Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

So Disappointing...........:-(

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The beach was wonderful.
Cons: Customer service, food.
Location: Nothing to do near by. you need to take bus to where the actions is. Not a bad ride though.
We arrived on Friday, August 15th at approximately 12pm. It was a very HOT day. We walked up to the lobby area, open area also very HOT, would have been nice to register in a well air conditioned room. But that didn't happen. Didn't even get a drink or cold towel when we arrived. Not until i complained about it that someone gave us customary mimosa. Then we went to 3 Different people, sitting right next to each other just to complete our registration. Makes absolutely no sense. One person should be able to handle the whole process. 2 restaurants! The food was OK. some of it was really bad. tasted like it was all cooked in the same butter or oil. Totally disappointing. Not a Gourmet type location at all. The on line photos must have been photo shopped. The majority of the staff was helpful and did the best with what they have. I do believe this location needs a lot more employees to handle the hotel. On several occasions the towel table was empty and we had to wait for someone to bring them to us only after we asked. This is very minor but being so minor it should not have to be a request. At the very least, we are at the beach, make sure towels are available. So frustrating. I could go on an on but i won't. I guess you get what you pay for. I will give this place maybe a 1 star. Sorry. Good luck with your renovations. You really need them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Nice beach and hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel staff very kind and friendly pool nice also beach clean we were to be in this hotel we would like to come back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel Air visit

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel was ok.
Cons: Communication services.
The gym facilities were very small and the internet connectivity WAS TERRIBLE, very disappointed. The fact that the communication service was very poor I would not use that hotel again. Br, Al
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Nothing like what was pictured. It was old looking. No excitement, very boring, food was terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great customer service makes up for lesser quality

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The customer service was the best part of this stay! We enjoyed meeting and talking to the hotel staff who showed how much they valued hospitality.
Cons: Food offerings during lunch and dinner seemed to be redundant after 4 days. The electricity went out twice while we were there as well.
Location: The hotel was near the end of the hotel zone, but with a quick bus ride we were able to get to anything. Being right on the beach was so calming.
We booked this trip as a last minute honeymoon plan. The images looked immaculate and we knew we'd get our money worth! After a slight attitude adjustment about the images looking better online than in person, we were really able to enjoy our stay. The room had AC, the food was pretty good, the service was great! Although we would most likely not return to this resort in the future, if we were in the area we would stop in to see if our newly acquired friends were there! It really is a nice place to stay if you are looking for a great price on an all inclusive option!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Best beach vacation ever!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Arrived at night, just as sea turtles were laying eggs in the sand adjacent to the hotel. Our room was on the six floor, facing the ocean (east.) Balcony allowed view of ocean and sound of waves in the room. Swimming pool and ocean were bathtub warm. Restaurant breakfast buffet was an excellent value, also could order off the menu. We did not have the all-inclusive plan, but ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant anyway, or got room service, also excellent value and good food. Most staff spoke enough English to accommodate Americans. And the staff was great, very helpful, kind, and the nicest people I've ever dealt with at a hotel. Coffee in the lobby mornings, teatime afternoons, and champagne reception in the evenings. Hotel decor with sheer curtains lining the lobby blowing in the breeze on the hot afternoons was delightful. Getting around was easy using the public buses, cost less than a dollar. There's also a convenience store directly across the street. I highly, highly recommend the Bel Air, and cannot wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Bosio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. First I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun. I would like to thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again. Best regards. Andrea Bosio. General manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It was wonderful, especially the staff. I would absolutely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Perfect sunset views!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Great location. There are good restaurants right across the street on the lagoon side. Beautiful sunset views & ocean views.
Cons: A good amount of staff didn't speak a lot of English so calling the concierge/front desk was a bit of a challenge.
Location: Great restaurants within walking distance. Short cab to "fun zone" of clubs/bars. 1 hour to Playa del Carmen.
I spent the last two days of my trip to Mexico at the Bel Air hotel in Cancun. The hotel was nicely located on the ocean but also had fantastic views of the lagoon. I decided to pay extra per night to upgrade as my deluxe lagoon view room did not have a balcony. The hotel definitely could use a paint job but overall, it was a very nice place to stay. They greet you with a glass of cava & have complimentary sparkling wine & chocolate for sunset. Our ocean view suite was very roomy, clean & had a perfect view of the ocean. I don't think I would recommend doing all-inclusive here...there are so many other great places to try for food/drink and the hotel seems to only have one or two places to eat on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Bosio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. First I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun. I would like to thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again. Best regards. Andrea Bosio. General manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Love the pool.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The infinity pool is great, the view from the restaurant by the pool, bathroom recently remodeled, comfy bed
Cons: The service at the restaurant was too slow. They should offer more tropical drinks as well. The shower could have more pressure.
Location: The hotel is on the beach and there's a convenience store just in front. You can get a bus just in front as well but far from everything else.
The hotel is right on the beach with a nice infinity pool. The restaurant by the pool offers a nice view, a good start for the day. Is a nice getaway but if you're looking for fun with a group of people maybe you should stay closer to the city. Overall a good hotel, not great but worth the money. Jose at the pool bar is great, very nice and fun. Service at the restaurant was very slow but food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Chicago

simple, quiet hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: private infinity pool, close to the beach, close to airport.
Cons: some staff's attitude when dealing with customers. room furnitures are old, maybe they could update some with new ones.
Location: 24 hour bus / transportation availability. there's a convenient store nearby. close to airport.
some hotels staff not helpful at all, and tend to ignore customer's requests and needs. probably because of limited english proficiency.