Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Like Cold Showers?

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: It's in Cancun, so the beach is beautiful. Most of the staff is tip driven and friendly.
Like warm showers? Then stay at least 4 nights. Like good customer service? Then stay somewhere else. Want meals & drinks included? Not offered here. We stayed 3 nights and didn't have hot water until the morning we checked out. Staff came out the 2nd night, promised to return the next day to turn on the water heater. As of 3rd night still no hot water. Morning of the 4th day maintenance turned on the water heater....just as we're leaving. The front desk was no help, deferring to a manager that never appeared. I followed up over the course of 2 months with no resolution.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Disappointing experience

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Beach was very nice
Cons: Just about everything, mostly the service. I am a seasoned traveler and have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was one of the worst.
Front desk people were not helpful or well trained. Forgot to clean room twice. Too many steps to get to beach (67) Service in restaurant was horrible Food was OK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NASHVILLE,TN

EXCELLENT

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: SWIMMING POOL
Location: VERY GOOD LOCATION
EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.FOOD WAS GOOD THE ROOM WAS GOOD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Beach is beautiful.
Cons: See comments above.
Coffee makers are provided in the villa and you can buy coffee in their store, but not coffee filters. So, how does one make coffee? Very frustrating. There was also a dishwasher but no soap. Telephone and doorbell did not work. Had to have help turning the TV on. A kitchen towel would be nice. We are supposed to keep kitchen and dishes clean, but how?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grande Prairie, Canada

Very nice hotel located in the hotel zone cancun.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Good: Located in the heart of hotel zone in cancun. Almost walking distance to maya museam, el rey zone and playa delfines. Hotel staff is very nice and always willing to help. Breakfast was good and good variety of drinks in the pool and beach areas. Room had a really nice ocean view. Bad Wifi has to be improved. Almost no signal in the room and even in the lobby was pretty slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & Welcoming Family-Friendly Resort

Posted Nov 11, 2014
I can't say enough about the friendly and welcoming staff all around this place. We were traveling with our 6-year old daughter and she couldn't have been happier. If you have kids around that age they will love the pirate ship with the water slides. Our suite was the basic room, but was quite large with kitchen, living room with 2 Murphy beds & bedroom with a king bed, all of which opened up to a view of the pool and ocean. It is quiet and family-oriented, away from the crazy party zone. No charge for the beach lounge chairs, cool little beach bar with swings instead of seats, powder white sand and warm turquoise waters. Also, compared to the other hotels in the area, Emporio seemed to be more low-key and authentic. But really, what makes a place in the end is the treatment you receive from the people working there, and in that regard Emporio was excellent. My only negative would be that I wished the restaurant had more authentic Mexican food rather than food geared towards Americans & Europeans. But we did not do the all-inclusive and ended up eating at local delis instead so no big deal (although the breakfast buffet did look good). Anyway, we will definitely return! Muchas gracias!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guangzhou, China

Nice hotel great view

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: the view, the pools, and the sound system in the suite
Cons: It would be the best if cooking oil and salt can be provided or purchased in a small volume package.
We were upgraded to ocean view suites with a spectacular view and a small but nice kitchen. The private beach is small but not crowded. The pools are bigger than that of the other 4-star hotel we spent the first two nights. It's great for family. The kids are more engaged here, both in the pools and in the children's playroom. The kitchen is very handy - we cooked our own meals. Don't shop in the attached supermarket though -- it's far more expensive than the shops across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Everything was great- The only bad negative thing was not having The internet in your room- had to go to The lobby to be connected
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lagrange, Ga, USA

wonderful time

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: hotel staff was very professional and friendly
Cons: bigger room which they had , and I didn't know , but this was my first time so made note of it
Location: so much , for any age
All was good , time of year weather was a little rough , but was good anyway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Overall not much to complain about. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was not as touristy as other hotels on the strip. We had a great experience there. The only recommendation would be to the restaurants and bar located in the courtyard. The drinks, specifically margarita, were made from mixers instead of fresh lime juice. We were expecting at least decent margarita in the country of origin.