Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, Canada

Very Old Resort

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Nice beach
Cons: Food, night life, overall apperance of resort.
Location: All I did was take a bus in the day to a mall. Wasn't willing to leave after dark and the cover charges are very expensive to get into any clubs.
Was not happy with my stay, there was no nighttime entertainment. After dinner you have to either leave the resort to see a show or go dancing or you go to your room. Servers were friendly but all other staff was not friendly at all. No shade unless you sit under an umbrella. There is no where at the resort to exchange money, and there is no ATM. Food was ok but the menus are the same every day, so every supper is the same, lunch. Was very happy to come home and have more of a variety of food selections. There is nowhere to get an afternoon snack. The building is very old, and no warm water for showers. Overall would never go back and never recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashua nh

Fabulous time

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly.
Cons: The front lobby should have some comfortable seating to hang out. Music maybe. Also at night it would be a great place to have a dj and some dancing
We had a fabulous time. Weather was wonderful. We read all the reviews before we booked the hotel and knew that we were not getting a 5 star hotel. We always look for a medium price because it is all we can afford to do. We were very pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere at the hotel. The outdoor space was wonderful. Pool was very clean, the chairs were comfortable, the beach was clean. Love getting waited on when I am sitting on the beach and pool side. Everyone was so happy to help. The rooms are dated and the lobby could be sooo much more. But there were clean sheets and towels everyday. Its about 20 minute bus ride to the downtown area , and there are not many restaurants around. We ended up purchasing the all inclusive and it worked out great for us. We never had to leave the hotel for anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The infinity pool, beach and kind staff made for a great stay
Cons: The hotel itself just needs a facelift, if they spent some time renovating the building it would go a long way
Location: The hotel is about 15 mins from downtown Cancun, an easy commute via public bus. The busses run constantly and only cost 1 US dollar
We traveled as a couple in our twenties, looking for an affordable getaway to Mexico. For the price, I couldn't have asked for anything more! When you are getting a great deal it is hard to complain about small things (walls needing a new paint job etc.). If you go into your stay expecting to get what you paid for, you will be very satisfied. We paid for a lagoon facing room and were pleasantly surprised with a free upgrade to ocean view upon our arrival. The front desk was also able to accommodate an early check in as our flight arrived earlier than 3pm. The pool is great, very refreshing after laying out in the hot sun! The beach was beautiful, ocean water was warm and had waves that were fun to swim in. The staff cleaned up seaweed every morning, leaving a clear view from the comfortable beach loungers. The staff is the best part of the hotel. From bartenders--Jose, Valentin, and Diego to waitstaff--Angel, Gilberto and more, there were so many kind and fun employees who took good care of us during our stay. Overall, we had a very good experience at The Bel Air Collection and would definitely recommend to people who are looking for a very affordable, all-inclusive vacation to Mexico.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester NH

It was okay

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: the food, pool, and beach front
Cons: have things for people to do during the day.
Location: too far from the hub of cancun. when we wanted to do anything we had to travel over 15 minutes
I have done all inclusive hotels before and this one was the most disappointing. There was no entertainment, no night life,and the front desk was horrible. Other than the lack of options for restaurants the food was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible...

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Worst experience ever. Staff was terrible and not welcoming and felt like it was a hassle to solve our issues. We're so dissatisfied that we got a refund and left. Hotel looks old and beat up. There's staff cleaning at 2am making noise while people are trying to sleep. Drinks were horrible and NOT top shelf after claiming it was. Never have had such a terrible experience befpre. Ever!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mexico

ok but a bit tired

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Jacuzzi in room, good views, nice touch with the champagne sunset, free coffee and pastries
Cons: decor and condition of hotel is a little tired
Location: at the end of hotel zone so quiet but that is what we wanted - Oxxo store across the street if you need anything
booked a room with Jacuzzi - originally wasnt given one and told none available but eventually got moved when checkin staff realised mistake,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms. Had a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent place to be in!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Cons: Restaurant service at the hotel. WiFi needs improvement.
Stayed for five nights and it was a great stay overall. Employees were very nice and friendly; always helpful! Only frustrating thing was the WiFi reception- really awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the beach - great location, no night life

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: on the water
Cons: the hot water issue
Had a great time - I wish the hotel would have down something about my complains of the hot water issue. That was my only issue. No hot water on teh 6th floor and I was ingnored totally when I brought the issue up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice location, close to the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, pool and personal
Cons: Cleaning
Location: Public transportation, nice beach, night clubs , shopping center.....etc
Excellent experience and I will repeat it again, all personal very polite, food was tasty