

Fun time. Little language barrier with housekeepi

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Only thing I didn't like was having to make dinner reservations between 7:00 am and 8:30 am for that evening or they were completely booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom ATL, GA

Fun time for spring break

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Everyone was very friendly, the food was pretty good and the beach is beautiful
Cons: The bar service was pretty mediocre
Location: There is a very convenient bus that runs to all the bars and it only costs $1. If not, there is a show at the hotel every night that is good.
This hotel was great for what we were looking for - a few days to lay on the beach, get some sun and not worry about buying food and drinks. There were a lot of spring breakers, but also a nice variety of international guests. Not many families - I wouldnt advise bringing small children here.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands, UK

Super staff - noisy, drunk, ignorant clients

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Room, staff, food and drink. Friendly feel to the place, everyone wantd to be helpful.
Cons: Spa treatments expensive. Appalling that wifi was so expensive, could at least be free in public areas. Need better policing of large groups.
Location: On the end of the "hotel strip". Limited beach because of major boating channel, but meant easy access to boat trips and ferry. Good local bus service
NIce hotel, a bit out of the centre of Cancun for night life and restaurants, but good cheap local bus service. Small beach crowded with sunbeds, activities on beach crammed into one corner. Room excellent in all aspects, food , drink, staff, and hotel pool, all very good. HOwever, the constabt attempts to keep the stmosphere alive all day by employed activaotrs was irritating at best, and noisy and intrusive at worst. Other half spent most og the holiday with iphone ear plugs in to block out teh constant loud music or microphone cheerleading. The second week was completely ruined by having crowds of college students spending the USA Spring Break getting sunburned and drunk, and increasingly loud, not going to bed until well after 2am one morning, and no-one slept till they did, and then them getting up early to go out on a trip and again waking half the hotel to announce the fact. As the title says, nice hotel, nice staff, shame about some of the customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Nice surprise

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Free public internet in the lobby and change that stupid restaurant reservation requirement.
Location: Right next to the Isla Mujeres Ferry terminal.
The hotel overall is very nice and reasonably well maintained. The hotel staff are very pleasant and always eager to help you. Individuals who excelled were Daniel at any bar he was working, Manuel at the 2nd floor snack bar, and Enrique at the lobby bar. We had a great time just relaxing and meeting people. Be careful what you wish for unless your an early riser, we had a room facing the pool on the 5th floor with a beautiful view. So every morning about 9am the entertainment staff started the music and calls for activity participants, it sounded like they were on our balcony. The food was reasonably good at the buffets, we cannot comment on the three resturaunts requiring reservations because we could never get a reservation even though they were nearly empty over half of every night. By 10am every day there were no reservations left and you can only make them for that day, really stupid when you think about it. Then there was the WIFI, more accurately was the complete lack of. There is no free public wifi avail. in the lobby. So when I paid 25,00 usd for 2 days of it I expected to use it in my room or by the pool, the internet is so poor you cannot connect any where except the lobby. So be forewarned before you purchase it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manitoba Canada

Great location right on the beach. Food was great

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Not much walking for where you need to go. Right on the beach and close to water. Pools were very nice and everything close by.
Cons: Perhaps a longer show in evening or another form of entertainment.
Location: Location was great but we didn't leave the resort as was only there for two nights.
Only stayed two nights but worth it. Great room and on the beach. Entertainment in evening for a short period but nothing to do after 9 pm except the bar. Very relaxing tho if you want that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom omaha, ne

Good location, food on occation not so good

Posted Mar 8, 2015
It is a smaller hotel in a good location and swimable beach and nice pool. Biggest drawbacks were the wifi which wasn't very good even though you had to pay for the service, the food on a couple of nights wasn't very good. The service employees in the restaurant and bars were exceptional. Overall for the price a good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texaa

Nice hotel for the beach and pool lover

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Good hotel, but outdated. Not a lot of party opportunities, but plenty of laid back activity. Can jump on ferry to Isla Mujeres or pirate ship booze cruise. All the restaurants are in one area, but wait staff is extremely attentive and polite. The spa was amazing and well priced. Beach is calm and relaxing but would be awesome to have waitstaff to bring the drinks to your chair. Would totally give 5 stars if not for a couple things. They need to spend some money investing in new mattresses and sheets. Shower is huge but tiny showerhead makes it hard to get under. Patio chairs were plastic and hard, but the hammock was a nice touch! Just small updates/polishing in room would make it a stellar place that would have me running back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great view

Posted Mar 6, 2015
This is a very clean and friendly place to stay. Rooms were large, view was great, and staff was very friendly. This is a small resort and I would not call it luxury but it was very clean and we had a nice relaxing stay. The resort is small so if you're looking for a large luxury hotel, this is not the one for you. If you're looking for a nice relaxing place to stay this is awesome! We enjoyed it!