Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, awesome beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Loved the property, location, proximity to town. Didn't love the restaurant (food or staff). A better option for food and drinks is just around the corner on the beach at Fenix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

most beautiful beach location

Posted Mar 13, 2015
We love Na Balam and have stayed here before. It was disappointing that the restaurant has been sold and the service has declined some. The hot water was hit or miss and the AC didn't really work. We still love the location and Isla Mujeres but might look into other hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

the hotel has beautiful grounds & location.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Our plunge pool room was delightful and spacious! We were also very pleased with the restaurant Zel Ha., and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: The lack of hot water is unacceptable for this level of hotel, as are the rooms on the street side. With a little work they could be so nice too..
Location: it has an awesome location and the restaurants and shops are a short walk away. Rent a golf cart for a day or two to tour the rest of lovely Isla!
The management staff at the front desk is top notch. Ricarrdo, Sharon, & Sonja, did everything they could to relocate us from our terrible room on the street side that we were assigned upon arrival. It smelled musty, had mold on the bathroom walls, and torn screens that let many mosquitoes into the room. The furniture was very worn and sparse. It felt very dingy! I had read reviews, and didn't believe them, but it's all true. The rooms on the street side and the ones on the beach side are like staying in two different hotels!!! They need restoration and some serious TLC ! There is so much potential for these rooms! The reviews also referred several times to the lack of hot water. ALL so true. We NEVER had a hot shower and rarely had a luke warm one!! When asked about it they said they were having issues....well, how long does it take to fix this issue??!! Again, when you are paying a good amount of money at a resort, you expect and should have HOT water. UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!!! We did end up with a wonderful room on the beach side, for an additional amount a nite, it was lovely and very clean...still NO HOT WATER!!! The hotel has such beautiful grounds and beach front (best on island) which makes it more of a shame that they keep ignoring these obvious problems that are solvable. Because of the continued lack of hot water we will not return to this hotel, which is a sad thing!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Good location; horrible room! Needs upgrades.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Front desk needs to offer better customer service, housekeeping and bar/beach associates were great! Rooms are horribly decorated plus it has a feel like your in a warehouse. The location however is excellent. Plus! Electricity went out twice!! Very inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sejour agreable

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: situation , plage magnifique et proche centre ville a pied chambre spacieuse, propre personnel a l'accueil sympathique
Cons: petit dejeuner trop modeste, et personnel du restaurant peu accueillant plage et transat un peu bondés
Location: ville principale a coté a pied, sympa pour le soir
hotel bien situé, chambre vue mer tres bien, grande et bon confort personnel de l'hotel tres bien plage belle et agreable malgré beaucoup de monde et nombreux bateaux qui viennent jeter l'ancre juste devant bemol : eau chaude un peu aleatoire et petit dejeuner vraiment trop "mediocre" et leger pour ce bel hotel, personnel du restau debordé et pas très chaleureux malgré cela le restau est de qualité
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Uk

Poor value for money

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We had booked to stay for 5 days but stayed for 3. We had hot water for half a day. The restaurant staff constantly got orders wrong, or you didn't get anything. They were rude and showed no interest. The breakfast was an example of how to save money, cut costs. We were served 3 half slices of toast for 3 of us, If we asked for more we were charged. drinks and food are massively overpriced. Rooms are scruffy and tired. Building and decorating going on around us on the beach. The only highlight were the reception staff who were both fantastic, very friendly and helpful. We notified management that we had no hot water on the first day in the room, 3 days later it was rectified. do yourself a favour go else where.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Retreat Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The hotel is definitely a retreat center, especially if you're into yoga and meditation. There are no TV's in the room (at least not in ours), but that works even better as it forces to be outside more and experience the surroundings. The staff was great, and the premises (although they're being fixed right now) provide a soothing atmosphere. It's also a nice little hotel for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Location: Renting a vespa is a must! We had a blast riding around the island. You can also easily walk to town from the hotel. You'll have fun no matter what!
My boyfriend and I recently went on an adventure and explored Tulum & Isla Mujeres. We had wonderful experiences and Isla Mujeres was our last stop. I was really looking forward to the yoga classes. However, the teacher was out sick for the week. That is understandable but with no substitute/replacement teacher, I felt I missed out on one of the main reasons for booking a room. Also, our room was dark and musty. It looked absolutely nothing like the website's photos and was disappointing. We did not enjoy spending time in the room. The bed & sheets weren't comfy, the smell was unpleasant and the light was so dim I had to use a flashlight to read at night. Staff was adequate and nice enough but didn't leave the lasting impression that so many in Tulum had. I had also asked if the front desk if there was a snorkel spot that wasn't touristy and didn't require lifejackets, looking for some great insider tips...we were told the snorkel spots required lifejackets and didn't walk away with any helpful info. However, we soon found out ourselves that there are two great snorkeling spots on the island. One is more expensive and requires lifejackets, the other is less expensive and does not. Both are equally beautiful. Na Balam's beach was pretty and we enjoyed walking out in the shallow water. You don't get to swim out into any deep water here (it's roped off for boats) but it's still fun to relax in. Overall, it was just okay but not a place we'd return to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anthonyfrom Tucson

Isla Getaway Week

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel na balam is a superb hideaway on Isla de las Mujeres far from the Maddening Crowds of Cancun. Though the hotel is going through some some renovations it wasn't a problem for us. The front desk staff and room service folks were excellent helpful folks. The room is comfortable, I only wish there were maybe a little more lighting in the bathroom; location is awesome right on the beach. My only disappointment was the restaurant/beach wait staff service-which by the way not connected with the hotel, which was a bit odd at first. Food was great but wait staff is a tad bit disoriented and could use some training. Overall I would definitely be coming back here.