Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect location to take in the best of Isla!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Easy check in to room 1 - ocean view without special request! Very clean, great AC and fan, very comfortable king bed. Connection to Buho's Bar a plus. Just the right level of activity on this part of beach, other areas too crowded, still others too serene. Very comfy beach set ups too...great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Pk California

Front beach hotel but not what I so on line

Posted Jul 28, 2015
I like the beach but it's not what they show you on line. They need to show everything not the nice part and then they give you the crappie rooms.. Chairs beds and umbrellas are not included like they say WiFi only at restaurant.they won't change you're tawel only if necessary. I don't think I will stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Absolutely fantastic location

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Location was fantastic rooms were a little old and dated no hot water in the shower and no water pressure. 2nd floor open balcony/patio great for drinks. We felt like something was biting us at night and have little bites all over. Not sure if mosquitos or sand fleas never saw either. No wifi. Lobby was clean, prices are great and the location is fantastic! I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great location near the beach, terrible wi-fi

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Location. Rooms were large. Good AC in rooms. Water jugs throughout hotel to refill water bottles (save money and waste)
Cons: The wi-fi is terrible and only works in a small part of the restaurant, only half the time. If you need good wi-fi at all, don't stay here.
Location: Rent a golf-cart at the hotel and tour the island. See the turtle farm. Swim with whale sharks (wow). Snorkeling.
This is a simple hotel in the best possible location on Playa Norte and centrally located to shops and dining. It is just away from the busier part of Playa Norte so is less crowded and the beach in this area doesn't have any seagrass/seaweed, just a beautiful sandy beach. Had older kids with us and it is ideal because the beach is so safe (no waves and shallow water) that you can have them play in the water without having to constantly keep an eye on them. We were in Rooms 14 & 15 which are across the street from the main part of the hotel and are attached to Buho's restaurant. The main part of the hotel is very charming surrounding the swimming pool. In July the pool is hot though, so don't expect a refreshing dip in the pool! I've seen negative comments about the staff not being friendly...that is somewhat par for the course in Mexico where the US idea of fake-friendly customer service just doesn't exist. The staff is helpful, but don't expect a big smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice, clean, safe

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: I liked the location.
Cons: more information on the ferry rides because my flight got there at 2am and wasnt aware that the ferrys don't begin till 5 am.
Location: There is a lot of shopping and restaurants like 2 streets down. The beach is right across from the rooms.
If your looking to stay in your room and order room service and enjoy the amenities of a fancy hotel this is not the place for you. If you just want a safe place to sleep and leave your belongings somewhere while you enjoy the beach all day or be out and about enjoying the town, this is perfect. The place is clean and safe and right on the beach. For me this is all I could afford. I had an amazing time out enjoying the Island to care too much about how fancy my linens where. It was clean, safe, quiet, and located in front of paradise (the beach). Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing Location!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Breakfast could be better... Wifi in the restaurant is very very weak!
Location: Beach
We spent 3 nights in a Castle Room. The room is very basic, but clean and comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is only steps to the best beach on the island! Breakfast is nothing special, best go to the Rooster Cafe if you want a good feed! Restaurants and bars are a short stroll away. The port is approx 10 minutes walk. This hotel is by no means a 5 star hotel, but it is a 5 star location! We loved our stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

HORRIBLE!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location was right on the beach and had a good air conditioner.
Cons: Everything: place under new owner/management, replace the staff and remodel everything.
Location: Great beach. Love Isla Mujeres. (See our review of Hotel Mia Reef next door.)
UNFRIENDLY/UNSANITARY. Would not recommend this even to an enemy. We are not hard to please people but this hotel was the worst experience of any we have every stayed at, bar none. The staff was unfriendly, untrusting. They charge you $150 aside from what you pay via Expedia as a deposit that they return if you don't lose a key or damage the room (what is there to damage? Everything in the Tower room we stayed in was old and beaten up.) The room had a lumpy hard bed with lumpy pillows. Besides that there was a wobbly little table with one chair, a small love seat (covered with a plain bed sheet) and an small old analog tv on a stand. No decorations. Nada, none, nil. The bath has no tub and the sink area worn and dirty. NOTICE: THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PUT YOUR USED TOILET PAPER IN A TRASH RECEPTICLE NEXT TO THE TOILET. FAILURE TO DO SO AND THEY WILL FINE YOU! (No, you cannot flush it down the toilet.) They give you a pass for what they consider a breakfast: either a cup of coffee or a small (dirty) glass of orange juice and two pieces of toast in a fly infested open restaurant. They also try to rent go carts for $50/day when you can get them from $25-35 many other places nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very near at the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2015
It's good except the people only few people understand English
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location, hotel staff, clean, comfortable
Cons: Wifi in rooms, shower head in castle suite 10, bar selection, happier bar staff. camera in the beach bar /hammock area (phone stolen as I napped)
Location: Location is great 40 yard from beach. Hammocks, yoga, multiple bars to catch the sun set.
Location is amazing! The room was decent and clean. The shower head could be replaced in the castle suite I stayed in (furthest from the bar area). The Hotel staff was very very nice and helpful, the bar staff just okay. On an island where everyone is super happy it was weird to see staff members that were plain ole indifferent. The were not bad they were not good just okay. Barr selections also limited here. Did not see the bugs mentioned in other posts. But I'm sure if you leave the screen less window, or balcony door open up you could see some bugs. I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Distrito Federal

Todo Ok.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: La cercanía a la playa
Cons: La atención del personal. La recepcionista prefería dar informes que entregarnos la habitación, aun cuando llegamos primero.
Location: El bar Buho´s muy bueno.
Limpio, cómodamente cerca de la playa, alberca pequeña pero bien.