Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland

comfortable hotel with a throwback charm

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: location right on an amazing beach, comfortable spacious room, very reasonable rates, just a five minute walk to dining drinking and shopping.
Cons: Cabana Maria Del Mar was fantastic, but keep your expectations in check. It is a quaint 40-50 year old facility that has been very well maintained.
A truly charming hotel right on a magnificent beach, and only blocks from all the Isle has to offer! If you are looking for five star amenities, this may not be for you. If you are looking for a comfortable stay, in an amazing location, you will not be disappointed. The entire island has a very laid back attitude and style. (even the stray dogs and cats are friendly and get along with tourists and each other) if you intend to use your hotel as a place to sleep while you explore the island this is the place for you. If you are more inclined to expect the facilities of a bigger hotel - then maybe you would be happier in a larger facility. Best location on all of Isle Mujeres! get a golf cart and see it all!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right next to a beautiful beach

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Updating the wiring-secure locks on the balcony door.
This is an old property that is a little tired-but the rooms are very clean and the staff very pleasant.The best thing about it is the location.The pool is small.The room we had had a small fridge that was a bonus. The free continental breakfast is toast and coffee and tang.. Overall good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, QC, Canada

close to the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi in the rooms
Location: everything is close by
The hotel is nothing special but it is very close to Playa Norte.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Morelia, México

MUY DETERIORADO Y MAL SERVICIO Y NULA SEGURIDAD

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Nada.
Cons: Mayor calidez y confianza, definitivamente las instalaciones y el restaurante que es exageradamente raquítico el desayuno.
Location: En realidad es un laberinto para llegar y muy lejos del centro.
Es realmente incompatible el precio que se paga con el servicio que se recibe muy malas instalaciones, deterioradas y eso sí te piden un voucher abierto para garantizar que si hay daños en la habitación puedan cobrarlos. Sin embargo la cama rota, la puerta totalmente insegura, los ventiladores sin funcionar, etc...Realmente las fotos que muestran distan de la realidad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sehr schönes Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
direkt am schönsten Strand der insel. wunderschönes türkises meer. personal sehr freundlich. wlan leider nur im restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

I have stayed here several times in the past.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The location and the beach.
Cons: The service and customer service. The restaurant and bar could be fabulous, but the restaurant is non-existent and the bar is a huge disappointment.
Location: It's right on the beach and an easy walk into town.
I was not aware that there are three different sections; cabanas, tower, and castle. I have always stayed in the castle section. The first room I was assigned to was in the cabanas section. It was horrible. I went back to the office to see if there was any availability across the street (the castle section). Luckily there was and I got a room there, which was a huge improvement. The continental breakfast is juice, coffee, and toast. The service was poor. I probably won't go back, though it is in a great location on North Beach. The second room was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shakopee, MN

Nice stay for 12 days

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: It had a fantastic location! You are right on the beach outside your door.
Cons: Everything was fine for the price. It was cheap.
Location: You are very close to a dive shop, snorkeling, and tours. Also, the downtown to shops and restaurants is only a short five minute walk.
Cleanliness and staff was above average. Location was superb!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

no resrvations changes!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
we didn't weant to stay and the manager didn't want to even listen. I recomend not booking more then one night and tehn the extand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City

No Bad at all!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The Beach and the quite about it as you stroll to the beach
Cons: The AC Units, they make too much noise at night
Location: Plenty of good places to eat near by, from food cart to small restaurant's, and a few small store as well for your needs.
Stayed here for a week the first of October and it was a nice experience IMO. I had read some older reviews and I wanted to make sure I made quick friends with the staff and it paid off with lot's of love during our stay. like most people, I knew going in that the beach spot was awesome, but several people had issues with the staff. If you are looking for a no frill's type of place with a bit of Mexican flare, then this is it. don't be expecting a red carport, but rather expect to find yourself with a good budget hotel with awesome beach view just 20 yards away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

Hübsches Hotel in Strandnähe

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Kleines Familienhotel in einem wunderschönen Garten.