Ratings based on 2,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel with a great staff and incredible accommodations. Could not have been happier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: More shops.
Beautiful resort, great location, wonderful staff, very nice rooms, we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Napa, Ca

30th Anniversary Stay-Don't hesitate booking here!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Giving times of Housekeeping for each building would be nice. We were in building 5 and the cleaning staff arrived daily when we were getting ready
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Fantastic week

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: See above - food, drinks, staff, swimming, activities, games, entertainment . . .
Cons: Needed to figure out how to turn off the ceiling fan. Too cold in the room at night.
Location: We stayed on the grounds, but friends did the whale shark trip and were very happy
The grounds and buildings are impeccably maintained. The staff is absolutely wonderful. We were greeted with "Welcome Home" and a cool cloth to freshen us, and mimosa drinks after the ride from the airport. The pools and lazy river are ready whenever and wherever you want a swim. Wonderful nightly entertainment preceded by live music and dancing. Always creative drinks steps away. Carlos makes a very nice espresso martini at the Martini Bar in the main building. Veronica will keep you happily moving. We ate and drank plenty, but only gained one pound due to Veronica's Latin Dance, Bike ride, swim aerobics, water volleyball, to list a few. No wonder she is in such good shape and always smiling. The food is great and very international. HobieCat is lots of fun. OK, from the first day, we were saying :we're coming back!!!"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Genuine Desire to Please

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! Most important - Employee's desire to please Entertainers: Veronica,Elias,Felipe, & Alejandro - Outstanding job! Unforgettable fun
Cons: Front desk didn't warn me there were two ferry's to Isla Mujeres, 30min ferry and 3hr ferry. We unfortunately bought tickets to the wrong one.
Location: Beautiful & lush. Free Sailboats!!! Isla Mujeres - Rent a golf cart, grab some beers and cruise around the island taking pictures, eating and shoppi
After months of research for my honeymoon, I came to the decision to go to the Cancun area, where I would get more for my money. I wanted it to be relaxing, easy, and straightforward on the pocketbook! What I ended up with was the most amazing vacation I have ever had and the strong desire to return with my family and friends. The Excellence hotel exceeded in every aspect of the trip; the rooms, the bars, the restaurants, the pools, the beach, the activities, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, every single employee's genuine desire to please you and make it a trip you will never forget. This hotel establishes its relationship with you from the first step of your arrival, throughout your entire trip, until the time you hop in your car to leave. Not one time during the entire trip did I feel as if the employees were annoyed by the guests, which I have felt at other resorts that costs far more. If you need something at Excellence, just ask and it is delivered immediately, from an employee exuding a smile and giving the happiest greeting. Price: Absolutely no "nickel and diming". Take $100 w/ u and leave w/ $100 in ur pocket. U will feel the desire to tip a few bucks many times throughout the days, so split that $100 up. Food: All 9 restaurants are delicious- Not your 5 star, $100/plate restaurant, but better than 4 stars Bars: Everywhere you turn, super friendly bartenders make anything desired. Entertainment: excellent from morning til late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great place with outstanding staff! Everything r

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Excellent!!!! Best place in Mexico. Unbelieveable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The absolute best vacation you will ever have!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The service, the serenity, the food, the everything!
Cons: The bed is a little over firm.
Location: We took a taxi into Cancun for a few hours for some shopping. Seriously, next time I won't leave Excellence at all.
The property and staff were amazing! They make you feel welcome and pampered everywhere you go. The restaurants were really good. The lunch at the Tuscana restaurant is soooo good! Spice is a really great place for some sake and sushi in the evening. The Eggs Benedictine are the winner for the breakfast room service. There are pools with every degree of rowdy-ness you are looking for. Up until 5:00pm the swim up bar under the Lobster House is the spot to be. After dinner there is usually a quite good band towards the front of the property outside of the Martini bar. Usually there is a show in the adjacent theatre - good stuff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellence!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This hotel was amazing, the staff was great! The couples massages at the spa is a must do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Went here on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved everything. They made it so special, it was the best time ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Excellence

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. The resort was amazing. All staff was friendly. The pool and lazy river were the best parts. Would definitely come back