Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a very nice stay. I thought $200 deposit for keys and towels was excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

My favorite oasis

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, staff, cleanliness and simplicity.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: four blocks from town, AMAZING access to the main avenue, walking distance to the ferry, completely accessible.
I had the best time at na balaam. Something about it felt like home. This hotel is organically blended with the natural environment around it! The hammock on my balcony overlooking the pool was the most relaxing part of the evenings! The staff are completely friendly and truly care about their guests. I was a solo traveler and everyone at the hotel knew me by name and helped me in every way possible! This is NOT a party hotel, it is a relaxing retreat. The rooms don't have phones or televisions, but zazil the restaurant does. If you're looking for a loud, party, exciting hotel this is not for you... this is an oasis - a paradise IN paradise. I am a nursing school student and have a crazy life - I needed to get away from everything and everyone and this was my eden. Simple, classic, beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham nc

I was charged double for my room .

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: beautiful ocean
Cons: administration could be honest
My experience was ruined by the snippy attitude of the front desk administration. Every time we had to have a talk with these folks who were trying to double charge for our room, we had to make our way thru a throng of others complaining as well.
2 out of 5
by Kelly from Toronto, ON

Disappointing stay in Isla Mujeres

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Weather was nice.
Location: Isla Mujeras - rent a golf cart in order to explore the island. Great restaurant (albeit aimed at North American tourists) is the Soggy Peso.
We booked an ocean front room with two double beds. Arrived to find that we had a room facing the ocean (not really a view) with just one bed. Have been told that this is normal. The manager couldn't care less that we were two travelers who were not interested in sharing a bed, particularly one that small. Restaurant food horrible, bland, boring and pricey. Rooms look a heck of a lot nicer in pictures than in reality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & beech with poor service at restaurant

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The beech access.
Cons: Service at the bar and restaurant.
Location: Fun shopping.
Not getting a guarantee of the room and bed size can be a disappointing. The service at the restaurant and bar was poor, but the hotel house service was fine. It seemed like the personnel behind the bar could have helped the servers as they didn't appear to be doing anything to help.
2 out of 5
by Silvia from Virginia

Disappointing hotel!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The location of the hotel is great on the beach! The staff are unfriendly, they dont help you or make your stay nicer at all.... The breakfast is awful! Two cold toasts, couple of very small slices of fruits. coffee or tea. And if you decide to upgrade for other kind of breakfast they charge you more than the difference from the upgrade. I wouldnt stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views of the ocean.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Food was great.
Location: It's close to town so you can walk to bars and restaurants. The Fenix next door is a great restaurant and place to hang out as well.
I loved the location of the hotel, at the end of the island on the corner with views of both sides of the ocean. I wish we would have had a tv for the rainy day but not a big deal as we weren't in the room much of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Pa

Loved our stay

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Lovely grounds
Cons: Hot water in room. Heated pool. Coffee machhine access.
Location: Lots to do rent a golf cart and tour the Island, Quite beautiful on the ocean side, also liked watching the zip liners.
We had the all inc. pkg. We were plaining on eating out a few times but themeals were so good we ate there our 7 day stay. Our only complant was the lack of hot water in our room. It also would have been nice to have a coffee maker in room, or at least have a maker in lobby for early birds and late arrivals. Lots to do on Isle and the beach is lovely. The waiters at resturant for the most part were really good, Special thanks to Elvis, Russell and Romeo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by toni from iowa

loved isla and hotel na balam

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
a piece of paradise.