Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Retreat Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The hotel is definitely a retreat center, especially if you're into yoga and meditation. There are no TV's in the room (at least not in ours), but that works even better as it forces to be outside more and experience the surroundings. The staff was great, and the premises (although they're being fixed right now) provide a soothing atmosphere. It's also a nice little hotel for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Location: Renting a vespa is a must! We had a blast riding around the island. You can also easily walk to town from the hotel. You'll have fun no matter what!
My boyfriend and I recently went on an adventure and explored Tulum & Isla Mujeres. We had wonderful experiences and Isla Mujeres was our last stop. I was really looking forward to the yoga classes. However, the teacher was out sick for the week. That is understandable but with no substitute/replacement teacher, I felt I missed out on one of the main reasons for booking a room. Also, our room was dark and musty. It looked absolutely nothing like the website's photos and was disappointing. We did not enjoy spending time in the room. The bed & sheets weren't comfy, the smell was unpleasant and the light was so dim I had to use a flashlight to read at night. Staff was adequate and nice enough but didn't leave the lasting impression that so many in Tulum had. I had also asked if the front desk if there was a snorkel spot that wasn't touristy and didn't require lifejackets, looking for some great insider tips...we were told the snorkel spots required lifejackets and didn't walk away with any helpful info. However, we soon found out ourselves that there are two great snorkeling spots on the island. One is more expensive and requires lifejackets, the other is less expensive and does not. Both are equally beautiful. Na Balam's beach was pretty and we enjoyed walking out in the shallow water. You don't get to swim out into any deep water here (it's roped off for boats) but it's still fun to relax in. Overall, it was just okay but not a place we'd return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lotawana

Nice hotel, right on Playa Norte

Posted Oct 25, 2014
After touring the entire island, Na Balam has the best beach by far. Walk out the room and right onto paradise. Shower water could be warmer, but knew from the reviews that was an issue to expect so not that big of deal for us. Friendly staff, close to everything. We'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Na Balam for the weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Large Room. Easy Beach access
Cons: Refrigerators in the room, increase water temperature for shower.
Location: Best beach on the Island. Everything is near by!!
Overall the stay was good, Room was huge, would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room to keep the drinks cold. Don't expect a HOT Shower, warm at best. Best beach on the island for sure!! Bar staff was accommodating when we required ice for our small beach cooler to keep the beers cold. We have been to Isla Mujures 7 or 8 times, this was just a 4 day weekend getaway. I would rate Na Balam 7 out of 10 DFR
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: great beach
Cons: FIX hot water ceiling fans noisey
Location: beach
POOR hot water very eratic warm then not beautiful beach room overpriced !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Distrito Federal, mx

Paraíso tropical

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Excelente playa!!! De las mejores en Quintana Roo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice Hotel, but be weary of "All-Inclusive"

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The food in the restaurant was really good.
Cons: A clearer definition of what "All-Inclusive" entails.
My wife and I just stayed at Na Balam for 4 nights with an "all-inclusive" package. This was misleading and disappointing. On their website, they advertise 2 bars and yoga. One would think that these would be included in the all-inclusive package. Nope. They have 1 bar/restaurant, which had really good food. But don't advertise the Fenix Lounge, if it isn't included. Also, the yoga that they heavily advertise is not included either. I liked the hotel, but I don't feel like the all-inclusive was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hotel sympathique

Posted Aug 20, 2014
bel hotel petite piscine avec un Grand jacuzzi à côté très agréable mais le meilleur c'est la plage eau cristalline on a pied super loin dommage en début en fin de matinée et après-midi beaucoup de bateaux mais c'est la meilleure plage que j'ai vu au Mexique jusqu'à présent. La petite piscine dans la chambre très sympathique. Ce n'est pas un hotel de luxe mais je le recommande.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mariano

increíble ubicación pero hotel descuidado

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
La playa del hotel es maravillosa. Pero las habitaciones están bastante de s cuidadas y el restaurant tiene n servicio terrible. Ya no es parte del hotel y atienden mal a los huéspedes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a very nice stay. I thought $200 deposit for keys and towels was excessive.