Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, if you don't mind below average

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Take more pride in the resort.
Check in was easy, from there they gave us a sheet to do an inventory of the kitchen dishes and stuff. Never had to do this before anywhere. Anyway found stuff missing or not the correct number to match the inventory check list. I called "0" and explained that I needed someone to come to the room and go over the sheet with me just to make sure I was reading it correctly. They said they would send someone right up, I waited 15 min. and no one had shown. I called again and they said they were on their way now. 15 or so more minutes and still nobody. I called once more and they said 5 more minutes. I waited ten and then went to the front desk to find out what was up and explain i was concerned my room didn't match the check list and did not want to get charged for items that were not there. Finally they got someone to the room and when we looked over the sheet they agreed things were missing. Not a great way to start a vacation, waiting in my room that long making that many calls instead of enjoying the pool and beach. Also quite surprised there is no ATM on the property, we had to walk to the neighbor resort to use theirs which with our luck wasn't working. Ended up having to walk down the road to a gas station and use the ATM there. Bathroom grout is gone/peeling/moldy. Toilet ran constantly, area rug in living room looked like it had had ash trays dumped on it for years and never cleaned. General cleanliness was not good in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from michigan

Perfect for Family of 5 looking for relaxation

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, beach area unmatched by other hotels in the area. Not crowded, friendly staff, cleaning of the suites daily was impeccable.
Cons: Restaurant food variety, all inclusive options. Improving the wii if access with a booster- patchy service was frustrating ( none in rooms)
Location: Aqua land right across street to arrange day to Isla Mujeres and other tours. Easy to jump on us to. South Cancun shopping and nightlife.
Oceanfront Master suite with the two bedrooms and two full baths, kitchen and living room was perfect for our family for a weeklong stay. Everything was immaculate. Loved the complementary water daily. Plenty of bedding and towels. The Emporio is well on its way to a 5 diamond hotel- branding will make this a wonderful destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by judy from Houston, TX

Awesome

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The way it is and was built
Cons: the front desk, they need to be more polite and friendly. Also the waiting time to the check in. I arrive at 2:40, and i do the check in at 4 p.m
Love everything about the emporio Hotel. It does not seems like a common 3.5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sebastian from New Jersey

Nice and calm, not a party place

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The view from our room was great, the balcony area was also a plus. The staff was welcoming, drinks were good also.
Cons: The room key situation could have been improved. Activities within the hotel. ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION WILL LEAD PEOPLE TO STAY IN THE HOTEL!
Location: Forum beach club, 10 min-drive. Nightclubs: Mandala/Mandala Beach Club/La Vaquita/Fat Tuesdays. Visit Chichen Itza and Xcaret!
My girlfriend and I decided not to do Miami for college spring break this year and since we have always wanted to visit Mexico, we decided it would be a good vacation/birthday present. We found this hotel, which was the cheapest out of all the other hotels on the strip, to us. We stayed 6 nights/7 days. The check-in was not bad at all, hotel staff was nice from the beginning to the end. The hotel itself was very nice, very welcoming. We stayed in an ocean-front room which was totally worth the extra hundred dollars, the view was amazing every night and day, we even saw an 'eclipse' one night, very nice. The moon was always bright at night; very romantic! However, we went to party and the hotel was not a party place, it was about a 10 minute drive, with traffic, from the Forum beach which is the 'party' beach, and where we spent most of our time. The beach crowd at the hotel was tranquil, sometimes barely any people out on the beach. Pool had a swim-up bar, which was empty 100% of the time, overall great hotel to go relax and enjoy with family, not with your young hyper girlfriend who wants to rave all the time! Anyway, hotel not all-inclusive, breakfast or lunch was about $20, not worth it though, and the drinks were good but again, not all inclusive so really no incentive to stay in the hotel. The room key did not work for us about 4 times, and all four times we had to wait about 10 minutes for them to get us a new one. Will come back, with future children! HA!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DB from Boston

Great hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Beach, Breakfast and Bar
Cons: Maid Service - activities -
Location: great location - easy access to bus, Cancun Museum directly in front, nice restaurants, etc
Very nice hotel - has a few things that need updating - but overall a beautiful property - very clean nice grounds - and one of the best beaches I've seen - and I've seen a lot. They need to brush up on the maid service and maybe add some activities or entertainment. Overall a very good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobbe from Indianapolis, IN

Going Back

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Comfort, right on the beach, spaciousness.
Cons: Would like to see a larger variety in the grocery store. We were limited as to what we could buy. The complimentary water and coffee was a wonderful
Location: This was a drawback. Although you could take the bus inexpensively, it would be nice to have a larger grocery/supermarket close by.
We loved our stay at Emporio. We had a beautiful 2 bed/2 bath suite right on the beach -- 3 ladies on their annual Ladies' Trip. We've stayed at several other places in Cancun over the past several years and rate this the best so far. We're planning to come back next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No crowds at pool or beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Cons: Wifi service. Restaurant on premise--food could be improved!
Should have wifi in rooms. Have to go to lobby to access emails and internet. Prefer the privacy of my room or balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This hotel met most of our needs. The staff were excellent and courteous. Always ready to accommodate and answered all questions. This was our first trip to Cancun and the Emporio Hotel was a perfect location. It was so easy to take a bus to downtown or the Isla Shopping Mall. The ocean view from our room was stunning. This hotel maintains a constant cleanliness. However, it was a bit difficult to get internet in our room. Internet is strongest in the public places. Even though the weather was hot & humid, our room was always cool & comfortable. The restaurants on site were good but a bit overpriced for what you got. The store on site is definitely expensive. For emergency supplies or snacks, there's a good inexpensive convenience store across the street. All the staff at the Emporio speak excellent English, so language is not a barrier. Even though this hotel advertises for families, one does not see a lot of children running around. This hotel is also very affordable. We would definitely stay at The Emporio again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by P from Philadelphia

Well-maintained hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
It was excellent. Had an amazing stay. Totally worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Family Budget Hotel at Hotel Zone

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I stayed at Hotel Emporio Family Suites, Cancun. The hotel is located at very famous Hotel Zone of Cancun and the beach behind the hotel is very knit and clean. This is good for families who wish to stay for longer period and those who want to cook by themselves. All the suites are having a nice kitchen and living room.