Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Astoria OR

This was the worst smelling dirtiest hotel I have

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: NOT ONE THING
Cons: Read comments everything
Location: Cancun is great it has nothing to do with Hotel
This was the worst smelling dirtiest hotel I have ever been in. The smell was like a sewer line had broke and the whole place smelt like that. They put a plastic cover over shower drain to keep smell stay out of room but it didn't work. The bed was just a box springs with no top mattress. I lifted sheet to make sure because it was so hard. The staff was extremely rude and when we went down to inquire why we did not have in room internet which we paid extra for the desk guy was sleeping on the couch in reception area? It wasn't late and we had to wake him and he just shrugged it off and said oh well. In the room was dirty dishes in cupboards. The bathroom was dirtier than most of the public restrooms I used on our trip. The pool that looks nice size in the pictures seamed to be 10x20? and only 2 foot deep. We only stayed 1 night out of the 10 we booked it was so bad. When we returned after breakfast we found the maid service had come , leaving slider open with all our belongings in room, balconies are only about 2 foot apart and even I as a over 50 yr old woman could climb into next room. this is definitely a pictures can be deceiving kind of motel. I am not a high class kind of person and I am not being a snob it was just awful, All I could say was "Honey, what did we do?"
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Jose Maria, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review and we understand that our property clearly did not meet your expectations. The internet service is FREE and covers rooms and lobby. Our maintenance staff is always willing to review any issue or incident that our guests report and, of course, they can require a room change if not comfortable. The pool is exactly as shown in our website and brochures of authorized travel agents. Please, consider our property a budget hotel that meets the basic standards for a 3 stars. Your report about the reception desk staff has taken in consideration ti improve our service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexicali

For sleep only

Posted Nov 9, 2014
If you go to Cancun to be outside all day, and dont want to spend money, its a good option.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Orange, New Jersey

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 17, 2014
I paid 35 dollars a night at this hotel and it had all the problems you would expect from an extra cheap hotel. There were yellow and orange stains on the towels, it took 10 minutes for the shower water to begin to get warm, the mattress had worn down springs and it was VERY uncomfortable and the decorative pillows were dirty! But for $35… really can't complain too much I guess. The continental breakfast was ok and the restaurant staff, although they didn't speak english (I speak a little spanish), had very good conversation. The view of the lagoon was very goo from the pool and the dock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Jose Maria, Hotel Management
We appreciate the objectivity of your comments about our property and note what you mention to improve the quality of our services. You are right, Imperial Laguna is budget property that meet the basic standards for 3 stars hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom s

Smells humidity

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Terrible hotel. Not recommend it. Very bad place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

IT WAS A REALLY NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO EVERYTHING.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: I LIKED EVERYTHING REALLY SATISFIED
Cons: EVERYTHING WAS GOOD.
I WAS ALWAYS PLEASED WITH THE SERVICE AND HOW THE STAFF TREATED GUESS.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by UBfrom Chicago

Horrible

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a motel and not a hotel. Certainly not for leisure. Only one word for this hotel - HORRIBLE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014
House keepers were excellent. The hotel it self was suitable for insects and homeless people.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jayfrom usa

so bad

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I travel alone, so I almost always stay in low budget hotels, but this place is so bad. It is so dirty and smells moldy, because there is mold everywhere. The refrigerator didn't work, the air conditioner was broken, the WiFi only works in the lobby. By the way the room I am commentating on was the upgrade, because I didn't even sit my bags down in the first room it was so bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures look much better than reality

Posted Mar 25, 2014
They transfer me to another hotel for two nights and asked me for money if i bring any guests. Overall hotel is not that good
2 out of 5
by Alenafrom California

hotel is to old, breakfest very poor, dirty lagoon

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Senor Edy in the reception
Cons: Change the aplyances, or better remodel this hotel.
Location: Location is in very quiet neighborhood, with walking distance to about 4 restorants and golfcourse.
The hotel is very old, the kitchenet in very poor condition, including the rosty refrigeratof and AC. The personel did the best to make us more confortable in this "oldtimer". Senor Edy in the reception was just wonerfull. The construction next door was unberable, day and night.