Ratings based on 2,650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Highland, MI

Very nice property with wonderful service

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Wonderful service, some of the pools are heated which is very nice, good variety of restaurants and bars and the entertainment was good too.
Cons: The bathroom configuration could be better. If you get up in the middle of the night you will most likely wake up your significant other.
Location: The property is about 30 min. north of the Cancun airport and 15 minutes from Cancun. You look out at Isles Mujeres which is accessible by ferry.
I have been to Mexico about 15 times and this property has the best service. A nice feature is that 1/2 of the pools are heated which we enjoyed. The lazy river is fun and goes around much of the property which is very well maintained and nicely landscaped. There is a very good variety of restaurants and bars. The French was our favorite (Sea Bass) followed by the Lobster House (Lobster and clam chowder). If you want a casual lunch where you are in your bathing suit without a shirt there is a beach buffet with drinks and entertainment as well as a pizza oven at a bar adjacent to the pool. There are other lunch options in the restaurants as well. The bars carried premium booze such as Crown Royal, Bacardi and Baileys and they had Mexican beers as well as Bud and Bud Light. The lobby martini bar was beautiful and carried everything. You could not walk more than 50 yards away to find the next bar. The rooms were very nice and we really loved the balcony as it is very spacious with a table and chairs as well as a heart shaped bed. The bathroom shower was awesome with lot's of hot water and pressure. The configuration was a little open and if you went to the bathroom during the night you would wake up the person you are with. The entertainment in the courtyard as well as the theatre was very good and we took advantage of that most every night. From the beach you look out at Isles Mujeres which is accessible by ferry. There is a marina about .1 mile away via the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

Service

Posted Mar 3, 2015
All of the employees have eye contact, greet you every time, are very kind and considerate. The service they give is above and beyond, they make everyone feel special!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arkansas

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We have been to Mexico several times and have stated at numerous hotels. This was by far the best place yet and I will be planning a return trip! The food was great and the staff helpful and friendly. For someone wanting to relax and waited on this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Excellent adults only resort

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Fantastic experience. We have stayed at a Sandals and Secrets and this easily topped them all. Great service with everyone being friendly and helpful. The food at each restaurant was great with all top shelf alcohol. The only downside is nightlife as the shows were great but things ended at 11 and no DJ or dancing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmington, NC

Great Second Visit to Excellence

Posted Feb 27, 2015
This was our second year at the resort. It was wonderful again! The facilities are beautiful! Plenty of space to lounge and never felt crowded. Make sure to enjoy the free sailboats on the beach- great way to see that beautiful blue water. The spa services were fabulous. We also enjoyed the 'club level' that included a lounge area and special area on the beach. Service was excellent in all areas!! The only improvements I would suggest would be in the area of meals/food. Most meals were very nice, but in a couple of the restaurants I felt as if they were rushing us in and out instead of going at our own pace. Disappointed in the wine, but overall the quality of food/beverage was good. Portions are small but that gives you a chance to try appetizers and dessert! I would definitely recommend this to friends and hope to go back to one of the Excellence properties in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom US

fantastic we plan on coming back

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful, the grounds lush and well manicured, and most importantly everyone made us feel welcome, smiled and would go out of their way.
Cons: My only issue was the 60-90 min wait for dinner every night, if it wasn't for gwen helping us out we would've ordered room service every night
Location: plenty of water sports right on the beach, shopping not too far away we took a cab, about 50-70 dollars each way a lot quicker than bus.
Gwendolyn and Job our day and evening concierge contacts were phenomenal. they went above and beyond making our stay extraordinary. I had credit card /cell phone issues. (forgot to notify them i was out of country). they were extremely helpful in aiding me to fix my problem. Also Gwen assisted us by making our dinners more convenient to our schedule. I can't thank her enough. I have found that it is the little things people do that make all the difference. thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent staff

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Overall this is a great resort. It is truly beautiful and very well maintained. There is an abundance of swimming pools, chaises and palapa's. We dined at most of the restaurants and found the food to be above average and in some cases excellent (Basmati, Hibachi). There are also many bars and servers and everyone is very generous with providing you with whatever you desire. All of the staff is excellent and eager to please. We loved that! I have to mention three things that prevent this hotel from being outstanding. First, as many reviews have mentioned, the beach is not as nice as in the Cancun hotel zone. The sand is not as white, the water has a lot of seaweed. Staff goes to great lengths to clear the seaweed and makes the best of the situation. We just decided to enjoy the pool areas instead of the beach but it was somewhat disappointing. Second, the bathroom being completely open to the rest of the room is a major problem no matter how comfortable you are with your room companion. It would be an easy fix for management to change the doors to the toilet. Third, there needs to be better soundproofing of the doors to the room. It is very noisy at night and early morning with staff pushing carts, etc.. If these last two things were corrected you would have a pretty close to perfect hotel. Still we had a great vacation and will recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
LOVED this hotel! can't wait to return next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St Paul, MN

Great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, food, staff were amazing
Cons: Work out room air flow, fans or something.
Location: close enough to Airport
Great hotel, clean, great facilities. Work out room could have better air flow, but all in all good. Cezar, the bartender, at main bar is amazing! Close to airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The adults only nature of the hotel greatly appealed and proved to be well worth it. The inclusive nature of facilities made it all so relaxing.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Sorry, never left the hotel apart form walking along the beach to admire the marina.
Superbly relaxing holiday in a splendid hotel. Friendly helpful staff, excellent food, great drinks. The hotel is very well laid out and right on the beach with plenty of facilities. My wife and I don't often holiday together but this time we met up with friends from Canada who had visited before and who highly recommended it. We are very glad they did.