Ratings based on 2,723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: the resturants were excellent.
We reserved a king size bed, but none was available until the next day. We reserved over 7 months in advance and could not unpack until the next day to move into a room that had a king size bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Awesome as always.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
4th stay here and it was lovely as usual. While the consistency with the food has not been there the last 2-3 times, this stay was better than last. Other improvements were more floaties, less crowded, great concierge service (Thanks Gloria!), and a new Sports Bar and coffee shop. This really is my happy place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Lack of communication

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Good Hotel with very good amenities and hard working staff. What lacks is communication among the staff. You will have to personally make sure that what you asked for is happening or not. I was very disappointed, since I have some dietary issues and restaurants in the resort weren't informed or prepared for it. That happened, after notifying concierge 3 times (24 hrs, 12 hrs and 1 hr before we went to the restaurant of our choice). Restaurants try their best to accommodate us. But many can't. And we don't pay $1000 per night to be accommodated. I would expect a quality treatment for the price, which I didn't get due to lack of willing to communicate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha NE

Very nice resort.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach, swim out room
Cons: A/C was having hard time keeping up but they did everything they could to accommodate us by bringing a fan to help cool the room
Location: Good location. Only a few resorts along this stretch of beach
Great place. Check-in was fast and seamless. We were upgraded to the excellence club without even asking. We were in the pool view swim up room which was very nice. The air conditioning in the room didn't seem to maintain a very even temp so it would get a little warm in the room. I called the front desk and they had maintenance come check it and they said it was working. I requested a fan and they did bring one to the room. I don't think this is uncommon as I have stayed at many resorts in Mexico and because of the heat and humidity in this area it is hard to maintain really cool room temps. The food as a whole was very good. French restaurant was exceptional. Buffet had a wide variety to choose from and was what I would consider a good all inclusive style buffet. Room service was good and always came quickly and was the appropriate temperature. Pool area and beach were both very nice. The staff was very friendly and eager to help in any way. Ever at the pool was out waiter and he was a great guy. He kept us supplied with drinks and would get us food if we asked. We treated him good and tipped him regularly which is optional but only seems fair for the good service. Overall A great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Great group trip

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Awesome trip with friends! This will be short and sweet. Pros: Excellent wait staff, service was always great, pools and facilities were well maintained and clean. Beach was clean and didn't have the people trying to sell you things we've run into at other resorts. Room was awesome with great amenities and always stocked with beer and liquor. Felt like a VIP the entire trip. Cons: East facing beach means no beach sunsets (if you've looked at a map of Cancun you probably already know this, still a con though). Beach was relatively small. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, hallway was noisy outside of the room. Restaurants don't take reservations and EPM touts this as a benefit, but at least for a group of 6 or 8 like we had this was a BIG problem because it made it very difficult to get seats together. The French restaurant did go out of their way one night to accommodate our entire group of 15 so we appreciated that. Overall a great experience and we would definitely go back. Went to Couples Swept Away for our honeymoon and it was a more intimate setting that we liked for the two of us, but with a group of friends Excellence Playa Mujares lived up to its name!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Awesome Anniversary!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, the staff, the food, the nightly music and entertainment.
Cons: The beds.
Location: We stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres. You can take a boat ride over to Isla Mujeres.
We love this resort, the staff is unbeatable, the service and food is outstanding. We were celebrating our anniversary and the anniversary package that we received was outstanding! We booked the roof top room and it was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience at Excellence

Posted Apr 14, 2015
From the minute you walk through the front doors you are welcomed with a cold towel and champagne. The experience never disappointed. We had a two story roof top room with private paddle pool, and it was beautiful. We highly suggest it. The spa was the most amazing part, so relaxing and a truly unique experience. The beach is amazing and lazy river is so relaxing. Food is good we highly recommend the French one better service, see Angel, his is wonderful. Martini bar is awesome and the night entertainment is great. A very memorable time and we can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Exceptional facility and service

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Not much.
Location: We stayed at the resort since it was extremely relaxing and beautiful
The rooms in the hotel are very clean and well maintained and have granite walled showers and floors and exceptional amenities, including jetted tubs and easy access to exterior balcanies with sitting areas and tables / chairs. The staff are exceptionally friendly and focused on guest needs. The hotel grounds are a huge tropical garden complete with exceptional lighting at night and access to the beach. It was our first trip to Mexico, but hopefully not our last. After visiting Hawaii 10 times previously, the short flight to Mexico was a pleasant change and the surroundings and weather were not far behind the Hawaiian experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom akron, ohio

Total pampering

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: I could have lived without the sound of the jet skis going by but that's because I really like a quiet beach
Location: We never left the resort. Didn't have to
Loved this place. Very attentive staff, beautiful rooms, surprisingly good food, beautiful long beach. Couldn't ask for anything better. Highly recommend this resort of you're looking for total relaxation. The main pool area is great if you want to party and socialize but there's a lot of other pools if you want to sit and enjoy the quiet. We stayed in the club area and it was worth the extra money One recommendation, bring some ones for tipping. Although it's not necessary as its all inclusive it's very much appreciated. And the service is so good you'll want to tip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san antonio

Wonderful all inclusive

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Wonderful place. The best. Great entertainment. Fun pool and beautiful beach. You won't regret it.