Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom y

Ok hotel good staff. Beach is on your doorstep

Posted Mar 5, 2015
It was a decent hotel. The staff were overall nice. Very few could not speak a word of English but heh. I'm in Mexico! Food could be better. More of a choice would be good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous vacation! Will return.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: We loved how friendly the staff was. They really go out of their way to make their guests comfortable.
Cons: Wifi wasn't very good.
Location: This resort is in the middle of everything. Lots of restaurants and shopping all around.
We stayed from 2/28/15 to 3/3/15 and had the best time. This place was wonderful. Staff was so friendly and made sure we had the best vacation possible. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Rooms were nice and clean. Food at the buffet is second to none. We loved it. We will definitely return to this resort. Beach was absolutely beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Mediocre

Posted Mar 4, 2015
we had issues with our room keys which was an inconvenience since we had an ocean view room, so we had to walk all the way to the front desk. Restaurant staff was nice unlike hotel staff, we had issues with our reservations and the front desk manager was unhelpful and unapologetic to our situation. I would never recoment hotel to anybody. I have worked in customer service for 7 years so I am fully aware of how to accommodate and take care of any customer. I found it insulting since we did stay there for a whole week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Best beach vacation ever

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Big room overlooking the ocean. Amazing pool and beach. Great staff. Overall 5++ stars.
Cons: Food was mediocre and overpriced, but who cares? With a kitchen you can make your own food!
Location: It's right next to the Mayan museum, which we visited twice because there was so much to see. we did have quite a bit of driving for other adventures
The Emporio is a PERFECT family hotel - the pool and beach are gorgeous, it's not overcrowded, it's quiet at night. Our room was amazing - huge living room with murphy beds, full kitchen, large master bedroom. The cleaning staff was amazing - even when we were just hanging out at the hotel for the day, they always found time to get our room clean. We loved the Emporio so much that we didn't do quite as much exploring as we had planned - we hung out at the pool and hotel. We ate their breakfast buffet once and dinner buffet twice. It was average, but then we had the kitchen so we cooked a lot and saved money there (so that we could spend it on other adventures!). If we ever go back to Cancun, I will not hesitate to book at Emporio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

Nice older hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The grounds and pools
Cons: For the price rooms are not adequate .
Location: Good location. You can take bus for about a dollar to get almost everywhere.
This is an older hotel. The rooms have some nice features (ex doors have intricate carving) but they really need to be updated. There are lots of steps (I say this for older folks). The grounds are well developed and beautiful. Pools are well kept and beautiful. Lots of steps to the beach. Breakfast buffet very good. Italian restaurant fair at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom china

close the besch

Posted Feb 28, 2015
only stay one night, but very like the view in front of the window.We have no chance to try some foods of hotel resterant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feb school break

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Stayed in two bedroom suite ocean view. We found beds very comfortabe room was clean. Poor WIFI was only con. Lovely view from balcony. Staff was very attentive. We had breakfast included which we liked very much. We had Arturo as our waiter many mornings, he is excellent. Dinner buffet was a bit tiresome after a couple of nights , but it always included plenty of veg and fruit. I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Nice hotel but bathrooms need updating.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location/beach/restaurant/cleanliness.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating desperately.
Location: Very good.
Check-in was easy. We were early and they let us use the facilities. Difficult for my husband to maneuver with his mobilities scooter. Beach was not possible for him. Food was good. Beach was beautiful. Rooms very nice except for the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Feb 27, 2015
It was beautiful, well kept, spotless. The staff was very nice, only a language barrier, but that was to be expected. Right on the water. The beach was pristine as were the pools. I would stay there again & again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Deceptive Marketing. Fine for families.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean and comfortable room.
Cons: More beach chairs. More food selection. Some entertainment.
Location: Location was fine, hotel zone, good bus services.
I booked and ocean view room and was given a room by the kiddie pool. They do not have the rooms listed like normal hotels. ex. garden/pool, ocean view, beachfront which is usually a walk out. The only way to get a room facing the ocean is took book "beachfront". I found to be incredibly deceptive. No privacy on balcony, in fact unless you book a two bedroom suite, YOU SHARE A BALCONY. That is unbelievably dangerous, particularly for woman traveling alone. Nightlife was nonexistent. No entertainment what so ever, not even water aerobics. Bar closed at 11. Only two restaurants. Both were forgettable. Not enough beach chairs at all. Staff was friendly. City bus service is awesome and cheap.