Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Madison, WI, USA

Not for the older crowd.

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: The food was very good.
Cons: Constant loud music.
Location: Location and beach were beautiful.
We were disappointed that it became a Hard Rock Hotel. The loud music was everywhere all day long. We couldn't even hear the ocean and it lacked the peace and calm we were looking for. We booked as "Cancun Palace" but when we got there it was "Hard Rock Hotel". This is fine for people that want that kind of experience, but we wanted something more restful and subdued. The beach was beautiful, but again loud music was blasted day and night. Our sense of calm was assaulted. I'm not sure why they wanted to take a beautiful natural beach and blast out our eardrums. I feel the music could have been kept inside a nightclub area and people wanting that experience could have it, while the natural setting could have been kept subdued and natural. They also started adding upcharges to everything from the trips to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lory from New York, NY, USA

Great place for your family

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: The service, the food, the pool, the beach
Cons: N/A
Location: exceptional
The hotel is beautiful, clean, good service and nice a ambiance. Perfect to go there with your family.
3 out of 5
by F.S. from Orange County, CA

I would not recommend this hotel for families.

Posted Aug 12, 2012
Pros: Japanese restaurant.
Cons: Too noisy.
It is not family type resort. The hotel was too noisy, drunk people screaming in hallway in the middle of night. The resort did not offer much of activities for all ages or decent entertainments at night. There were not enough towels or extra blanket in the room; the room was not cleaned until late afternoon. There were flood on the floor and leaky sealing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hold off on staying at this hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Variety of food, beautiful beach and kids club
Would have been nice to have been told that the hotel was in the middle of being changed to the Hard Rock hotel. But apparently no one thought it was important for us to be notified. The construction, painting, noise, and smell from new paint put a damper on our vacation. The check in process took too long despite the fact that we arrived in the evening. The keys wouldn't work and to get them recoded took over 20 minutes. The lobby was full of smoke, hot and stuffy from the Brazilian restaurant. The kids club, however, was great.
4 out of 5
by Laurie from CT

super place to vacation after the construction!

Posted Jul 7, 2012
Pros: the staff and the food!
Cons: construction and the STRONG ARMING to buy into the time share!
Location: just bautiful!
Unfortunatly the hotel is under going a major renovation to change over to a Hard Rock hotel, lots of construction, one of the pool bars was closed and tile work was being done, the tile saw was a bit much all day long. But the staff was super, and the food and drinks the best! most annoying is the constant PUSH to get you to join the club and become a member of the hotel chain!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great food and drink for a construction site

Posted Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Food & Drink
Cons: Unfriendly/unhelpful front desk Construction, Construction, Construction
Location: Under construction
My wife and I stayed three nights at Cancun Palace following three nights at the Valentin Imperial Maya (which is amazing BTW). The reason for splitting our trip was to attend a friend’s wedding at Cancun Palace. Check-in and check-out were chaos. Expect to wait in a long line in close proximity to an area of the hotel that is very noisy. This left us with a bad first and last impression. By default they expect you to attend a timeshare presentation. We had to explain why we would not be attending the presentation. Our room was pretty nice, but was surrounded by rooms that were under construction. The sounds of construction made for a great alarm clock that lasted all day. Also, our hot tub didn’t work and the front desk was unwilling to move our room. Construction was noticeable in nearly every area of the hotel. Several areas of the hotel were closed including pools and swim up bars. On a positive note food and drink were very good. Also, most of the service (absent the front desk) was very good. Lastly, they have an unexplainable protocol for airport transfers. Despite providing all of the relevant information at the time you make your transfer reservation – you must re-confirm your transfer reservation in person two days before departure. In summary, this place isn’t all that bad - but we’ve had better and for slightly less money. I guess we’ll re-consider this property when we have kids. Hopefully, they’ll be done with construction by then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Better than expected

Posted Jun 20, 2012
Just returned from a week at Cancun Palace with my wife and 4 kids (15, 12, 10, 8) and had a great time. They just finished the lobby bar but there is still some construction going on. It's not obtrusive and none of it affected our stay. Positives were the room (family deluxe, good size, clean, and reasonably quiet, the restaurants (Ciao was my favorite), the beach (clean and the waves great), the pool. The entertainment was average but I wasn't expecting much. The Magician was very good, the fire show was just ok. The mama mia show was poor (lip synching mediocre dancers). I didn't bother with the elvis show or the mexican night. My main negative was the transport company (Best Day), the guy at the hotel organizing the return shuttle was useless and didn't show up for multiple meeting times. eventually the hotel concierge sorted him out. The only other small negatives was pushing the time share at the check-in and exit and the whole resort credit thing which I thought was a waste of time. Anyway, those are small negatives and didn't affect my experience in any way. Overall, I had a great time. The kids loved the beach and the pool. the food and accommodation were better than expected. I think it's a great spot for families looking for a relaxing vacation. The Hard Rock renovations look nice and none of the construction affected my stay. Five stars!
1 out of 5
by Grace from Atlanta, GA, USA

Be careful

Posted Jun 14, 2012
Pros: The beach..
Cons: The fact that a lot of Hungary are closed do to the remodeling and no specail acomodations.
Location: Great location
The hotel was 50% closed it was under remodeling we were cheated and it's not nice to be awaken by a pinging noise from a hammer. They should tell gets so they can choose to stay in a hotel that is under construction and has 50% of the hotel closed . The only good out of the hotel was the bartender Alvaro he went out of his way to welcome us. Don't buy there time share legendary is a rip off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Under Renovation

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Location: ME Cancun looks very nice, and is less money.
If you don't mind staying in a place being torn up and construction going on. It's a nice place to stay. I however think it's not fair that I was not notified before I went, a restaurant closed, the lobby was being ripped up, the spa was closed. The pool is closing. It should be discounted, and we should've been told. The stars wouldn't stay there, or the wealthy owners under these circumstances. Why should I!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tue from California, USA

nice services and good food

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: services, food
Cons: noisy since it's under re-modeling, not much choice for credit offered by the hotel
Location: Cancun
Very good services and quality of the staff. Our kids love the pool and really enjoy staying in the hotel and the kids club. We stayed there for 4 days and had good experience, especially with the people in the hotel.