Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break 2014

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and wanted to make the stay very comfortable.
Cons: The smell in the bathrooms- maybe it was the drains but the bathrooms smelled of fresh sewage the entire time.
Location: The location is prime- two malls within in walking distance and plenty of food to choose from. Anything is within walking distance.
Went looking for the typical spring break experience and found it. The staff was very friendly and outgoing. Plenty of drinks and food available all of the time. The only drawback was the closing of the bars earlier than posted each night. Went to the clubs once and had a great time. The expedition to the cenotes is definitely worth another trip. I cannot say how exhilarating the jumps in the open swimming holes was. Overall the trip was incredible and would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Other Barcelo hotels are better

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Rooms do not seem to be well maintained. Ac failed. Slow check-in. Minibar inside room not refilled. Water not available in room. Balcony door would not work. Hot water not available. Hotel responded to all these issues with the room but I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel zone location, fun activities

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Wonderful location, fun activities but not amazing. Hotel staff were really nice. Food was ok but I wouldn't say I looked forward to the next meal. Drinks were ok but either really sweet or not very strong. Overall great value especially if traveling with a family, I'd say 3/5 but if you want really good food and alcohol go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Buffalo, NY

Yearly Vacation

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Been going here for past 6 years. Clean and comfortable rooms with a beautiful ocean view. Good food and entertainment. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abraham from Chicago

Nice hotel with beautiful beach.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: location, food and room cleaniness.
Cons: More staff available at the front desk, specially during the morning and evening.
Great location, very good food, perfect room cleaniness. Very few Desk staff therefore, long lines and waiting time for everything during the day. Night Shows at the theater were low in quality, compared to most of the activities you can find around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The food was very bad every day for lunch burger

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Food
Location: Nthing
More choices to eat at buffet lunch or dinner. Show at night was not good at all
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your constructive feedback as it enables us to improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may provide you with a best service. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Petra from USA (originally from Europe)

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Location. Our room (2004). Food. Beach&pools.
Cons: About 20% of the stuff should be thought how to behave or they should be fired (unfriendly, lazy & ignorant). Fortunately there was very nice ones too
This is a nice hotel located on the beautiful beach behind a mall, pretty close to all the happening. We were really lucky with our room, just loved it - it had huge deck instead of a balcony (we did not even pay extra for it) with ocean view and was located in a quiet part of the hotel. We also liked the food, there was a lot to choose from. The stuff was mostly very friendly, but unfortunately there were a few very lazy exceptions (not all the people work with same enthusiasm, just like anywhere else).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs a hot tub

Posted Feb 25, 2014
I loved the fact that the hotel was right on the beach. Everything was clean and the three pools were a nice option. Check in took a little longer that I thought but I think the hotel was almost at capacity. As a Minnesotan, I would recommend them adding a hot tub or two to the facility. We love sitting by the hot tub with a drink in the evening.
1 out of 5
by JRad from Alberta

There are way better hotels to stay at

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The hotel is completely below average when compared to other resorts that we have stayed at. The food is mediocre with minimal options and there is not much offered in terms of hotel activities. They do not even have a gym. However, the worst part was when our trip was ruined on our last day before check out when the hotel sprung an extra person charge of $104 USD per night. There was no mention of this fee when the two of us checked in. The hotel staff wouldn't compromise with us even after they admitted making the mistake of not informing us at check in. After lots of stress and discussion Expedia helped us get the hotel to drop it to $30 extra per night as comparable to the rates online. I would not recommend staying at this resort.
1 out of 5
by Paul from los angeles ca

The worst place to stay at! Will ruin your trip!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
The worst hotel I ever stayed at, the staff is rude and completely unprofessional! The reception desk has lines of people on it at all times! Be prepared that checking in will take you 45 mins or more due to that reason. The Food deserves a separate article... It can be called an appetizers, but not the meal. All restraunts there have different names but "menu" is the same everywhere. Internet is big deal in this facility be prepares to pay $12usd per day, and it won't work in your room. Also be prepared to pay extra If you wanna use room safe for your belongings, you ll have to "rent" a key to the safe. The staff will not care about your simple needs or request they just dont care and it shows. So avoid this place at all costs, if you don't want to ruin your vacation