Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

The beach is beautiful.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: I liked how clean the overall facility was.
Cons: The food was horrible. The service was near horrendous as the staff were extremely insulting and rude.
Location: The location is not that great if you want to go downtown. It is a 25 minute ride. The Beach is beautiful though.
I did not have a pleasant experience here. I paid for 4 guests when paying through expedia and when we got to the hotel they stated we did not. So of course when checking in at midnight we decided to pay the $200 extra... Then at one point while we were gone, we had a do not disturb sign up, but when we got back we found that hotel staff had been in our room and left their bag of paperwork and handouts, which clearly was not supposed to be left. When confronted the hotel staff were extremely rude if not downright insulting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Sweet home!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The ocean view of the hotel is perfect! And the staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

perfect for large families or gropes

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: the foot wash and showers as your coming off the beach. slides in the kids pool.
two rooms opened into one big room easy but still able to close doors for privacy. hotel right on the beach with umbrellas to keep the sun off if needed 3 nice pools one for the little kids to play in. friendly and helpful staff. king bed was a little hard but ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Hotel iniciando con propuesta muy buena

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Hotel cómodo, bufete rico , habitaciones cómodas. Invonvenientes: Baño lejísimos de la playa como 50 escalones para llegar a él, no hay room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, Michigan

Quick Weekend Getaway during MLK Holiday 2015

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The beach!!! The pool. The flexibility of going out to eat, buying drinks at the deli or at the bar or bringing in our own drinks! Flexible.
Cons: The wifi in the lobby! This is a must! A little bit of life at night time would be good like vendors or some entertainment.
We opted out of the all inclusive food and drink. We were able to buy our own liquor and have it with us. The food buffet looked very good but we just wanted to eat in other restaurants. The pool and beach was impeccable. Not crowded, beautiful and plenty of space. They do NOT have nightly entertainment which was fine for us because we took the $10.5 peso bus ride down the strip. We really liked the flexibility of this hotel and the ocean view was awesome from our 6th floor room. Only weird thing is that we were not allowed to open the sliding door because the adjoining patio belonged to the Junior Suite next to us but since it was empty, we helped ourselves to the view! If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with great beach and quiet at night...this is the place. Only feedback to the hotel mgmt...upgrade the wifi connection in the lobby and throughout the hotel. Definitely will go again if we get the chance...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Beautiful property, but lacking some amenities

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The property is beautiful, but there were some negatives. As per other reviews I read before my trip, there is no Wifi outside of the direct lobby (you literally cannot access Wifi from 20 feet outside of the lobby), and the restaurant buffet is mediocre at best. The lobby staff were certainly not helpful with any simple requests, and beware of charges such as $25 for a lost beach towel or $75 for them to clean your kitchen dishes. Humorously, they provide you with no dish soap or scrubber, which makes it difficult to do your own cleaning. They encourage you to buy these things through their market/store. For as nice as the property is, and not being inexpensive, it is hard to understand why management doesn't improve these items. They were a common theme in the reviews I read.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Option to eat onsite restaurants.
Cons: Mexican food choices at buffet.
Location: Mayan Museum is right in front of hotel.
Stayed in a one bedroom suite. Comfortable king bed in bedroom. Two morphy beds in livingroom with a big terrace that had a great view of pool and ocean. Full kitchen and dining table. Nicely furnished. Grounds are well maintained and pools were clean and warm. Nice beach with palapas and chairs. Bought food at on site minimart and took bus to Kulkkulcan Plaza supermarket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Great family resort!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Cons: The kitchens are a bit dated and pots and pans could use an upgrade. Wifi only available in the lobby.
Emporio offers a no frills, no time-share pressure environment for a very relaxing stay in Cancun. Their units are very spacious with full kitchen which allows you to cook meals for convenience as well as save some $ vs. the all inclusive option. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly...................Nelson took wonderful care of us! Our check-in and check-out was very smooth. Our beach view from the 9th floor was beautiful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good Hotel, in front of the beach, good staff

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: rooms were excellent ... staff awesome and very kind ...
Cons: Food quality of both restaurants could be improved to meet the Hotel quality
Location: Capitan Cave restaurant is just in front of the Hotel ... is a must go place, very good food and place to spend some time.
Pleasant place, really peaceful and beautiful beach view ... sand being cleaned every day ... good mini market with reasonable prices. Staff were just awesome, very kind and helpful ... especially Jorge. Only one thing I was negatively surprised ... the breakfast wasn't included and it wasn't clear in the contract ... anyways it still a good Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hot Springs, Arkansas

Not what it used to be!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The breakfast buffet was good.. Not outstanding but good.
Cons: Everything at the hotel needs to be improved... especially the internet.. The lobby was full of people trying to access the internet all the time.
Location: Beach is very good..
I have stayed at this resort many times when it was the Royal Mayan. This was my first and last stay at the current Emporio. No internet except in the lobby and it is very spotty at best. When you check in, they give you a a list of access points and the passwords. None of them worked. I finally had to use my AT&T data during my stay to check my email etc. The breakfast that was included with the room was good. A man was the chanber maid for our room and he failed to leave toilet paper repeatedly. Our suite was a one bedroom with a full kitchen, however, there were no dish towels, no dish detergent and a rather caustic sign that basically said we do not clean the kitchen and the occupant is responsible. The store where you used to be able to buy groceries has changed dramatically is very limited compared to years past. The bed was comfortable... The staff were friendly but were not well trained... When I checked in, they copied my passport in case I wanted to change dollars to pesos. When I tried to purchase some pesos, they had lost the copy of my passport, so I returned to my room to get it and when I returned to the front desk, I was informed that they didn't have any pesos to change... I would say stay there as a last resort but if you can get in at the Royal Caribbean next door, you will have a much better time as there is internet service in each room and it works well...