Ratings based on 2,335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Wonderful experience!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Awesome!!! Everything was just perfect! Outstanding service, a bit expensive but no regrets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres

Posted Sep 16, 2014
My wife and I went with 2 other couples on a 5 day 4 nights stay. It was an amazing experience. We decided to go with the excellence club upgrade and it was well worth it. As part of excellence club the check-in/check-out process is a breeze with no wait. Also, you get access to a area of the beach with covered chairs reserved on the beach. Overall, the place is great and will def. plan to return. All restaurants are great esp. the Indian and French restaurant. Mix of lively entertainment and relaxation is great for a vacation. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. This is def. the one of the best resorts in Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Vacation

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Everything. The rooms, the service, the grounds, the food, they even raked and smoothed the beach through out the day. The Spa was also fantastic.
Cons: We wished there was a ceiling fan on our patio, but that is really over the top.
Location: There are plenty of snorkeling and archeological excursions near by. A parasailing boat and dive boat actually picked people up at the beach.
We were greeted with champagne upon our arrival and the attention continued throughout our stay. The staff was very attentive and did everything possible to service the guests. Everyone spoke very good English and always made a point to address you in English rather than Spanish. However, they were very happy to help you learn Spanish terms and phrases when you expressed interest in doing so. The facilities were immaculate and the staff was always busy keeping them beautiful. I only wished I could have compensated the grounds keepers and unseen maintenance staff that worked so hard to keep the resort so beautiful. The lawns and corridors were kept in tip-top condition daily. Unseen people came and gathered any used pool towels or empty drink glasses left on your patio at night so it was fresh and clean the next day. Lawn workers raked the garden areas close to the rooms daily to insure no trash was visible at any time. The staff worked so hard every day to set up special theme lunches and dinners that were always done to perfection. Everyday at the beach palapa featured a new lunch theme and it was created fresh every time. There were plenty of activities on the grounds - bike rides, tennis, fitness center, yoga classes, stand up paddle boards, kayaks, jet-skis, ceramics painting, archery, plus much more. The wait staff everywhere was very accommodating and eager to please. The entire resort was a wonderful experience and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa fe, NM

Impeccable service!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Best service we have experienced anywhere! The property was gorgeous and clean. The views and beaches were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas ciry

Absolutely awesome

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Our friends recommended this hotel to us and it totally exceeded our expectations! The staff were exceptional workers and friendly. The food was excellent! Every restaurant had good food, they had buffets throughout the day in random places like the beach or pool area. The hotel was clean and pretty well kept. I would recommend taking bug spray for the chiggers and taking plenty of sunblock, if you buy it at the resort it $35.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

Nice adult only resort.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The only bad thing about our stay, was that it was too short. the pools were great, alcohol, and food was incredible. You were treated like you are in the elite class and that was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Dream Vacation

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The resort was so beautiful. I knew Mexico would be nice, but I didn't expect it to be so gorgeous. We loved the resort and can't wait to go back.
Cons: A tip: The resort is hot, it is Mexico. I wore Maxi dresses to dinner and sweat like crazy in the restaurants, and that was May. Dress light!
We stayed as a couple this past May. I must say, it was an amazing trip. We travel often, and have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts, but this is by the far our favorite. I can be a bit hard to please when it comes to traveling and we took a long time to choose between all the resorts Cancun. Close to our trip we read some neg reviews (mainly about construction which we never experienced) and were a little weary. However, from the moment we stepped foot on the property, we were in love. PROS Grounds: Breathtakingly beautiful & super clean Staff: Everyone was so friendly & helpful Beach: The excellence club beach was amazing. I would be inclined to book EC for the beach alone. While the regular beach was nice, they had plastic chairs and the scenery wasn't as tropical. The excellence club beach was a different world and the service was impeccable. I read a few reviews that said the ocean wasn't the best for swimming/wading in but it was super warm and we loved that it was so shallow Room: We got a rooftop terrance in the EC, building 6 i believe. The room was gorgeous. And the rooftop terrace with the plunge pool was unreal. The only negatives would be that our room was warm the entire visit. The thermostat would only go so low and it was uncomfortable at night. We let our concierge know, but it remained warm. Also, next time we will do EC but will opt for a suite instead. The RT was beautiful but we didn't use it enough to justify the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helendale, Ca

Our Wonderful Anniversary in Cancun

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We loved this place. Customer Service was Excellent. Lots of restaurants, no reservations needed and the food was Yummy. Make sure to have a Couples Massage! Everything about this hotel was Beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Gorgeous resort situated on spacious grounds. Suites are private with stunning ocean and resort views. Service was incredible in every aspect. Location is perfect and only a short drive from downtown Cancun. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellence is excellent

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Stayed at riviera maya location 4 years ago and has high expectations that were absolutely met and exceeded in some ways. Top knotch high quality food and service. Outside bartenders waitstaff, to inside and restaurant servers. They all aim to please and do not miss! Our terrace room was fantastic. Terrace was huge With a well kept pool and plenty of seating outside and beds. They recognized us as past guests and anniversary travelers and immediately acted on it by giving us some nice perks for dinner. Discounts on spa and wine bottles. Spa service was very good too. So maybe you're saying.. Why not 5/5? My only gripe is their lack of premium liquor. I know 4 years ago at their sister location I was able to go to at least the martini bar and have a goose or ketel one drink. I was told by repeat guests to just ask and I did ask everywhere. However, I did ask everywhere and there was nothing except Smirnoff, absolut, svedka. Not the best stuff if u like a diff martini or a drink neat or rocks. Otherwise, id go back no questions asked!