Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carter from Canada

Single nighter stay

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The beach and the pool area, free mimosa on check in
Cons: The food and hours of restaurant/cafe operation and the noise of the night time activities.
Location: Close to the airport and buses right outside
We stayed at The Bel Air for one night prior to our departure from Mexico as it was close to the airport (5min drive). It had a nice pool area and beach but those were the best features in my opinion. Upon check in they greet you with a mimosa which was a nice but the dining at the hotel was very poor. The restaurant was only open certain hours and the food was terrible. We had a seared tuna that tasted like rubber and some really salty fish fusion dish with a horrible noodle salad. We stayed on the lagoon side and the view was nice from our balcony but the lobby is a large open air design that is very noisy. They played loud music until 10:30 and the hotel bar is also right below, so you could hear everything from the bartenders blenders to loud obnoxious tourist party goers. If you were into the night life this also probably wouldn't have been a great place for a long term stay but they did have a bus right outside that went farther down the strip and would take you to coco bongo or other bars or shopping places and was told it was only about $1 US. In the morning the concierge arranged a taxi to take us to the airport which was like a 5 min drive but I feel was a rip off as it was 350 pesos. Over all I feel this hotel was reasonably priced if booked online with expedia for a single night but if I was staying on the strip for longer I would have upgraded to a better hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from PUEBLA, MEX

ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS VIEW.......

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: VERY FRIENDLY SERVICE
Location: YOU CAN CATCH THE LOCAL BUS AT THE CORNER... TO CUT SOME COST.
REALLY ENJOYED OUR TIME IN CANCUN... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE FOR THE PRICE
1 out of 5
by Stevic from London

Horrible, crappy hotel - avoid at all costs!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Only positives is Chocolate cake and Marisela the waitress at pool area, lovely lady, very kind and helpful.
Cons: Everything, old tired hotel needs knocking down and reconfiguring lay out. Ridiculous to have your rooms next to party courtyard and reception??
Location: Not much to do nearby, supermarket across road, that's it! You have to travel 30 minutes to shops by bus!
The horror story which is this hotel, It was our honeymoon, first room given was 5005, ground floor. Extremely noisy from late night to 6am and 7am etc from drunken guests and staff pulling trollies and talking very loudly. Our back door to access the pool had no lock!! and had huge gap at the top of it! We called reception, repair asked us for a key to the back door to lock it!! We told them we didn't have one. We were moved to 5102. Ok room but on 5th day sewage smell came from drains when ever shower was on. Toilet blocked also! Extremely noisy at night, party on every night as room outside main reception area? and next to sushi bar so noise from plates and food prep non stop so couldn't sleep much on my honeymoon!! Had to use same bedsheets for 7 days, water on floor under sink was not cleaned from day 1 to day 7. not many English tv channels and remote control was not the same make for tv so couldn't get English subtitles so not much to watch. Coffee in room taste like dust from the floor, it is Bel air branded and undrinkable. Food is disgusting! One restaurant, Starters and main courses, no flavour and some inedible, cheap ingredients, no flavour, breakfast buffet same old rubbish each day and doesn't state what each dish contains, don't eat meat but ended up accidently eating pork cos no signs to say what each dish is or contains, dirty table cloths and tables, fruit unripe, coffee tastes revolting, food NEVER hot, always luke warm or cold. Fruit juices terrible taste
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from New York

Only 14 min away from airport.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Only stayed on night. Rooms where clean. Pool was great and beach only a few steps away.
Only stayed one night. Could not experience the hotel fully. We had a wonderful welcome and a beautiful sunset.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not Exactly What I Thought it Was going to Be

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Go for the Ocean View Room not the Lagoon view. Pool is second to none really nice set up. Staff is super cool and accommodating. If I returned it would be to the ocean view room as I was a bit disappointed with the Lagoon view room.
1 out of 5
by Brian from Houston

nightmare vacation

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: every single aspect
Location: there was very limited activities and restaurants that did not require a taxi.
From check in things went from bad to worse...the most poorly trained staff, the worst food and the absolute most boring all inclusive I have ever experienced... I would not go back there if it were free. We spent twice of what we had planned because breakfast was the only meal we could tolerate. They did not have bacon, sausage or chorizo on any breakfast buffet and the continental breakfast was joke...coffee pot was always empty... absolutely terrible all the way around....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
first I do not recommend this hotel for two things. 1 - I arrived in this hotel and I do not found hotel rooms because the excuse are the system had a error about oversells. Then the hotel makes another reservation in a different hotel. That's ridiculous because I reserved that hotel 6 moths ago. 2.- I reserved the spa in Sunday night at 7-8pm and when I got there on time they toll me no got any reservation. Sorry but I will never come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacy from Sherwood, AR

A very nice and relaxing resort

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Having everything you need in one place
Cons: The beds and having the a la carte restaurants system explained a little better
Location: The Jungle Place was a fabulous place to visit!
Other than doing some site seeing, there is no reason to need to leave this resort. This was our first time doing the all inclusive thing, but we found it very nice. The beach, pools, activities and food were all better than we expected.
3 out of 5
by Elle from Arkansas

It's Fine: A Middle of the Road Resort

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: It was easy ... room... pool... beach, drink, eat. The hotel was nice and our room was nice, but poorly situated on the noisy ground fl. No kids.
Cons: Restrict maintenance in the lower level corridor prior to 6:30 a.m. Better explanation of how things worked.
Location: The beautiful ocean is right there. There is a convenience store and a taco place across the street. Great spa on site -- no reason to leave.
This was a pleasant and relaxing experience. it took us a day to figure out how things worked -- the food & beverage service operates on a no-cash basis, meaning they bill your room for everything you consume -- and either charge you or not depending on your plan. There are 3 tiers of food & bev plan, including all-inclusive. Bring singles for tips and don't bother tipping on the "bill." The spa is excellent. Our room was conveniently situated with a door out onto the pool deck, and a jacuzzi, but being on the ground level was noisy and put us close to the water treatment handling area (I guess) and there was some off-gassing in our bathroom (no pun intended). The restaurant food was really good -- seafood, steaks, salads, etc. -- although the sushi rolls were just OK at sushi bar. I think they premake the rolls and then stick whatever fish you order on the outside. Pool cantina was just OK as well -- kind of football game food: burgers, hot dogs, nachos, wings. Order from the restaurant for more variety, which we didn't figure out you could do poolside until the last day. You'll need to get to the pool/beach early to claim your spot -- but you can get drinks brought to you on the beach as well. Fun little treats like champagne & brownies brought to your room, towels turned into hearts on the bed, sunset champagne make for special touches. Very international crowd and many Mexican nationals on holiday here. I wouldn't say it's a luxurious resort -- but not a dump, either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean, great location

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com