Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel..

Posted Aug 28, 2014
I would rank it as a 1.5 star hotel. The only benefit it has, is it's proximity to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Good location, that's it.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This hotel has potential to be so much more than it is. It has a great location a nicely laid out restaurant but the poor management of the place lets it down. Room itself was great and the cleaning staff do a great job but that's where it ends. Other staff at the reception and in the restaurant were unhelpful and clearly didn't want to be there. The restaurant is a joke. They charge guests staying there to use the bathroom at the restaurant. The hotel charges guests to use the day beds chairs and umbrellas. Basically the only complimentary items included in your stay is wifi which can only be accessed in the restaurant area not your room and a cold piece of toast with coffee as the free breakfast. It's a shame cause the place has the facilities to offer its guests so much more and in return they would probably spend more time and money at the establishment rather then going off site as soon as possible to get an appropriate level of customer service and decent standard of food and drinks to enjoy the holiday that your there for. And to top the whole experience off upon arrival they accidentally charged my credit card a $150 instead of holding it. Bad, bad, bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Simple hotel with few amenities. However, the beach more than makes up for it. Walking distance to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx

Wonderful Experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It was a wonderful experience. Hotel room somewhat smaller than norm, but very comfortable and relaxing. I felt this hotel was at a great location to the beach. I walked the beach and felt that this area of the beach was less congested and more calm. The humidity was challenging, cool clothing is the best! Rent a golf cart to visit the island. The hotel offered complimentary purified water and that was greatly appreciated!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good value hotel with excellent location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Cons: A lot could be improved, mostly in the rooms.
Location: Location is terrific with Playa Norte at your doorstep and Bujo's restaurant. Hidalgo street is 10 minutes away walking for dinner and shopping.
As a couple, we enjoyed this hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You wake up right on top of Playa Norte, the best beach on Isla Mujeres. There are no hotel amenities worth mentioning. The complimentary breakfast is just a piece of toast and coffee at the restaurant next door, Bujo's. If you want wi-fi, you have to walk down to Bujo's again. But this wasn't an issue because we really enjoyed the food at Bujo's, the views, and the staff. If we weren't on the beach we were hanging out at Bujo's. For dinner, we would walk to Hidalgo street, which was 10 minutes away walking. A few things worth mentioning, we didn't feel the need to rent a golf cart. The taxi from the Ultramar to the hotel was $4 dollars, and worth it. The rooms were 2 star, but they were clean and quiet, and the A/C worked well. The staff was very friendly. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Location, location, location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: What they have is very fair the price
Location: Excellent location, beach is all yours and you have sourfing, scuba diving and many more activites available . Good food and bars just blocks away
Not fancy, not gourmet food, not even a good iron but, excellent location to walk to the beach Staff very friendly, clean room, we enjoyed our stay at isla mujeres very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Rooms 1 & 2 - Excellent! Well worth the price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the cleanliness and the price.
Cons: I can't think of any improvements at the moment.
Location: This hotel is in a wonderful location. Directly over the beach (Rooms 1 & 2) and only blocks from the main market area/town bar area.
I came to Isla Mujeres with my daughter (18 yrs old), her friend (21) and a friend of mine (me 35 and him 38). So 4 of us total. We stayed in Cabanas Maria del Mar for 3 nights. The experience was overall excellent. I am not a picky person. I love rustic or off-beat adventures but I also love the ability to relax comfortably. Cabanas Maria del Mar was definitely on the laid-back, yet well kept-up style. I do appreciate all the amenities, cleanliness and great service. We rented Rooms #1 & 2 which are on the 2nd Floor. They are both corner rooms that partially face the beach. They are very spacious and extremely clean. Many reviewers commented on the lack of decor, but I liked the minimalist decor (we also spent most of our trip out and around the town/beach/market/bars). I feel like Room #1 was a little better than 2, as far as the view and the air conditioner worked a little better during the day. Room #2 air conditioner was great at night, we even had to use the covers. The bathrooms/showers were great, no problems there. Plenty hot water. The beach is just about a 50 yd walk down from the room. Buhos is the open air bar on the beach that you'll pass through and it is great. They have wifi, but we discovered it worked best in the main eating area of the bar and it did not work for me at all in our room, my daughter's did though. Some reviewers depicted this hotel as a 'compound' I had absolutely no feeling of that. It was wonderful all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Perfect location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
You cannot beat the location, its better than the pricey places. The room was clean and updated but the bed was not comfortable enough to sleep in late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Nice and quiet beach hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location on one the worlds best beaches.
Cons: The breakfast that was provided could be better and the A/C could have worked better.
Location: Close to the beach and walking distance to many great places to eat.
Nice beach hotel on one of the worlds best beaches . The room was large enough for 4 adults. The beds were fine to sleep on. The room stayed clean by the staff everyday. the grounds outside the room looked wonderful and were well maintained. The was a 5 gal bottle water machine outside the room that always had water in it. Only thing that could have been better would be that the A/c was better, but it was in the mid 90s everyday.The beach was wonderful, clean , and not overcrowded . Overall , a very good stay .
1 out of 5
by Martha from Salt lake city Utah

Will never go back

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach that is all.
Cons: Remodel Clean better And need to have a good customer service
I have no idea why do they call this a hotel I am Latina and I have seen ugly hotels but this one is just a no no I had a reservation and when I saw how ugly, dirty , and old it was so I walk out From it . I did not care to loose my money at this point and went somewhere else.