Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good value hotel with excellent location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Cons: A lot could be improved, mostly in the rooms.
Location: Location is terrific with Playa Norte at your doorstep and Bujo's restaurant. Hidalgo street is 10 minutes away walking for dinner and shopping.
As a couple, we enjoyed this hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You wake up right on top of Playa Norte, the best beach on Isla Mujeres. There are no hotel amenities worth mentioning. The complimentary breakfast is just a piece of toast and coffee at the restaurant next door, Bujo's. If you want wi-fi, you have to walk down to Bujo's again. But this wasn't an issue because we really enjoyed the food at Bujo's, the views, and the staff. If we weren't on the beach we were hanging out at Bujo's. For dinner, we would walk to Hidalgo street, which was 10 minutes away walking. A few things worth mentioning, we didn't feel the need to rent a golf cart. The taxi from the Ultramar to the hotel was $4 dollars, and worth it. The rooms were 2 star, but they were clean and quiet, and the A/C worked well. The staff was very friendly. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Location, location, location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: What they have is very fair the price
Location: Excellent location, beach is all yours and you have sourfing, scuba diving and many more activites available . Good food and bars just blocks away
Not fancy, not gourmet food, not even a good iron but, excellent location to walk to the beach Staff very friendly, clean room, we enjoyed our stay at isla mujeres very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Rooms 1 & 2 - Excellent! Well worth the price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the cleanliness and the price.
Cons: I can't think of any improvements at the moment.
Location: This hotel is in a wonderful location. Directly over the beach (Rooms 1 & 2) and only blocks from the main market area/town bar area.
I came to Isla Mujeres with my daughter (18 yrs old), her friend (21) and a friend of mine (me 35 and him 38). So 4 of us total. We stayed in Cabanas Maria del Mar for 3 nights. The experience was overall excellent. I am not a picky person. I love rustic or off-beat adventures but I also love the ability to relax comfortably. Cabanas Maria del Mar was definitely on the laid-back, yet well kept-up style. I do appreciate all the amenities, cleanliness and great service. We rented Rooms #1 & 2 which are on the 2nd Floor. They are both corner rooms that partially face the beach. They are very spacious and extremely clean. Many reviewers commented on the lack of decor, but I liked the minimalist decor (we also spent most of our trip out and around the town/beach/market/bars). I feel like Room #1 was a little better than 2, as far as the view and the air conditioner worked a little better during the day. Room #2 air conditioner was great at night, we even had to use the covers. The bathrooms/showers were great, no problems there. Plenty hot water. The beach is just about a 50 yd walk down from the room. Buhos is the open air bar on the beach that you'll pass through and it is great. They have wifi, but we discovered it worked best in the main eating area of the bar and it did not work for me at all in our room, my daughter's did though. Some reviewers depicted this hotel as a 'compound' I had absolutely no feeling of that. It was wonderful all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Perfect location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
You cannot beat the location, its better than the pricey places. The room was clean and updated but the bed was not comfortable enough to sleep in late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Nice and quiet beach hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location on one the worlds best beaches.
Cons: The breakfast that was provided could be better and the A/C could have worked better.
Location: Close to the beach and walking distance to many great places to eat.
Nice beach hotel on one of the worlds best beaches . The room was large enough for 4 adults. The beds were fine to sleep on. The room stayed clean by the staff everyday. the grounds outside the room looked wonderful and were well maintained. The was a 5 gal bottle water machine outside the room that always had water in it. Only thing that could have been better would be that the A/c was better, but it was in the mid 90s everyday.The beach was wonderful, clean , and not overcrowded . Overall , a very good stay .
1 out of 5
by Martha from Salt lake city Utah

Will never go back

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach that is all.
Cons: Remodel Clean better And need to have a good customer service
I have no idea why do they call this a hotel I am Latina and I have seen ugly hotels but this one is just a no no I had a reservation and when I saw how ugly, dirty , and old it was so I walk out From it . I did not care to loose my money at this point and went somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunny from Canada

Sweet Paradise

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, gardens, pool, staff, golf cart rental from hotel.
Cons: nothing I would keep it just as it is.
Location: The location is splendid we could walk downtown in two minutes but we felt quite apart from the noise of the strip.
Love, love ,Cabanas Maria del Mar. You can't improve on the location, as it is on the beach. It has a lovely little pool to remove the salt and sweat of the day. Having your breakfast every morning on the beach as the sun comes up was very special. The gardens are special and our family felt welcomed and all our needs were taken care of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Easy Beach Access Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Room was on the ground floor and you walked right out to a nice little pool, right on beach, pleasant staff, and convenient check-in and check-out.
Cons: The room furnishings definitely need to be changed...truly the same exact bedspread from 12 years ago.
Location: Great beach location and away from the main part of the town.
Only stayed one night....just an ok stay. The room was pretty much the same as when I stayed about 12 years ago....in need of an update.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Free coffee for early birds
Location: One block to beach. Other than that, you need to rent a golf cart.
For the price this was pretty low end. Renting transportation was critical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Chicago

Worth the money.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location on North Beach.
Cons: "Continental" breakfast was not much to talk about.
Location: .Dining/shopping/partying strip is walking distance,Rent a golf cart for a day for $ 45 a must. Also good snorkeling by lighthouse
We stayed in 1st floor cabana by the pool. It was quiet, beautiful plants surrounding the pool, nice pool chairs and hammocks. Outdoor fan on our patio was very helpful during hot evenings.