Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Townsend WA

Wonderful place

Posted May 15, 2015
We have seen Isla Mujeres change. Na balam has grown larger with more buildings. It used to be an even quieter paradise. But the charms remain 25 years later. Best beach, recently widened. Simple lovely rooms. Nice little continental breakfast included. Comfy restaurant. The menu needs work. The food is scimpy and bland. The desk staff needs some training perhaps. But we had a wonderful 10 days in this hotel. We walked the beach and windy promenade. Walking into town to shop and eat was also easy and enjoyable. Fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Unusual stunning hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms cool, large set out amid gardens right on he beach. Giant comfortable sunbeds
Cons: We found the staff polite but not as welcoming as in other hotels we stayed in. Breakfast sparse
Location: Right on the beach best. Town centre an easy walk. Dolphin encounter a magical experience .
Great hotel in perfect position on the best beach - white sand, warm turquoise sea, shallow with sand bottom for long way - no rocks or weed. Great (free) double sunbeds. Easy walk into centre of town with many shops and eateries. Room large, cool, superb shower. Dolphin Encounter I will always remember, also snorkelling among hundreds of fish Would happily go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, awesome beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Loved the property, location, proximity to town. Didn't love the restaurant (food or staff). A better option for food and drinks is just around the corner on the beach at Fenix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

most beautiful beach location

Posted Mar 13, 2015
We love Na Balam and have stayed here before. It was disappointing that the restaurant has been sold and the service has declined some. The hot water was hit or miss and the AC didn't really work. We still love the location and Isla Mujeres but might look into other hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

the hotel has beautiful grounds & location.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Our plunge pool room was delightful and spacious! We were also very pleased with the restaurant Zel Ha., and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: The lack of hot water is unacceptable for this level of hotel, as are the rooms on the street side. With a little work they could be so nice too..
Location: it has an awesome location and the restaurants and shops are a short walk away. Rent a golf cart for a day or two to tour the rest of lovely Isla!
The management staff at the front desk is top notch. Ricarrdo, Sharon, & Sonja, did everything they could to relocate us from our terrible room on the street side that we were assigned upon arrival. It smelled musty, had mold on the bathroom walls, and torn screens that let many mosquitoes into the room. The furniture was very worn and sparse. It felt very dingy! I had read reviews, and didn't believe them, but it's all true. The rooms on the street side and the ones on the beach side are like staying in two different hotels!!! They need restoration and some serious TLC ! There is so much potential for these rooms! The reviews also referred several times to the lack of hot water. ALL so true. We NEVER had a hot shower and rarely had a luke warm one!! When asked about it they said they were having issues....well, how long does it take to fix this issue??!! Again, when you are paying a good amount of money at a resort, you expect and should have HOT water. UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!!! We did end up with a wonderful room on the beach side, for an additional amount a nite, it was lovely and very clean...still NO HOT WATER!!! The hotel has such beautiful grounds and beach front (best on island) which makes it more of a shame that they keep ignoring these obvious problems that are solvable. Because of the continued lack of hot water we will not return to this hotel, which is a sad thing!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Good location; horrible room! Needs upgrades.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Front desk needs to offer better customer service, housekeeping and bar/beach associates were great! Rooms are horribly decorated plus it has a feel like your in a warehouse. The location however is excellent. Plus! Electricity went out twice!! Very inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

1 met de natuur

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Super Vakantie,Weg van de drukte minpunt,voor goed ontbijt zul je moeten bijbetalen.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ホテル前のビーチは最高!

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
ホテルのエリアが道路を挟んで2つにわかれており、私たちが宿泊した部屋はビーチとは逆の部屋でした。 その部屋はとても薄暗くて陽当たりも悪く、夜は蚊がいてぐっすり寝れず、あまり居心地がよくなかったです。ただ、ホテルの前のビーチはとても綺麗で素晴らしかったので、また次回行くとしたらビーチ側の部屋に宿泊したいです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

La mejor playa

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excelente ubicacion frente a la playa. Lindos jardines con piscina y jacuzzi. El cuarto muy amplio. Falta blackout por lo que nunca esta oscuro. El restaurante muy caro y su personal no muy amable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sejour agreable

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: situation , plage magnifique et proche centre ville a pied chambre spacieuse, propre personnel a l'accueil sympathique
Cons: petit dejeuner trop modeste, et personnel du restaurant peu accueillant plage et transat un peu bondés
Location: ville principale a coté a pied, sympa pour le soir
hotel bien situé, chambre vue mer tres bien, grande et bon confort personnel de l'hotel tres bien plage belle et agreable malgré beaucoup de monde et nombreux bateaux qui viennent jeter l'ancre juste devant bemol : eau chaude un peu aleatoire et petit dejeuner vraiment trop "mediocre" et leger pour ce bel hotel, personnel du restau debordé et pas très chaleureux malgré cela le restau est de qualité