Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

HORRIBLE!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location was right on the beach and had a good air conditioner.
Cons: Everything: place under new owner/management, replace the staff and remodel everything.
Location: Great beach. Love Isla Mujeres. (See our review of Hotel Mia Reef next door.)
UNFRIENDLY/UNSANITARY. Would not recommend this even to an enemy. We are not hard to please people but this hotel was the worst experience of any we have every stayed at, bar none. The staff was unfriendly, untrusting. They charge you $150 aside from what you pay via Expedia as a deposit that they return if you don't lose a key or damage the room (what is there to damage? Everything in the Tower room we stayed in was old and beaten up.) The room had a lumpy hard bed with lumpy pillows. Besides that there was a wobbly little table with one chair, a small love seat (covered with a plain bed sheet) and an small old analog tv on a stand. No decorations. Nada, none, nil. The bath has no tub and the sink area worn and dirty. NOTICE: THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PUT YOUR USED TOILET PAPER IN A TRASH RECEPTICLE NEXT TO THE TOILET. FAILURE TO DO SO AND THEY WILL FINE YOU! (No, you cannot flush it down the toilet.) They give you a pass for what they consider a breakfast: either a cup of coffee or a small (dirty) glass of orange juice and two pieces of toast in a fly infested open restaurant. They also try to rent go carts for $50/day when you can get them from $25-35 many other places nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very near at the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2015
It's good except the people only few people understand English
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location, hotel staff, clean, comfortable
Cons: Wifi in rooms, shower head in castle suite 10, bar selection, happier bar staff. camera in the beach bar /hammock area (phone stolen as I napped)
Location: Location is great 40 yard from beach. Hammocks, yoga, multiple bars to catch the sun set.
Location is amazing! The room was decent and clean. The shower head could be replaced in the castle suite I stayed in (furthest from the bar area). The Hotel staff was very very nice and helpful, the bar staff just okay. On an island where everyone is super happy it was weird to see staff members that were plain ole indifferent. The were not bad they were not good just okay. Barr selections also limited here. Did not see the bugs mentioned in other posts. But I'm sure if you leave the screen less window, or balcony door open up you could see some bugs. I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Distrito Federal

Todo Ok.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: La cercanía a la playa
Cons: La atención del personal. La recepcionista prefería dar informes que entregarnos la habitación, aun cuando llegamos primero.
Location: El bar Buho´s muy bueno.
Limpio, cómodamente cerca de la playa, alberca pequeña pero bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

The perfect place on the perfect beach.

Posted May 23, 2015
Castle Room 1 overlooked the gorgeous beach. Near everything and well maintained!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach location

Posted May 18, 2015
Perfect location on the island. Your feet are in the sand when you step out of the hotel. We had an amazing ocean view from our balcony! I would highly recommend to anyone; especially to couples wanting a quiet getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted May 18, 2015
Nice room . Clean room . Staff not very friendly . Need wifi !! Charge for beach chairs ?!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key West

Nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Castle rooms were very private and quiet. We had room #8, on the second floor.From the balcony we could see a portion of the beach and ocean.
Location: Great location. Walking to Hidalgo (the main street) and all other streets in downtown area.
Nice hotel. Great location on Playa Notre. Walking distance to everything in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CO

Perfect inexpensive getaway spot!

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, close to the water, clean and cold water to drink.
Cons: The view off our balcony was blocked by the bar. See if you can ask for a better view.
We stayed for 3 nights at Cabanas Maria del Mar. The location was great. The beach North Beach is steps away, there is a bar between you and the beach for convenience, there is fresh filtered water available, and the air conditioners worked perfectly. We went out on the town each day and night and it is in a quiet enough area, and is super close to where you'd like to be to shop, drink, and try lots of local food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peacedale, ri

Isla Mujeres Paradise

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the close proximity to the beach, as well as the close proximity to the center of town, you could rent golf carts on site which was great
Cons: For the cost and location it is great
Location: Yes very close to beach shopping and food
We arrived on the island in the early afternoon and found a taxi to take us to the hotel, the staff was friendly warm and helpful. The proximity to the beach was great just steps from our room, the beach was clean and the water beautiful, the bar and restaurant were very accommodating, they have a continental that is meager but ordering from the menu we found to be very inexpensive and delicious , the location is ideal, a short walk from the center of town.