Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lotawana

Nice hotel, right on Playa Norte

Posted Oct 25, 2014
After touring the entire island, Na Balam has the best beach by far. Walk out the room and right onto paradise. Shower water could be warmer, but knew from the reviews that was an issue to expect so not that big of deal for us. Friendly staff, close to everything. We'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Na Balam for the weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Large Room. Easy Beach access
Cons: Refrigerators in the room, increase water temperature for shower.
Location: Best beach on the Island. Everything is near by!!
Overall the stay was good, Room was huge, would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room to keep the drinks cold. Don't expect a HOT Shower, warm at best. Best beach on the island for sure!! Bar staff was accommodating when we required ice for our small beach cooler to keep the beers cold. We have been to Isla Mujures 7 or 8 times, this was just a 4 day weekend getaway. I would rate Na Balam 7 out of 10 DFR
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: great beach
Cons: FIX hot water ceiling fans noisey
Location: beach
POOR hot water very eratic warm then not beautiful beach room overpriced !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice Hotel, but be weary of "All-Inclusive"

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The food in the restaurant was really good.
Cons: A clearer definition of what "All-Inclusive" entails.
My wife and I just stayed at Na Balam for 4 nights with an "all-inclusive" package. This was misleading and disappointing. On their website, they advertise 2 bars and yoga. One would think that these would be included in the all-inclusive package. Nope. They have 1 bar/restaurant, which had really good food. But don't advertise the Fenix Lounge, if it isn't included. Also, the yoga that they heavily advertise is not included either. I liked the hotel, but I don't feel like the all-inclusive was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a very nice stay. I thought $200 deposit for keys and towels was excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

My favorite oasis

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, staff, cleanliness and simplicity.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: four blocks from town, AMAZING access to the main avenue, walking distance to the ferry, completely accessible.
I had the best time at na balaam. Something about it felt like home. This hotel is organically blended with the natural environment around it! The hammock on my balcony overlooking the pool was the most relaxing part of the evenings! The staff are completely friendly and truly care about their guests. I was a solo traveler and everyone at the hotel knew me by name and helped me in every way possible! This is NOT a party hotel, it is a relaxing retreat. The rooms don't have phones or televisions, but zazil the restaurant does. If you're looking for a loud, party, exciting hotel this is not for you... this is an oasis - a paradise IN paradise. I am a nursing school student and have a crazy life - I needed to get away from everything and everyone and this was my eden. Simple, classic, beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom durham nc

I was charged double for my room .

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: beautiful ocean
Cons: administration could be honest
My experience was ruined by the snippy attitude of the front desk administration. Every time we had to have a talk with these folks who were trying to double charge for our room, we had to make our way thru a throng of others complaining as well.
2 out of 5
by Kellyfrom Toronto, ON

Disappointing stay in Isla Mujeres

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Weather was nice.
Location: Isla Mujeras - rent a golf cart in order to explore the island. Great restaurant (albeit aimed at North American tourists) is the Soggy Peso.
We booked an ocean front room with two double beds. Arrived to find that we had a room facing the ocean (not really a view) with just one bed. Have been told that this is normal. The manager couldn't care less that we were two travelers who were not interested in sharing a bed, particularly one that small. Restaurant food horrible, bland, boring and pricey. Rooms look a heck of a lot nicer in pictures than in reality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ray Elderfrom Woodland Hills,ca

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
we have been in mexico 12 days - na balam is the best a real vacation and the food was excelent. thank you na balm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Narefrom London

Great stay in Isla Mujeres

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in here last December, the hotel was very nice, it’s the best location to see the famous sunsets from Isla Mujeres. It was such a lovely stay. The service is great!