Ratings based on 2,590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st.louis

Glorious Getaway

Posted Jan 23, 2015
My boyfriend and I jetted down to this heavenly resort for a few days of R&R. With so many choices in the area it was a bit challenging but we didn't regret our decision at all. In order to be concise i will list the highlights (which were many) and just a couple things that could of been a bit better. Pros: The rooms are immaculate and super comfortable - we had a swim up suite and enjoyed it so much! Room service is a great way to enjoy breakfast on your patio in relative privacy and we did that every morning. The drinks are exceptional - no watered down low end liqours here. Just wonderful Mango Margaritas and Chocolate Martinis! (those were our faves!) The pool area and lounge areas beside the pool combined with the landscaping are so gorgeous i couldn't stop snapping pics! The service was so naturally friendly and accomodating - very impressive! The dining choices are many and we appreciated that - Asian, French, Mexican, Seafood, Tapas, Indian and more plus a casual Beach Buffet and Pizza which was fun if you want to stay out in your bathing suit and eat a bite. Negs: I really really wish they provided a shuttle service to and from the hotel. The extra $168.00 for 2 roundtrip transfers seemed like a lot of $$ to pay. It was professional and a very nice private, timely service but i feel it should be part of the package? Restaurant portions are pretty tiny and i overheard some guests commenting that they would eat at two places - one for appetizers and one for entree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
The hotel in excellent. Great daily activities facilities and overall impeccable service. Restaurants in the hotel are booked up every night and I can be frustrating waiting for a table but the food is nice. Only negative is that is costs £10 to get a taxi into cancun downtown and more if u want to travel further. The prices for day trips given in the hotel are higher than if u book in town. Also don't buy chilli sauce or powder in tourist shops as they r much cheaper in supermarkets.chichen itza cenote Isla mujeres and Delphine beach recommended x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Excellence Playa Mujeres Overall nice place!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Pool Food Beverages Service Friendliness of staff Entertainment
Cons: Had to wait to get into the restaurants. Bathroom doors are see thru glass including the toilet. That was worst mistake in the design of place.
Overall this place was nice and we would go back and I also recommend it. Like all places it has things that are done well and things that need improvement. The food was the best I have eaten in any all inclusive resort that I have been to and there are many. The staff was super friendly and spoke almost perfect English. The alcoholic beverages are premium with lots of good brands and take it from me, I am in the alcohol business. It is about a 35 minute drive from Cancun Airport. The beach was just OK. The Excellence in Punta Cana's beach is way better. The pools were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only downfall was that we had a problem with people above us and when reported,we never heard back from guest services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Had a great first time experience.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: liked proximity to the beach, towels, service was always friendly, most of the food was great...especially liked the French restaurant, Chez Issabelle
Cons: Security, didnt like the idea of so many people entering our room through the day, missing item. Healthier snack options for fridge...item menu.
Location: Secret River excursion was wonderful...takes time to get places so be patient.
Everything was great....wonderful food. Service was always friendly....met with champagne and scented towels. Well informed about what was available.....enjoyed riding bikes and they were gracious to lend us one when they were being serviced since we were leaving the nextday. Beach was being cleaned a lot by tractors...so not the greatest beach time due to the stink and noise on those days...but still beautiful and was not enough to ruin the time. Just the seaweed time of year I guess. Kayaks werefun and free to take out. Emmaculate grounds....never dirty...anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denton

Beautiful facility, Bad food

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: facilities was amazing
Cons: Have hot meals offer anniversary oprotunities
Location: Mayan ruin tour and sink hole swimming was awesome
You will be blown away by the look of the facility. Lush palms and immaculate rooms. There is almost too much vegetation as to block the view of the ocean. The hydro therapy at the spa is a must. The issues arise when it comes to mealtime. We stayed 4 nights and had 1 meal entire time we were there that was hot (Italian). On our anniversary we noticed many other couples had roses on their tables as well but did not even get this service offered. I wish there had been more activities at night after the little show they had. It was too windy for us to try out the water sports so I cant comment on that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Excellence is excellent

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This resort is by far outstanding with their service and everything else. The facilities are beautiful and they will try to do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta , Canada

First time to an Excellence resort

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Cons: Not being able to make reservations for dinner was a major stickling point for us especially as part of the Excellence Club.
We spent 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years and enjoyed our stay very much. The resort offered all we had hoped for and more that we didn't even get to try. Staff was friendly and helpful from start to finish. We especially enjoyed the Excellence Club lounge for a quiet break for lunch on many of the days. Food there was constantly changing and good quality. We enjoyed all of the restaurants offered. "Special" dinners offered to us in the Mexican restaurant Agave and the Indian one Basmati were especially good. We found the menus offered at each restaurant to be different and varied. It is important to remember that it is an all inclusive so the restaurants are good but perhaps not at a Las Vegas level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Great hotel, great service!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Amazing people and service there
Cons: better shampoo and conditioner
We stayed 5 nights at EPM and spent most of the days at the resort. Did two excursions (1 with Alltournative to Tulum and Dolphin Discovery). We loved the resort! It was great. Only things to note which could potentially be improved - the shampoo can be a little drying so if you have finicky hair, bring your own! Second, beware of the mosquitos!! Bring bug spray and check your room at night to prevent those buggers from getting you. Otherwise, the service and everything at the hotel was fantastic! The food was pretty good - breakfast as Toscana for the buffet is quite good and varies a bit daily. Lunch we had the pizza, Lobster house, and Toscana which were all great choices. Dinner we had Spice ( I recommend lining up at 5:45pm at the restaurant to sign up for the Habachi), Chez Isabelle, Flavour market (great service there and great for late night bite!), Toscana (I recommend the Ossobucco), and Agave (everything is amazing there and Wilberth is an amazing server and goes out of his way to do everything for you!). Finally, I noticed a lot of people didn't tip. We usually tipped $2-4 dollars for breakfast, $5 for lunch and $10 for dinner for two people in total - which the staff really appreciated. These guys make below minimum wage and so any tip is greatly appreciated, and they really go out of their way for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Beautiful....just what you want in a vacation

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Grounds, room was beautiful.
Cons: Music at the pool and breakfast buffet. Gym was really tight.
Location: N/A as we didn't leave the property.
We had a lovely time - everything was so well manicured and beautiful. Classy crowd. Our only recommendation is to improve the breakfast buffet and NEVER have the band with a women that was singing awful 90's music (we wanted more Spanish! Came to Mexico to get away from the US for a while!).