Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Best beach vacation ever

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Big room overlooking the ocean. Amazing pool and beach. Great staff. Overall 5++ stars.
Cons: Food was mediocre and overpriced, but who cares? With a kitchen you can make your own food!
Location: It's right next to the Mayan museum, which we visited twice because there was so much to see. we did have quite a bit of driving for other adventures
The Emporio is a PERFECT family hotel - the pool and beach are gorgeous, it's not overcrowded, it's quiet at night. Our room was amazing - huge living room with murphy beds, full kitchen, large master bedroom. The cleaning staff was amazing - even when we were just hanging out at the hotel for the day, they always found time to get our room clean. We loved the Emporio so much that we didn't do quite as much exploring as we had planned - we hung out at the pool and hotel. We ate their breakfast buffet once and dinner buffet twice. It was average, but then we had the kitchen so we cooked a lot and saved money there (so that we could spend it on other adventures!). If we ever go back to Cancun, I will not hesitate to book at Emporio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

Nice older hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The grounds and pools
Cons: For the price rooms are not adequate .
Location: Good location. You can take bus for about a dollar to get almost everywhere.
This is an older hotel. The rooms have some nice features (ex doors have intricate carving) but they really need to be updated. There are lots of steps (I say this for older folks). The grounds are well developed and beautiful. Pools are well kept and beautiful. Lots of steps to the beach. Breakfast buffet very good. Italian restaurant fair at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom china

close the besch

Posted Feb 28, 2015
only stay one night, but very like the view in front of the window.We have no chance to try some foods of hotel resterant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feb school break

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Stayed in two bedroom suite ocean view. We found beds very comfortabe room was clean. Poor WIFI was only con. Lovely view from balcony. Staff was very attentive. We had breakfast included which we liked very much. We had Arturo as our waiter many mornings, he is excellent. Dinner buffet was a bit tiresome after a couple of nights , but it always included plenty of veg and fruit. I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Nice hotel but bathrooms need updating.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location/beach/restaurant/cleanliness.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating desperately.
Location: Very good.
Check-in was easy. We were early and they let us use the facilities. Difficult for my husband to maneuver with his mobilities scooter. Beach was not possible for him. Food was good. Beach was beautiful. Rooms very nice except for the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Feb 27, 2015
It was beautiful, well kept, spotless. The staff was very nice, only a language barrier, but that was to be expected. Right on the water. The beach was pristine as were the pools. I would stay there again & again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Deceptive Marketing. Fine for families.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean and comfortable room.
Cons: More beach chairs. More food selection. Some entertainment.
Location: Location was fine, hotel zone, good bus services.
I booked and ocean view room and was given a room by the kiddie pool. They do not have the rooms listed like normal hotels. ex. garden/pool, ocean view, beachfront which is usually a walk out. The only way to get a room facing the ocean is took book "beachfront". I found to be incredibly deceptive. No privacy on balcony, in fact unless you book a two bedroom suite, YOU SHARE A BALCONY. That is unbelievably dangerous, particularly for woman traveling alone. Nightlife was nonexistent. No entertainment what so ever, not even water aerobics. Bar closed at 11. Only two restaurants. Both were forgettable. Not enough beach chairs at all. Staff was friendly. City bus service is awesome and cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Wonderful accomodations!!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Awesome hotel ... Stay was wonderful and the staff was very helpful!!! Would definitely stay here if ever back in Cancun! Wifi could be updated but other than that is was sooooooo awesome!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

It was OK

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Awesome beach view with mostly a staff that wants your vacation to be enjoyable.
Cons: The property needs several updates probably a total renovation with large walk-in showers and modern amenities. Heating the pool would be a huge asset
Location: Great location with plenty of restaurants in Cancun
Quick check-in with the bellman ready to take us to our room. Fantastic view as we rented an oceanfront suite king bed and kitchen. First observation was how the property had aged since we visited 5 years prior when it was The Royal Mayan, a lot of wear and tear. We realized Emporio had taken the property over about a year ago and they will have a lot of maintenance issues to resolve. Patio doors that difficult to open and broken locks, dirty draperies, worn and dated kitchen with a strong odor of mold, bathroom likewise is well worn. If memory serves me correct the property is 30 years old and there's no shame in the amount of use it has had. Everything has it's price and this was a reasonable price for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Emporio!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
This resort is midsize. Not too big, not too small. Excellent beachfront location with beautiful, clean white sand beach. Excellent and easy hotel to beach access. My husband and I walked the entire hotel zone and by far, the Emporio had the best beach. Very clean, no seaweed (they clean it nightly), and easy short walk from your room to the ocean. We had a beachfront suite (well worth the extra money between a beach view), and view was out of this world! We also booked two rooms (546 A and B) so my husband and I had privacy from our three teenage girls. The resort was spotless with 2 very nice pools (the smaller one is good for small kiddos as there is a water feature for them to play on). The staff very courteous and helpful. This property sits at the center of the hotel zone so it's easy to travel either side of the hotel zone. This is a perfect spot for families and your teens as it's quiet and relaxing. Not so good for Spring Breakers!