Ratings based on 2,646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmington, NC

Great Second Visit to Excellence

Posted Feb 27, 2015
This was our second year at the resort. It was wonderful again! The facilities are beautiful! Plenty of space to lounge and never felt crowded. Make sure to enjoy the free sailboats on the beach- great way to see that beautiful blue water. The spa services were fabulous. We also enjoyed the 'club level' that included a lounge area and special area on the beach. Service was excellent in all areas!! The only improvements I would suggest would be in the area of meals/food. Most meals were very nice, but in a couple of the restaurants I felt as if they were rushing us in and out instead of going at our own pace. Disappointed in the wine, but overall the quality of food/beverage was good. Portions are small but that gives you a chance to try appetizers and dessert! I would definitely recommend this to friends and hope to go back to one of the Excellence properties in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom US

fantastic we plan on coming back

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful, the grounds lush and well manicured, and most importantly everyone made us feel welcome, smiled and would go out of their way.
Cons: My only issue was the 60-90 min wait for dinner every night, if it wasn't for gwen helping us out we would've ordered room service every night
Location: plenty of water sports right on the beach, shopping not too far away we took a cab, about 50-70 dollars each way a lot quicker than bus.
Gwendolyn and Job our day and evening concierge contacts were phenomenal. they went above and beyond making our stay extraordinary. I had credit card /cell phone issues. (forgot to notify them i was out of country). they were extremely helpful in aiding me to fix my problem. Also Gwen assisted us by making our dinners more convenient to our schedule. I can't thank her enough. I have found that it is the little things people do that make all the difference. thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent staff

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Overall this is a great resort. It is truly beautiful and very well maintained. There is an abundance of swimming pools, chaises and palapa's. We dined at most of the restaurants and found the food to be above average and in some cases excellent (Basmati, Hibachi). There are also many bars and servers and everyone is very generous with providing you with whatever you desire. All of the staff is excellent and eager to please. We loved that! I have to mention three things that prevent this hotel from being outstanding. First, as many reviews have mentioned, the beach is not as nice as in the Cancun hotel zone. The sand is not as white, the water has a lot of seaweed. Staff goes to great lengths to clear the seaweed and makes the best of the situation. We just decided to enjoy the pool areas instead of the beach but it was somewhat disappointing. Second, the bathroom being completely open to the rest of the room is a major problem no matter how comfortable you are with your room companion. It would be an easy fix for management to change the doors to the toilet. Third, there needs to be better soundproofing of the doors to the room. It is very noisy at night and early morning with staff pushing carts, etc.. If these last two things were corrected you would have a pretty close to perfect hotel. Still we had a great vacation and will recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
LOVED this hotel! can't wait to return next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St Paul, MN

Great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, food, staff were amazing
Cons: Work out room air flow, fans or something.
Location: close enough to Airport
Great hotel, clean, great facilities. Work out room could have better air flow, but all in all good. Cezar, the bartender, at main bar is amazing! Close to airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The adults only nature of the hotel greatly appealed and proved to be well worth it. The inclusive nature of facilities made it all so relaxing.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Sorry, never left the hotel apart form walking along the beach to admire the marina.
Superbly relaxing holiday in a splendid hotel. Friendly helpful staff, excellent food, great drinks. The hotel is very well laid out and right on the beach with plenty of facilities. My wife and I don't often holiday together but this time we met up with friends from Canada who had visited before and who highly recommended it. We are very glad they did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Its awesome I can express my feeling , there are only 2 thing not that good at the the hotel,, the grill restaurant not that much and the room service is slow. Everything was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mclean va

Visit #2 PERFECTION again

Posted Feb 19, 2015
A perfect place with all 5 star amenities Our second year here and still great. Every restaurant was Gourmet quality Amenities and sraff flawless All inclusive adult only resort lived up to it's bilong 2 years in a row ret
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was beautiful and the staff very helpful

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The staff members were extremely accommodating and the hotel is gorgeous! Great accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

GREAT!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Almost everything!!
Cons: We stayed in Building 7 and it was a little loud at night with the entertainment below. Not enough to worry about though.
Location: We never left the resort...no need to!!
Very enjoyable stay! Rooms are very nice. Food is wonderful and a nice selection to choose from. Premium drinks included. We are already planning a return trip.